Authors:Amanda White; Mitchell Franklin; Patty Graybeal; Dixon Cooper; and CDU Business School
License:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
Business FinanceCC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) English (Australia)
Author(s): Sagarika Mishra (Deakin University)
Editor(s): Angie Williamson
Subject(s): Corporate finance, Economics, Finance, Business and Management, Finance and the finance industry
Institution(s): Deakin University
Publisher: Deakin University
Last updated: 12/01/2024
Developed for an international cohort, this text is designed to explain business finance concepts in an easily understood manner without overwhelming students with too much content.
CC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Annette Nguyen
Institution(s): Deakin University
Publisher: Deakin University
Last updated: 06/08/2024
Principles of Strategic Management AccountingCC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Stijn Masschelein
Subject(s): Accounting
Institution(s): University of Western Australia
Publisher: University of Western Australia
Last updated: 12/02/2024
This textbook explains the economic and sociological principles that underpin the use of strategic management accounting practices in organisations. Each chapter of the first part starts with a gentle, conversational introduction to the insights of one strand of academic literature and applies the insights to modern performance measurement and evaluation practices. The following parts apply the principles to specific accounting tools such as the budget, cost accounting, and the balanced scorecard. The textbook can be used in an advanced management accounting undergraduate unit or a post-graduate unit to give students a firm grounding to analyse measurement and evaluation practices in modern organisations. The textbook is meant to be a jumping off point for students and prepare them to analyse case studies and technical articles on strategic management accounting.
CC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) 26 H5P Activities English (Australia)
Author(s): Jacquelyn Humphrey, Saphira Rekker, Aaron Gilbert, Ella Henry, Ayesha Scott
Editor(s): Jacquelyn Humphrey, Saphira Rekker
Subject(s): Green finance / sustainable finance, Social and ethical issues, Finance and accounting, Climate change, Sustainability
Institution(s): University of Queensland, Auckland University of Technology
Publisher: The University of Queensland
Last updated: 10/04/2024
In recent years sustainability has become central to business education and thinking. At the same time, there has been rapid growth in and demand for sustainable finance by governments, corporations, NGOs, investors and individuals. Concerns about corporations’ contribution to environmental and social problems has meant that “finance as usual” is being challenged. It is evident that the traditional view, increasing shareholder wealth as the sole metric upon which to make business decisions (“shareholder primacy”), is no longer appropriate for today.
Sustainable Finance provides a thorough introduction to the field of sustainable finance and how it is implemented today. We show the corporate and the investor viewpoint, as well as detail how government and non-government bodies have contributed to the development of sustainable financial markets. In the final segment, the book takes a “deep dive” into two pressing contemporary issues: climate change and Māori views of sustainable finance.
Throughout the textbook, readers are provided with engaging, interactive exercises and case studies to cement their learning.
.jpg "Basic Concepts of Structural Design for Architecture Students cover image")
Copyright Year: 2021
Contributor: Khodadadi
Publisher: Portland State University Library
License: CC BY-NC
This book aims to narrate fundamental concepts of structural design to architecture students such that they have minimum involvement with math problem-solving. Within this book, students learn about different types of loads, forces and vector addition, the concept of equilibrium, internal forces, geometrical and material properties of structural elements, and rules of thumb for estimating the proportion of some structural systems such as catenary cables and arches, trusses, and frame structures.
Institutional Repositories and text based resources
A portal of educational resources, containing a variety of resources for architecture and design
A curated collection of textbooks and resources for Architecture and Design studies
An online ebook collection for architecture and design
The Aesthetics of Global Protest: Visual Culture and Communication by Aidan McGarry
ISBN: 9789048544509
Publication Date: 2019
Multimodal MusicianshipVictoria Malawey
Multimodal Musicianship is an open educational resource for learning music theory and ear training. The content engages concepts related to tonal harmony, suitable for a two- or three-semester music theory and ear training curriculum in a liberal arts college or other higher education setting. This collection of materials offers multiple modes of engaging content—with text, musical examples, audio examples, video content, application activities, and links to supplemental content—designed for users to learn and reinforce their knowledge according to their learning styles and needs.
Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
Music Research EssentialsAuthors:Adam McCarthy; Felicity Berends; Kat Lee; and Simon Perry
License:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
Music Research Essentials is for undergraduate music students and provides discipline-specific information on the fundamentals of doing music research. Students will gain knowledge and skills in responding to a topic or question, developing effective research strategies, using information technology and search tools efficiently, locating and discriminating between sources of information, using secondary and primary sources, documenting and referencing sources, as well as setting assignment work out clearly and consistently. Music Research Essentials has been designed with first-year students in the School of Music at the University of Queensland in mind, but it also provides generic information that is more widely applicable.
Australian Economic History: transformations of an interdisciplinary field
Authored by: Claire E. F. Wright 
DOI: http://doi.org/10.22459/AEH.2022
Please read Conditions of use before downloading the formats.
Business FinanceCC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) English (Australia)
Author(s): Sagarika Mishra (Deakin University)
Editor(s): Angie Williamson
Subject(s): Corporate finance, Economics, Finance, Business and Management, Finance and the finance industry
Institution(s): Deakin University
Publisher: Deakin University
Last updated: 12/01/2024
Developed for an international cohort, this text is designed to explain business finance concepts in an easily understood manner without overwhelming students with too much content.
Business Technology EssentialsAuthor: LJ Bothell
Open WA (US)
Concepts and practices in business technology
License:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
CC BY-NC
Author(s): Dr Aila Khan, Dr Munir Hossain, Dr Sabreena Amin
Subject(s): Business and Management, Sales and marketing management
Last updated: 05-11-2023
Institution(s): Western Sydney University
Publisher: Western Sydney University
Language: English (United Kingdom)
Increasingly, the concept of marketing research is being replaced with the term ‘customer or consumer insights’. As decision-makers are bombarded with data, it is important to have an Insights Team or Department which can sift through it all and identify those nuggets of information that can meaningfully explain human behaviour.
Fundamentals of Business, 4th editionAuthor:Adapted by Ron Poff
License:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
Fundamentals of Business, fourth edition (2023) is an open education resource intended to serve as a no-cost, faculty-customizable primary text for one-semester undergraduate introductory business courses. It covers the following topics in business: Teamwork; economics; ethics; entrepreneurship; business ownership, management, and leadership; organizational structures and operations management; human resources and motivating employees; managing in labor union contexts; marketing and pricing strategy; hospitality and tourism, accounting and finance, personal finances, and technology in business. The textbook was designed for use in Virginia Tech’s Pamplin College of Business introductory level business course, MGT1104 Foundations of Business.
