Subject guides: Law Guide: Dictionaries &amp; Commentary

Dictionaries

Australian Law Dictionary by Trischa Mann
ISBN: 9780190304737
Publication Date: 2017
Macquarie Dictionary
ISBN: 9781876429669
The Plain English Legal Dictionary: Northern Territory Criminal Law

Legal Encyclopeadias & Other Reference Materials

The Laws of Australia This link opens in a new window

English Usage

Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage by Fowler, H. W. (Henry Watson)
ISBN: 0191062308
Publication Date: 2015
A Dictionary of Modern English Usage by H. W. Fowler; David Crystal
ISBN: 019958589X
Publication Date: 2009

Abbreviations

Capital Monitor

Capital Monitor This link opens in a new window
Capital Monitor is an Autralian parliamentary monitoring service that provides political, legislative and judicial news and information.

Law Term Finder

Law Term Finder gives assess to words and phrases frequently used in Australian Family Law.

Commentary

Legal commentaries can be used to start researching information on a particular topic. Commentaries often provide a mix of detailed commentary, key legislation and case law in full text or extracts.

You can search CCH, Westlaw Australia, and Lexis Advance to access a broad range of commentary or use the individual titles below.

CCH IknowConnect This link opens in a new window
Arranged by subject area, it includes Australian full-text cases, legislation, and commentary. Topics covered: accounting, bankruptcy and insolvency, business, company, corporate and securities, conveyancing and property, corporate governance and compliance, discrimination, duties and levies, employment and HR, environment, family, GST, industrial relations, insurance, intellectual property, litigation and court practice, privacy, social security, tax, torts, workers compensation and worldwide tax law.
Westlaw Australia (new platform) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to Australian law titles subscribed to by CDU. Includes reported and unreported cases, legislation, law journals and looseleaf services.
Note: replacing the Westlaw AU platform
Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Full text access to various Australian Law reports, CaseBase case citator, looseleaf services, journals and the Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary.

Administrative	Australian Administrative Law Available in Lexis Advance New South Wales Administrative Law Available in Westlaw Australia Victorian Administrative Law Available in Westlaw Australia Queensland Administrative Law Available in Westlaw Australia
Civil Procedure	Civil Procedure Northern Territory Available via Presdian Civil Procedure Victoria Available in Lexis Advance NSW Civil Procedure Available in Westlaw Australia
Contract	Australian Contract Law Commentary Available in CCH Australian Law of Contract Available in Westlaw Australia Computer Contracts Available in Westlaw Australia
Consumer protection	Australian Competition and Consumer Law Commentary Available in CCH Miller's Australian Competition and Consumer Law Annotated Available in Westlaw Australia
Costs	Law of Costs Available in Lexis Advance Quick on Costs Available in Westlaw Australia Costs Guide NSW Available in Westlaw Australia
Criminal	Australian Sentencing Available in Westlaw Australia Queensland Sentencing Manual Available in Westlaw Australia Federal Offences Available in Westlaw Australia Criminal Law NSW Available in Westlaw Australia
Dispute Resolution	Australasian Dispute Resolution Available in Westlaw Australia
Employment	Employment Law Commentary Available in CCH
Environmental	Energy Law in Australia Energy and Resources Law in Australia Available in Lexis Advance
Evidence	Cross on Evidence Available in Lexis Advance
Family	Family Law Commentary Available in CCH
Property	Native Title Newsletter Available in Informit Planning Law in Australia Available in Westlaw Australia
Statutory Interpretation	Statutory Interpretation in Australia Available in Lexis Advance
Torts	Medical Negligence Motor Accidents Property Torts Public Liability Commentary Available in CCH
Workplace Safety	Workplace Health and Safety Law Commentary Available in CCH