Subject guides: Law Guide: LAW205 Commercial and Corporate Law

Legal Encyclopeadias & Other Reference Materials

This guide is designed to support students undertaking legal studies and contribute to developing research skills in Australian law schools.

AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to Australian legal materials including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access.
Capital Monitor This link opens in a new window
Capital Monitor is an Autralian parliamentary monitoring service that provides political, legislative and judicial news and information.
CCH IknowConnect This link opens in a new window
Arranged by subject area, it includes Australian full-text cases, legislation, and commentary. Topics covered: accounting, bankruptcy and insolvency, business, company, corporate and securities, conveyancing and property, corporate governance and compliance, discrimination, duties and levies, employment and HR, environment, family, GST, industrial relations, insurance, intellectual property, litigation and court practice, privacy, social security, tax, torts, workers compensation and worldwide tax law.
Federal Register of Legislation This link opens in a new window
Contains all legislation of the Commonwealth and non self-governing Territories (and related material such as Reserved Commonwealth Laws, Bills, explanatory memoranda/statements, tables, indexes and other finding aids).

LawLex
LawLex provides references to Australian legislation, including state and territories. There are links for each legislation to the explanatory memorandum and Handsard 2nd reading speeches. Note: limited access avaliable to free content.
LawNow
LawNow's jurisdictional coverage now includes all Australian states and territories.
Legify
Legify is an instant-search aggregator of authoritative Australian legislation (Commonwealth, states and territories). Free resource to relevant external links.

Jurisdiction	Hansard	Bills
Australian Capital Territory	Legislative Assembly for the ACT	ACT Legislation Register
Commonwealth	Parliament of Australia	Parliament of Australia
New South Wales	Parliament of New South Wales	Parliament of New South Wales
Northern Territory	Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory	Register of Legislation
Queensland	Queensland Parliament	Queensland Parliament
South Australia	Parliament of South Australia	Bills of the Parliament of South Australia
Tasmania	Parliament of Tasmania	Parliament of Tasmania
Victoria	Parliament of Victoria	Parliament of Victoria
Western Australia	Parliament of Western Australia	Parliament of Western Australia

Case citations are tools that can help you quickly find a case by citation, party names, by year, jurisdiction, or by using keywords.

Casebase- LexisNexis
CaseBase is a comprehensive case citator and annotator covering more than 60 Australian and overseas report series and the unreported decisions of the High Court, the Federal Court, the Supreme Courts of all Australian States and Territories, the Family Court, the NSW Land and Environment Court, the Cth Administrative Appeals Tribunal, the Federal Magistrates Court, and other selected jurisdictions.

KeyCite (Westlaw Australia) This link opens in a new window
KeyCite, accessed via Westlaw Australia, will help you find Australian case law. Westlaw Australia contains full-text authorised law reports and unreported judgments from Australian courts and tribunals.

LawCite
Free access international citator. Includes a fairly complete collection of all common law cases cited in the past decade plus most of the important uncited decisions before this.
Jade
A free service that collects decisions from selected courts and tribunals. In Jade, you can set up alerts.

AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to Australian legal materials including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access.
CCH IknowConnect This link opens in a new window
Arranged by subject area, it includes Australian full-text cases, legislation, and commentary. Topics covered: accounting, bankruptcy and insolvency, business, company, corporate and securities, conveyancing and property, corporate governance and compliance, discrimination, duties and levies, employment and HR, environment, family, GST, industrial relations, insurance, intellectual property, litigation and court practice, privacy, social security, tax, torts, workers compensation and worldwide tax law.
Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Full text access to various Australian Law reports, CaseBase case citator, looseleaf services, journals and the Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary.
Westlaw Australia (new platform) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to Australian law titles subscribed to by CDU. Includes reported and unreported cases, legislation, law journals and looseleaf services.
Note: replacing the Westlaw AU platform

ICLR Online This link opens in a new window
Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales, full text authorised case law database.
Lexis Advance- US Research This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance-US Research is an online legal research tool which offers US laws and access to over 900 full-text US legal journals and law reviews. The database also contains material from over 150 countries.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to Canadian, European Union, Hong Kong, Korean, UK and US primary and secondary sources. Case citations can be verified / noted up using the Keycite search facility

Australasian Legal History Libraries
Includes:
Australasian Colonial Legal History Library (pre-1901)
Australian Federation Law Library (1901-1950)
Australasian Modern Legal History Library (1951-2000)
English Reports
From CommonLll years 1220-1873.
English Reports
Full Reprint (1220-1865) via Hein Online, decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865.
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey
London's Central Criminal Courts from 1674 to 1913.