Published by the Pamplin College of Business at Virginia Tech in association with Virginia Tech Publishing.
CC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Annette Nguyen
Subject(s): Finance and the finance industry, Economics, Finance, Business and Management
Institution(s): Deakin University
Publisher: Deakin University
Last updated: 19/07/2024
This textbook is designed to serve as an additional resource for the course “Fundamentals of Finance.” It provides an introduction to the field of finance, encompassing a broad range of key topics. These include the time value of money, bond and equity valuations, risk and returns, and various sources of capital. This book aims to enhance the learning experience by offering a thorough understanding of these fundamental financial principles.
Management Methods for Complex ProjectsAuthors: Carmen Reaiche and Samantha Papavasiliou
This freely available project management eBook is the start of your journey in the field of complex project management methodologies, introducing you to some of the core methods, processes and tools as recognised by the project management discipline. This eBook lays out methodologies such as XP, Agile, Scrum, Kanban, Six Sigma, PRINCE2, Waterfall, PRiSM, Soft Systems Methodology as well as introducing Project Design as a method so you can leverage the right project management approach. This eBook will be of value to students, practitioners, and businesses in Australia and overseas seeking professional development in the field of project management methodologies.
Licence:Creative Commons Attribution
A Manual for Project Governance and Asset ManagementAuthors: A/Prof Carmen Reaiche and Dr. Samantha Papavasiliou
Students, practitioners, and businesses will all benefit from this free eBook, which focuses on project governance and asset management. We are breaking new ground by establishing the value proposition associated with the integration of both AM and Governance. Both areas, in our opinion, are inextricably connected in project management. In this eBook, which we have written as a manual, the ideas of assets and governance are brought together, and an agile governance framework is introduced. We hope to examine how these ideas may be used in project management in order to provide you with beneficial methodologies and approaches.
Project Management: A Strategic ApproachCC BY (Attribution) 33 H5P Activities English
Author(s): Associate Professor Carmen Reaiche
Subject(s): Project management
Publisher: James Cook University
Last updated: 28/08/2023
Project management is becoming a core competence and not just about managing processes to ensure that the strategic goals of a business are delivered on time, within budget and specification. These days, project management is more about managing strategic goals while adapting to change and responding to ongoing disruptions. The pandemic, rapid urbanisation, digital transformation and environmental challenges are only some of the types of disruption faced by contemporary businesses. It is up to the project manager to ensure that the project management processes, as well as the projects and/or services themselves, are part of the readjustment required for business to survive these new challenges. This freely available ebook introduces some of the core values, concepts and tools as recognised by the Project Management Institute (PMI). This book will be of value to both students and practitioners in Australia and overseas seeking professional development in the field of project management.
Risk Assessment and Quality Project ManagementCC BY (Attribution) 20 H5P Activities English (Australia)
Author(s): Carmen Reaiche, Samantha Papavasiliou, Frank Anglani
Editor(s): Tina Morganella
Subject(s): Project management
Institution(s): James Cook University
Publisher: James Cook University
Last updated: 10/08/2023
This freely available eBook provides a comprehensive coverage of the fundamentals of project quality management and risk management. It makes breakthroughs in project quality by combining risk project management with quality management processes. This eBook is one of four in a series of manuals in the field of project management. It provides a short summary of current best practices in project risk management while introducing the connection and relevance of quality project management, so that practitioners, students and those responsible for managing risk and quality in projects may do so successfully.
RMIT Strategic Management Case StudiesCC BY-NC-ND (Attribution NonCommercial NoDerivatives) English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Tim O'Shannassy, Justin Pierce
Editor(s): Tim O'Shannassy
Subject(s): Economics, Finance, Business and Management, Management decision making
Publisher: RMIT Open Press
Last updated: 07/03/2024
This collection of business strategy case studies have been written for RMIT MBA strategy courses. The case studies in this book reflect the approach in strategic management: the structure of the external environment (or PESTLE) analysis, the Porter five forces analysis, an appraisal of the company strategy and status of business units and functions, and a SWOT analysis that helps to facilitate synthesis of the case study situation. This sets the student up to craft recommendations on improving shareholder and stakeholder value. Think about the corporate level of the firm, the network level, the business level and the functional level. What can be improved? In the RMIT MBA strategy courses students attempt five recommendations.
Social Cost Benefit Analysis and Economic EvaluationAuthor: Suzanne Bonner
This book provides detailed foundational tools to assess and evaluate the costs and benefits associated with public or private decision making through a cost-benefit analysis (CBA). This book is targeted at students with preliminary foundations in economics. The content and activities have been developed to support learning in ECON2101 Cost Benefit Analysis offered as a course at UQ.
Licence:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
Sports Marketing: an Australian perspectiveAuthor: Dr Jessica Richards
Sports marketing refers to promoting goods and services through sporting events and the endorsement of athletes and sports teams. For any sports organisation, it is imperative to have an effective sports marketing strategy in place to build brand awareness, enhance customer loyalty and generate revenue. Companies in sports use marketing strategies to fulfil their goals, such as attracting more junior players, involving parents, increasing the company's public profile, entertaining spectators, acquiring sponsorships, and securing broadcasting rights deals. This book has been written for sports management students at Western Sydney University for the subject Sports Marketing (BUSM2048) where they will learn general marketing knowledge and theories relevant to the sports industry, such as sponsorship, endorsements, customer experience, pricing and operations. This activity is aligned with SDG4 – Quality Education.
Statistics: Meaning from dataCC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) 2 H5P Activities English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Dr R. Nazim Khan
Subject(s): Probability and statistics, Business mathematics and systems, Epidemiology and Medical statistics
Institution(s): University of Western Australia
Publisher: University of Western Australia
Last updated: 22/07/2024
"Statistics: Meaning from data" helps Data Science and Statistics students to obtain a firm grasp on basic probability and statistical concepts, with a scientific context and examples. The textbook has general applicability across most universities in Australia, New Zealand and Asia with core units in their science, business, statistics and data science courses.
Workplace Role Play Scenarios: Practise navigating difficult conversations, negotiation and mediationAuthor: Dr. Sarah Steen
This book has been designed to provide a range of workplace scenarios that can be utilised for experiential learning covering difficult conversations, negotiation and mediation. The scenarios provide learners with the opportunity to engage in different role-plays and provide learners with the opportunity to reflect on their experience with reflective questions.
A Skilled Hand and a Cultivated MindCC BY-NC-ND (Attribution NonCommercial NoDerivatives) English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Julian Lee, Maki Yoshida, Jindan Ni, Kaye Quek, Anamaria Ducasse
Editor(s): Julian Lee, Maki Yoshida, Jindan Ni, Kaye Quek, Anamaria Ducasse
Subject(s): Education, Teaching skills and techniques
Publisher: RMIT Open Press
Last updated: 07/03/2024
Perita manus, mens exculta – a skilled hand, a cultivated mind. The title of this book uses RMIT University’s motto to reflect on the approaches of RMIT University to teaching and learning. This open book presents the endeavors of a range of educators to explore how they engage with communities and industry, and are guided by theory and research to progress teaching and learning at RMIT and beyond.
A possession forever: A guide to using commemorative memorials and monuments in the classroomAuthors:Martin Kerby; Margaret Baguley; Richard Gehrmann; and Alison Bedford
License:Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike
This open textbook will guide educators and students through the process of using local monuments and memorials to contextualise, interrogate and extend their knowledge of historical events at a national and international level. Students will learn how to use local history to create an organic patchwork of local stories, interviews, photographs and artefacts contributed by, and for, the community and contextualised nationally and internationally. Through this process they will assume the role of historians rather than passive consumers of dominant ideologies and understand how historical events have shaped diverse views, including their own, of issues such as social justice, democracy, human rights and citizenship.
Co-creating Multimodal Texts with Young ChildrenAuthors: Naomi Alberti; Jamie Howell; Jayson Mullins; Julie Turner; Kara Tew; Kerry Chant; Kylie Taylor; Kylie Saunders; Louise Olsen; Melissa Meyer; Novi Ong; Rhiannon Davis; Sheridan Hill; and Sophie Woodward
This book is about co-creating multimodal texts with young children up to 8 years of age. The authors of each chapter reflect upon their journey in being an active adult collaborator with a child to create a digital text. Each chapter highlights the authors’ planning, decision-making and literacy teaching strategies they employed to help the child they worked with achieve their creative, meaning-making goals. You’ll also find insights from the authors about what worked well in this activity, what should be avoided and how to make the experience successful and enjoyable.
License: Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
Diverse Historical Narratives and Perspectives: A Collection of Learning and Teaching Activities 2023CC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) 5 H5P Activities English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Shauna Anderson, Mitchell Barry, Devon Bennett, Sarah Bishay, Chava Block, Hayden Booker, Gemma Bristowe, Sophie Briggs, Stephanie Cahill, Raka Chatterjee, Brodie Clancy, Darci Cowell, Jacob Darlow, Aidan Davies, Alto Djakasuwarno, Kimberly Eastham, Caitlyn Elias, Alex Elliott, Emily Franken, Andy Gilbee, Kate Gillespie, Hannah Grace, Lisa Grbin, Eleanor Hogan, Maddie Jamieson, Hannah Jones, Dean Kennedy, Joshua Lake, Alex Leather, Charley Lethlean, Billy Longer, Amelia Lowe, Nick McFarlane, Declan McLaughlin, Mason Montgomery, Megan Mooney, Grace Moroney, James Nowland, Thomas Nisbet, Daniel Owen, Shalini Perera, Joseph Prpic, Aaron Redmond, Amy Sellers, Benjamin Siscos, Corrine Spalding, David Speer, Lochlan Stenhouse, Edward Stephens, Montana Thai, Keila van der Plaat, Kyle Warford, Kim Wong
Editor(s): Rebecca Cairns
Subject(s): History, Education
Institution(s): Deakin University
Publisher: Deakin University
Last updated: 30/11/2023
Most learning and teaching activities that get created in initial teacher education courses never get seen again once they are assessed as part of an assignment. However, pre-service History teachers undertaking a Master of Teaching at Deakin University have created and shared some of the learning and teaching activities they designed as part of a renewable assignment. This Open Education Resource (OER) contains activities on ancient history, empires, twentieth century world history and early twenty-first century history, with a focus on diverse narratives and perspectives. It showcases their emerging content and pedagogical understanding as well as their capacity to engage with open pedagogy and design copyright compliant materials. Although the activities have been mostly designed around the curriculum requirements of the Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE), they are easily adapted to fit other curriculum contexts and content.
CC BY-NC-ND (Attribution NonCommercial NoDerivatives) English
Author(s): Anita Accendere, Bayleigh Mantell, Cathy Cody, Claudia Aston, Deirdre Byrne, Stefanie Kennedy, Shauna Hart, Delena Kendall, Sarah Kallman, Lauren Matthews, Rebecca Dooley, Natalie Loosemore, Jacynta Hunt, Indiah Sinclair, Megan Higgs, Georgia Butler, Selena Dyer
Editor(s): Karen Hawkins, Eseta Tualaulelei
Subject(s): Early childhood care and education
Publisher: University of Southern Queensland
Last upda
CC BY-NC-SA (Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) English
Author(s): Ashleigh Morris, Bianca Hyslop, Angela Mitchell, Waneka Jannusch, Bronwyn Cuffe, Tracey Sidoti, Suzannah Fullerton, Suzanna Jacovou, Kim Rohde, Leticia Pujol, Kay Dillon, Katlego Maizon, Katherine Stringer, Le Thi Phuong Nhung, Susan Wilkinson, Sabrina Grossman, Liam Callaghan, Deborah Shaw, Christina Deans, Courtney Paolucci, Crystal Steger, Susan Holmes, Dorani Magill-Connell, Eden Bartlett, Gabrielle Alder-Hughes, Karen Stirling, Hamish Robb, Julie Pearce, Judith A. Symonds, Heather Loxton, Jennifer Entsch, Jillian Stansfield, Haylee Alice Holzworth, Katelyn Jackson, Jaymie Parish, Kylie Bilsen-Neville, Louise Marshall, Lynele Thompson, Megan Fogelis, Nicole Giaquinto, Megan Hunt, Melissa Elliot, Robyn McConochie, Sue Thompson, Amy Brushe
Editor(s): Yosheen Pillay, Eseta Tualaulelei
Subject(s): Mental health services, Careers guidance, Education
Institution(s): University of Southern Queensland
Publisher: University of Southern Queensland
Last updated: 10/01/2023
Hearts and Minds is a collection of generic mental health case studies written by students at the University of Southern Queensland. The mental health concerns focus on those typically experienced within schools and include Anxiety, Autism Spectrum Disorder, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, Depression, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and Suicidal Ideation
CC BY-NC-SA (Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) English
Author(s): Alexandra McLean, Veronica Barratt, Tracey Mason, Taylor Deacon, Sara Shahab, Rebecca Trewick, Rachel Pona, Rebecca Holmes, Nicole Rousseau, Kelly Barden, Katie Walsh, Harriet McCarron, Courtney McEwan, Brianna Parker, Amy Gale, Melissa Mikkelsen
Editor(s): Jacqueline Macdonald, Eseta Tualaulelei
Subject(s): Education
Publisher: University of Southern Queensland
Last updated: 10/01/2023
CC BY-NC
Author(s): Nicolette Arranga, Sam Babic, Connor Beaumont, Brittany Bell, Nicholas Bridges, Mason Camanzi, Tyson Coverdale, Merjam Colan, Harvey Costigan, Remi Donnison, Brett Fletcher, Nick Frawley, Kostantinos Georgiou, Chloe Goodie, Lisa Grbin, Anna Griffiths, Tayla Hilton, Sarah Jaeschke, Abby Kampl, Kevin Liew, Joel Lindeman-Collins, Thompson (Tang Pusen) Liu, Annaliese Magee, Kristiana Markovski, Jett Mathews, Chris Mayman, Hannah McArdle, Alistair McCann, Chloe Morrison, Simon O'Rouke, Nick Panagopoulous, Tamsyn Pentland, Nick Reynolds, Amy Sellers, Sam Shannon, Monica Sheehan, Victoria Smart, Jessie Smith, Jemima Stafford, Joni Stamatopoulous, Isabella Swanwick, Phoebe Thomas, Brandon Tilley, Mia Treacey, Tahlia Webb
Editor(s): Rebecca Cairns, Phillip O’Brien
Subject(s): History, Education
Last updated: 04-20-2023
Institution(s): Deakin University
Language: English (United Kingdom)
Most learning and teaching activities that get created in initial teacher education courses never get seen again once they are assessed as part of an assignment. However, pre-service History teachers undertaking a Master of Teaching at Deakin University have created and shared some of the learning and teaching activities they designed.
Mathematical Reasoning and Investigation
CC BY-NC
Author(s): Simon James, Chris Rawson, illustrated by Erin Cheffers, Deakin University
Subject(s): Mathematics, Philosophy of mathematics, Mathematical foundations, Mathematical logic, Popular and recreational mathematics, Educational: Mathematics and numeracy
Last updated: 06-16-2023
Institution(s): Deakin University
Publisher: Deakin University
Language: English (Australia)
Mathematical Reasoning and Investigation is designed to help you develop the ability to use mathematics to solve the kinds of problems that don't come with answers in the back of the book. We like to think of it as a mathematics book for people who think they're not good at mathematics.
A Teachers Guide to Outdoor Education Curriculum: Victorian EditionCC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Josh Ambrosy, Sandy Allen-Craig
Subject(s): Outdoor schools / education
Institution(s): Federation University Australia, Australian Catholic University
Publisher: Federation University
Last updated: 28/01/2024
Outdoor education is a unique and well-established field of study with significant local and international literature to support it. Over the last 40 years, outdoor education in various articulations, has become a staple of Victorian schooling. Despite the long-standing tradition in Victoria, of offering outdoor education programs and subjects that aligns to the curriculum, there is currently a lack of specific guidance material to help teachers. It serves as a handbook for pre-service teachers and those working in schools alike, to develop contemporary units of work and assessment tasks as part of their schools outdoor education curriculum.
Teaching with TechnologyAuthors: Frances Cochrane and Trine Paerata
This freely available eBook is designed to provide an overview of the entire process of teaching with technology, from planning to implementation. Written for the Australian higher education context, this resource will help you plan, design, develop, and teach technology-enhanced subjects and courses. Up to date information is included on strategies and recommendations that illustrate good practice pedagogical design; tips on planning, developing, and writing online subject content; as well as planning and facilitating online interaction.
License: Creative Commons Attribution
CC BY-SA (Attribution ShareAlike)
Author(s): Kay Ayre, Govind Krishnamoorthy
Editor(s): Nikki Andersen
Subject(s): Education, Trauma and shock, Psychology
Publisher: University of Southern Queensland
Last updated: 10/01/2023
Trauma Informed Behaviour Support: A Practical Guide to Developing Resilient Learners guides educators working with primary school aged children to understand trauma as well as its impact on young children's brains, behaviour, learning, and development. The book provides a novel framework of practice – drawing on contemporary theories of developmental trauma and evidence-based practices of positive behaviour support. Practical strategies and tools are offered for educators to use to create strength-based environments that support children's recovery, resiliency and learning. Educators are introduced to the systemic impacts of traumatic stress and are provided with trauma-informed practices that they can use to support workforce development that enhance the quality of pedagogical practices, while promoting the safety and care of the school community.
CC BY-NC-SA (Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike)
Author(s): Govind Krishnamoorthy, Kay Ayre, Dayna Schimke
Editor(s): Dayna Schimke
Subject(s): Education, Trauma and shock, Psychology
Institution(s): University of Southern Queensland
Publisher: University of Southern Queensland
Last updated: 13/02/2023
As an educator, have you ever wondered about students, “Why can’t she just control her behaviour?” or “Why did he do that?” The demands of the classroom, and the scrutiny of teachers, often leave little time for teachers to consider the complex needs of children experiencing traumatic stress. Drawing on their lived experience and professional expertise, the conversations with trauma-informed education experts in this unique book offer educators an opportunity to develop a deeper understanding of the needs of students and strategies for responding with compassion and empathy. In a time of rapidly emerging scientific discovery, and social and political challenges, this book encourages educational leaders to question the fundamental assumptions of dominant pedagogical practices and sets the foundations for innovation in education.
Authors:Dr Susan Carter and Cecily Andersen
University of Southern Queensland
License:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
This text endeavours to focus on wellbeing promotion in educational contexts as schools and other educational contexts play a pivotal role in teaching students about nonviolence, promoting understanding of diversity, endowing people with a shared purpose and meaning and the skills and behaviours to create a more inclusive, healthy, and positive future.
Why play worksCC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Marilyn Fleer, Kelly-Ann Allen, Anne Clerc-Georgy, Leigh Disney, Liang Li, Lara McKinley, Gloria Quinones, Prabhat Rai, Janet Scull, Anne Suryani
Subject(s): Education, Early childhood care and education
Institution(s): Monash University
Publisher: Monash University
Last updated: 03/04/2024
The focus of this textbook is on play and learning through a Conceptual PlayWorld. This evidence informed model helps teachers to plan innovative practices relevant for a range of discipline concepts. The teachers and children after reading/hearing a children’s book or nursery rhyme or fairytale jump into the story as characters from the book/story, go on adventures, meet challenges that they solve and return to the real world enriched, and excited to go back in for another adventure (potentially bringing with them things they have learned to enrich their play). The 5 characteristics of planning for a Conceptual PlayWorld are: 1) Selecting a story, 2) Designing an imaginary play space; 3) Planning an exciting entry and entry into that space; 4) Planning a problem that the characters of the story (children in role) will meet and need to solve using concepts; 5) Planning the role of the adults in the imaginary play.
WESTERNSYDNEY.PRESSBOOKS.PUB | WESTERN SYDNEY UNIVERSITY: OPEN ACCESS COLLECTION
Academic Skills PocketbookCC BY-NC-SA | 19 H5P activities | 7,760 words
Author(s): Richard Scharges, Ashleigh Watson, Linda Thornely, Susan McGlynn
Subject(s): Study and learning skills: general
Last updated: 03-14-2024
Institution(s): Western Sydney University
Publisher: Western Sydney University
Language: English (Australia)
There is so much to learn when you start university. This book will focus on the most important academic skills you’ll need to get started, leaving sufficient ‘room’ for actual learning and reducing your cognitive load. This book aims to give you a quick understanding of these skills which you can then apply within your area of study.
This book aligns to UN Sustainable Development Goal 4 – Quality Education supporting inclusive and affordable access to higher educational resources.
USQ.PRESSBOOKS.PUB | UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN QUEENSLAND
Academic SuccessCC BY-NC-SA | 1 H5P activities | 95,270 words
Author(s): Wendy Hargreaves, Cristy Bartlett, Kate Derrington
Editor(s): Wendy Hargreaves, Cristy Bartlett, Kate Derrington
Subject(s): Higher education, tertiary education
Last updated: 06-10-2024
Publisher: University of Southern Queensland
Language: English
Academic Success is designed to help students on their university journey. It is divided into five parts, each reflecting different aspects of a student’s tertiary experience. Part A: Successful Beginnings addresses what it is like to be a new student at an Australian university. Part B: Successful Foundations introduces basic skills in English language, techniques for accessing and working with information, and understanding academic integrity. Part C: Successful Study Skills presents the everyday, core skills that successful students use while at university. Part D: Successful Assessment meets head-on the challenges of tertiary assessments. Lastly, Part E: Successful Futures examines the transition from tertiary study to the next stage of life. This open book ultimately aids students across all disciplines in achieving academic success at university.
CC BY-NC-SA (Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) 16 H5P Activities English
Author(s): Patricia Williamson
Subject(s): Writing and editing guides, Study and learning skills: general
Institution(s): University of Queensland
Publisher: The University of Queensland
Last updated: 26/05/2023
Designed specifically for UQ College Academic English Tertiary Preparation Program students, this Pressbook offers interactive activities and strategies for developing and refining academic writing skills. Learners are introduced to the writing basics, such as parts of speech, sentence and paragraph structure, right through to writing, editing , and refining their own essay. Students will have the opportunity to review key parts of the writing process from interpreting their assignment instructions, organizing their ideas, drafting their writing, and revising their work before final submission. In addition, students will learn key oral presentation skills for both group and individual class presentations. Also, it offers students the opportunity to develop as critical thinkers and write sound and valid academic arguments. The contents are supported by in-class practice and while it has been designed as an integral part of the TPP Academic English syllabus, it will enhance the writing skills of anyone new to academic writing.
Foundations of Academic Success: Second EditionAuthors:Rhian Morgan and Camilla Robson
Book Description:Undertaking studies in Higher Education can be a daunting task. This book is designed to support students undertaking bridging subjects at James Cook University to assist them with understanding the founding principles and concepts behind being a successful university student.
Licence:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
RMIT.PRESSBOOKS.PUB | OPEN@RMIT
Learning Lab Contextualised ContentCC BY-NC-SA | 103 H5P activities | 73,835 words
Author(s): Teryn Attwell, Kelly Ann Smith, Riley Barber, Azadeh Mobasheri
Subject(s): Educational: Study and revision guides, Teachers’ classroom resources and material, For advanced / upper secondary education, For higher / tertiary / university education, , ,
Last updated: 05-17-2024
Institution(s): RMIT University
Publisher: RMIT Open Press
Language: English (Australia)
Learning Lab Contextualised Content (LLCC) is a multidisciplinary suite of digital open educational resources. It supports learners and educators by providing foundation resources in an interactive, flexible, and shareable format.Developed by educators and digital learning designers, the aim of this content is to provide realistic examples of the implementation of skills and knowledge required by students at a tertiary level. Included in the LLCC are materials on a range of subjects from maths, physics, and writing, to critical thinking, collaboration, and time management. The resources encourage learners to think about how they will apply these skills in their future careers and focus on four industry areas: engineering, economics and marketing, healthcare, and social services. All objects sit within a larger story, that of the Salty Creek Community Festival, and can be explored holistically by the learner. However, each learning object is also modular, meaning it can be used as an independent lesson or activity.
OERCOLLECTIVE.CAUL.EDU.AU | CAUL OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES COLLECTIVE
Mathematical Reasoning and InvestigationCC BY-NC | 46 H5P activities | 36,868 words
Author(s): Simon James, Chris Rawson, illustrated by Erin Cheffers, Deakin University
Subject(s): Mathematics, Philosophy of mathematics, Mathematical foundations, Mathematical logic, Popular and recreational mathematics, Educational: Mathematics and numeracy
Last updated: 01-12-2024
Institution(s): Deakin University
Publisher: Deakin University
Language: English (Australia)
Mathematical Reasoning and Investigation is designed to help you develop the ability to use mathematics to solve the kinds of problems that don't come with answers in the back of the book. We like to think of it as a mathematics book for people who think they're not good at mathematics. The work will be useful for anyone wanting to develop their own skills in reasoning and problem solving using mathematics, and for teachers and preservice teachers hoping to help their students to develop these same skills.
Repositories and text based resources
Australian National University (ANU) Open Research Library – Australian resources and direct access to
many of these resources online https://openresearch-repository.anu.edu.au/advanced-search?query=disaster+management
Australian National University (ANU) Press (a few books you can download for free) – Papua New Guinea
and Aust / NZ foci https://press.anu.edu.au/catalog?search=disaster+management
Directory of open access books (some great filter options including by CC licences and ability to capture
metrics for each text) https://directory.doabooks.org/discover
Loyalist College Parrott Centre (Canada) – links to some interesting open journals, open courses and
MOOCs in the disaster management and science space https://loyalistlibrary.com/emergencymanagement/oer
Merlot (including resources form Australia, policy documents and management responses to such
disasters) https://www.merlot.org/merlot/materials.htm?keywords=disaster+management&sort.property=relevance
OER Commons https://www.oercommons.org
A possession forever: A guide to using commemorative memorials and monuments in the classroomAuthors:Martin Kerby; Margaret Baguley; Richard Gehrmann; and Alison Bedford
License:Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike
This open textbook will guide educators and students through the process of using local monuments and memorials to contextualise, interrogate and extend their knowledge of historical events at a national and international level. Students will learn how to use local history to create an organic patchwork of local stories, interviews, photographs and artefacts contributed by, and for, the community and contextualised nationally and internationally. Through this process they will assume the role of historians rather than passive consumers of dominant ideologies and understand how historical events have shaped diverse views, including their own, of issues such as social justice, democracy, human rights and citizenship.
Edited by: Geoffrey Clark , Mirani Litster
Series: Terra Australis
DOI: http://doi.org/10.22459/TA54.2021
Please read Conditions of use before downloading the formats.
When James Boswell famously lamented the irrationality of war in 1777, he noted the universality of conflict across history and across space – even reaching what he described as the gentle and benign southern ocean nations. This volume discusses archaeological evidence of conflict from those southern oceans, from Palau and Guam, to Australia, Vanuatu and Tonga, the Marquesas, Easter Island and New Zealand. The evidence for conflict and warfare encompasses defensive earthworks on Palau, fortifications on Tonga, and intricate pa sites in New Zealand. It reports evidence of reciprocal sacrifice to appease deities in several island nations, and skirmishes and smaller scale conflicts, including in Easter Island. This volume traces aspects of colonial-era conflict in Australia and frontier battles in Vanuatu, and discusses depictions of World War II materiel in the rock art of Arnhem Land. Among the causes and motives discussed in these papers are pressure on resources, the ebb and flow of significant climate events, and the significant association of conflict with culture contact. The volume, necessarily selective, eclectic and wide-ranging, includes an incisive introduction that situates the evidence persuasively in the broader scholarship addressing the history of human warfare.
Australian Politics and PolicyCC BY-NC-ND (Attribution NonCommercial NoDerivatives) English (Australia)
Author(s): Diana Perche, Nicholas Barry, Alan Fenna, Zareh Ghazarian, Yvonne Haigh
Editor(s): Alan Fenna, Diana Perche, Nicholas Barry, Yvonne Haigh, Zareh Ghazarian
Subject(s): Politics and government
Publisher: Sydney University Press
Last updated: 04/04/2024
The first open source and open access textbook on Australian politics, Australian Politics and Policy provides a unique, holistic coverage of politics and public topics for use in university courses.
Beyond Cook: Explorers of Australia and the PacificAuthor:Claire Brennan
When Europeans entered the Pacific they entered a place they thought they knew, and a place that was already peopled. European explorer accounts of Australia and the Pacific are fascinating in what they reveal about the people and places explorers encountered, and about European expectations of what they would find. This book is a guide to European exploration of Australia and the Pacific; to those accounts of contact and how to interpret them in the light of European preconceptions and misunderstanding; and to the actions taken by the people descended from the regions' original explorers.
CC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Erin Hawley
Subject(s): Communication studies
Institution(s): Deakin University
Publisher: Deakin University
Last updated: 17/07/2024
Communication challenges abound in the 21st century. Communicators everywhere are struggling to connect with diverse, distracted audiences, in both urgent and everyday contexts. In other words, communication has never been more vital, but it’s becoming harder and harder to be heard. In this book, we make sense of communication. From multiple perspectives, we unpack the practices, politics, pleasures, and problems that are activated when meaning is shared across real and virtual spaces. This book will help you use the thinking tools of communication theory to understand why communication matters and how it impacts (and is impacted by) our rapidly changing world.
CSR communication and cultures of sustainability by Franzisca Weder and Marte Eriksen
Publication Date: 2023
CC BY-NC
This introductory book on CSR and Sustainability Communication, discusses the evolution of the sustainability story in corporate, political, and environmental discourses as well as paradigms and theoretical approaches to better understand communication about, of and for sustainability.
CC BY-NC
Author(s): Michael Cop
Editor(s): Michael Cop
Subject(s): Language learning: writing skills, Communication studies
Last updated: 07-2-2023
Institution(s): University of Otago
Publisher: University of Otago
Language: English (New Zealand)
This is a collection of resources to complement ENGL128 Essentials of Communication, an introduction to the fundamentals of effective speaking and writing, exploring a variety of contexts in which language is used.
Exploring Sociology in the Antipodes: Introduction to Sociology – 1st Australian EditionCC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) English (Australia)
Author(s): Theresa Petray and Nick Osbaldiston
Subject(s): Sociology
Institution(s): James Cook University
Publisher: James Cook University
Last updated: 14/03/2024
Designed to be relevant to a range of introductory sociology classes, this eBook weaves together ‘the canon’ of sociology with contemporary content, and material specifically relevant to learners in Australia and New Zealand. This gives students the necessary foundations to understand how sociology has emerged and developed in different contexts over time. The eBook ensures that readers are aware that this canon is the product of a number of factors and does not represent the limits of what sociology was and can be. Through an approach that recognises both the European classics and those not talked about enough, which includes sociology outside of the European and American scenes, the authors highlight classical and contemporary thinkers from a range of backgrounds.This peer reviewed eBook includes interactive and multimedia resources to engage learners and demonstrate the dynamic, non-linear, and still-active nature of sociological theory. Even those sociological approaches which have long histories are still relevant and constantly adapting. This eBook includes up to date resources, such as statistics and other forms of data, to ensure the eBook is empirically grounded as well as theoretically developed.
The Gallipoli Campaign was fought during World War I (the Great War) from 1914 to 1918. This ebook introduces the reader to the impact and legacy of the Great War in history, literature and commemorative processes throughout Australia and New Zealand.
How history is made: A student’s guide to reading, writing, and thinking in the discipline by Stephanie Cole; Kimberly Breuer; Scott W. Palmer; and Brandon BlakesleePublication Date: 2022
CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Learn what it means to think like an historian! Units on “Thinking Historically,” “Reading Historically,” “Researching Historically,” and “Writing Historically” describe the essential skills of the discipline of history. “Performing Historically” offers advice on presenting research findings and describes some careers open to those with an academic training in history.
CC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) 155 H5P Activities English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Stephanie Gibbons, Justine Kingsbury
Subject(s): Philosophy, Philosophy: logic
Institution(s): University of Waikato
Publisher: University of Waikato
Last updated: 26/06/2024
We are surrounded by attempts to persuade us: advertisements, editorials, blog posts, and so forth. When should you be persuaded and when not? This textbook helps you improve your reasoning skills so that you can recognise successful (and unsuccessful) arguments. It contains embedded questions so that you can practice your skills as you go.
Introduction to philosophy by Nathan Smith
Publication Date: 2022
CC BY
Designed to meet the scope and sequence of your course, Introduction to Philosophy surveys logic, metaphysics, epistemology, theories of value, and history of philosophy thematically.
Introduction to the Social SciencesAuthors: Zoe Staines; Gerhard Hoffstaedter; and Ned Binnie
This book is a multidisciplinary introduction to the social sciences with an applied approach to the study of human society. This book examines diverse aspects of social life from multiple perspectives, incorporating analytical and methodological insights in a wide range of social science disciplines, including sociology, anthropology, political science, public policy, psychology and human geography. Through real cases of contemporary issues and social problems, students will explore a wide range of topics that shape both Australia and the world today - the changing nature of work and education, the environment and health, community and development. Using a blend of text, video, and online materials, students will learn the skills for independent study and collaborative investigation. Upon the successful completion of this book, students will have gained critical knowledge on Australian and global social issues, relevant policies, and possible solutions.
2018
This ebook is a collection of foundational concepts in the humanities and social sciences and will be useful to any reader who wants to better understand key terms and concepts relevant to human cultures and their history.
The reader should note, however, that the terms included in the book have originated from the particular needs of the core Bachelor of Arts subjects at La Trobe University, Rethinking Our Humanity and Ideas that Shook the World, which focus on concepts as they apply to contemporary Australian culture.
ading from the North: rethinking Northern Australia developmentEdited by: Ruth Wallace, Sharon Harwood, Rolf Gerritsen, Bruce Prideaux, Tom Brewer, Linda Rosenman, Allan Dale
Leading from the North aims to improve public dialogue around the future of Northern Australia to underpin robust and flexible planning and policy frameworks. A number of areas are addressed including social infrastructure, governance systems, economic, business and regional development, climate and its implications, the roles and trends in demography and migration in the region.
This book not only speaks to the issues of development in Northern Australia but also other regional areas, and examines opportunities for growth with changing economies and technologies.
The authors of this book consist of leading researchers, academics and experts from Charles Darwin University, The Australian National University, James Cook University, the Australian Institute of Marine Science and many other collaborative partners.
Many of the authors have first-hand experience of living and working in Northern Australia. They understand the real issues and challenges faced by people living in Northern Australia and other similar regional areas. Backed by their expertise and experience, the authors present their discussions and findings from a local perspective.
Making Public Histories: Australian History Beyond the UniversityCC BY-NC-SA (Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) 4 H5P Activities English (Australia)
Author(s): Nikita Vanderbyl, Kat Ellinghaus, Clare O'Hanlon
Editor(s): Nikita Vanderbyl, Kat Ellinghaus, Clare O'Hanlon
Subject(s): Australasian and Pacific history
Institution(s): La Trobe University
Publisher: La Trobe eBureau
Last updated: 18/12/2023
This book is created for, and ultimately with, students in Making History HIS3MHI. It is used heavily in this capstone history subject to harness the principles and power of open education.
This is a book and subject that asks broadly what it means to ‘make history’ – in particular, what history means beyond schools and universities. We ask, what are the different forms and functions of historical knowledge in the modern and contemporary world? What does history mean in the public sphere, in parks, on webpages, in museums, and in people’s homes? What happens when historians operate in the public sphere? How is the past utilised by politicians? How does it bind us (or not) as a nation? How is it used to inform debates about the future both inside and outside universities, in schools, and in the mainstream community? How is history presented in commemorations, films, heritage sites, historical fiction, memorials, museums, re-enactments, and tours? What are the ethical and moral obligations historians have as ‘gatekeepers’ of the past?
Media Studies 101: a Creative Commons textbookAuthor: Media Texthack Team
License:Creative Commons Attribution
Tēnā koutou and welcome to Media Studies 101, the open educational resource for media studies studies in New Zealand, Australia, and Pacifica.
Public Interest CommunicationAuthors: Jane Johnston and Robyn Gulliver
Bringing together aspects of ethics, social and civil responsibility, advocacy and publics, this introductory textbook provides a new approach to communication theory and practice in the post truth era. In this book, students will examine fields that intersect with public interest frameworks to provide building blocks and strategies for effective communication. These include organisational listening, capacity building, partnerships and alliances, the role of social enterprises, the concepts of 'wicked problems' and 'discourse arenas', and the importance of participation and activism in generating democratic debate. The book examines social problems and interest conflicts that are faced every day - from environmental degradation to homelessness; public health to media power - and considers the positions of different publics and individuals in navigating the communication of public interest processes and outcomes.
Licence: Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
2017
Within two generations of the first European settlement of Victoria traditional Aboriginal society was almost entirely destroyed. At the same time many European settlers, government officials and missionaries observed and documented aspects of the everyday lives of the people they were displacing. This selection of over 700 extracts from a wide variety of these sources provides glimpses into this rich and complex world. It includes notes on hunting, fishing and associated technologies; on clothing, ornaments and recreation; on social relationships, exchange systems, ceremonies and associations with Country.
This ebook is a convenient entry-point into this important body of information which is otherwise often difficult to access, and will be of use to anyone with an interest in Victorian Indigenous history and society.
Edited by: Crystal McKinnon, Ben Silverstein
Not available for purchase
DOI: http://doi.org/10.22459/AH.45.2021
Please read Conditions of use before downloading the formats.
This volume begins with Michael Aird, Joanna Sassoon and David Trigger’s meticulous research tracing the well-known but sometimes confused identity of Jackey Jackey of the Lower Logan River in south-east Queensland. Emma Cupitt describes the multivocality and intertextuality of Radio Redfern’s coverage of Aboriginal protests in Sydney as the 1988 Australian Bicentenary celebrations took place elsewhere in the city. Similarly approaching sources for their multiplicity, Matt Poll and Amanda Harris provide a reading of the ambassadorial work performed by assemblages of Yolngu bark paintings in diverse exhibition spaces after the Second World War.
Cara Cross historicises the production and use of mineral medicine—or lithotherapeutics—derived from Burning Mountain in Wonnarua Country, issuing a powerful call for the recognition of Indigenous innovation as cultural heritage. In a collaborative article, Fred Cahir, Ian Clark, Dan Tout, Benjamin Wilkie and Jidah Clark read colonial records against the grain to narrate a nineteenth-century history of Victorian Aboriginal relationships with fire, strengthening the case for the revitalisation of these fire management practices. And, based on extensive oral history work, Maria Panagopoulos presents Aboriginal narrations of the experience of moving—or being moved—from the Manatunga settlement on the outskirts of Robinvale into the town itself, on Tati Tati Country in the Mallee region of Victoria.
In addition to a range of book reviews, we are also pleased to include Greg Lehman’s review essay concerning Cassandra Pybus’s recent award-winning Truganini: Journey through the Apocalypse, which considers the implications of our relationships with history and how they help to think through practices of researching and writing Aboriginal history.
ISBN: 9781760461614
Publication Date: 2018
Cultural Knowledges and Work Integrated Learning: student-authored worksAuthor: Charles Darwin University
License: Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial NoDerivatives
Edited by: Paul S.C. Taçon , Sally K. May , Ursula K. Frederick , Jo McDonald
Australia has one of the largest inventories of rock art in the world with pictographs and petroglyphs found almost anywhere that has suitable rock surfaces – in rock shelters and caves, on boulders and rock platforms. First Nations people have been marking these places with figurative imagery, abstract designs, stencils and prints for tens of thousands of years, often engaging with earlier rock markings. The art reflects and expresses changing experiences within landscapes over time, spirituality, history, law and lore, as well as relationships between individuals and groups of people, plants, animals, land and Ancestral Beings that are said to have created the world, including some rock art. Since the late 1700s, people arriving in Australia have been fascinated with the rock art they encountered, with detailed studies commencing in the late 1800s. Through the 1900s an impressive body of research on Australian rock art was undertaken, with dedicated academic study using archaeological methods employed since the late 1940s. Since then, Australian rock art has been researched from various perspectives, including that of Traditional Owners, custodians and other community members. Through the 1900s, there was also growing interest in Australian rock art from researchers across the globe, leading many to visit or migrate to Australia to undertake rock art research. In this volume, the varied histories of Australian rock art research from different parts of the country are explored not only in terms of key researchers, developments and changes over time, but also the crucial role of First Nations people themselves in investigations of this key component of their living heritage.
The Language of Relationships with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander PeoplesAuthors:Tracey Bunda; Lynnell Angus; Sybilla Wilson; Mia Strasek-Barker; Kealey Griffiths; Lucas Schober; Thomas Scanlan; Keiko Mishiro; Vanessa Eagles; and Laura Deane
University of Queensland
The Language of Relationships with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples - Introductory Guide was created to support the UQ community to build stronger relationships between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and non-Indigenous peoples across the University. The Language of Relationships Guide aims to inform students and staff of appropriate language and provide tools for non-Indigenous peoples in the context of formal, academic communication and everyday conversations that will build and enhance those relationships.
Licence:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
Yagara Dictionary and Salvage Grammar
Authored by: Karen Sullivan , Glenda Harward-Nalder
Australian National University
Most English speakers in Australia know a few words of Yagara, the Pama-Nyungan language traditionally spoken in the area that now includes Brisbane and Ipswich. For example, Australian English yakka ‘work’ comes from the Yagara verb yaga ‘to work’. However, no fluent native speakers of Yagara remain. The current volume compares the written records of Yagara to facilitate revitalisation of the spoken language.
Part 1: Grammar introduces the Yagara sources, which are then compared to extract a picture of Yagara’s structure – its sounds, its words, and its grammar. Attention is also given to the system of kinship terms, moieties, and totems.
Part 2: Dictionary contains the most complete Yagara-English dictionary to date, with over 2,200 entries, the original source spellings for each word, standardised spellings, and anthropological notes. Entries include traditional place names, fun insults, and everyday expressions such as the greeting wi balga ‘Hey, come’. The dictionary is followed by an English word finder list.
Part 3: Texts consist of full versions of all known texts in Yagara, including sentences, songs, and three Bible stories. Standardised versions are accompanied by English translations and the original unedited renditions.
A Guide to Writing in Law SchoolLa Trobe eBureau 2023
A Guide to Writing in Law School is intended to help law students to develop their writing skills. Writing clearly and effectively is a vital legal skill. Lawyers use this skill daily. Law graduates need, therefore, to have a solid competency in clear and effective writing. This book aims to help students improve their writing by presenting various pieces of advice, tips, warnings and encouragement. It contains general chapters on planning, clear writing, and acknowledging your sources, as well as dedicated chapters on some of the specific writing tasks that law students undertake: case briefs, legal problem-solving, essays, and law reform submissions. With effort and practice, virtually everyone can improve their writing. A Guide to Writing in Law School is not only for students having particular difficulties. Those who already write well will find ideas here that will help them become even better writers.
CC BY-NC-SA (Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) English (Australia)
Author(s): Julia Dehm, Nicole Graham, Zoe Nay, Anna Huggins, Ellen Hawkins, Steven Tudor, Nicole Rogers
Editor(s): Julia Dehm, Nicole Graham, Zoe Nay
Subject(s): Law, Environment law, Climate change
Institution(s): University of Sydney, Bond University, Queensland University of Technology, La Trobe University, University of Melbourne
Publisher: La Trobe eBureau
Last updated: 23/07/2024
As the world grapples with the escalating challenges of climate change, the legal profession finds itself at a crossroads. Becoming a Climate Conscious Lawyer: Climate and the Australian Legal System provides an original, innovative and accessible analysis of the impact of climate change on legal doctrines and principles. It offers an overview of cutting-edge developments and how the transition to a low-carbon society is reshaping a wide range of laws, from corporate to criminal law, and beyond. This valuable new resource supports legal professionals, law students, and legal educators to understand current legal challenges – providing the know-how to strategically navigate, and positively influence, the development of law to respond to a climate changed world. The book delivers a transformative approach to legal education: equipping law students to become climate-conscious professionals with the confidence and competency to deliver legal solutions to a diverse range of clients, and promote climate justice across diverse communities.
Corporate Insolvency Law in Australia by Paulina Fishman (Deakin University, Australia)
Introduction to business law in Papua New Guinea
CC BY (Attribution) English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Andrew Gibson
Subject(s): Law, Laws of specific jurisdictions and specific areas of law, Company, commercial and competition law: general, Commercial law, Sale of goods law, Contract law, Negligence, Law: study and revision guides
Institution(s): Southern Cross University
Publisher: Southern Cross University
Last updated: 17/07/2024
“Introduction to Business Law in Papua New Guinea” is an introductory text designed to support students enrolled in LEGL1007 Introduction to the Business Law of Papua New Guinea at Southern Cross University. The book is structured into five parts: Part 1 provides an introduction to studying business law, including writing legal essays and problem questions; Part 2 covers negligence; Part 3 discusses contract law; Part 4 addresses consumer law; and Part 5 focuses on agency within the Papua New Guinea legal system.
CC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) English (Australia)
Author(s): Francina Cantatore
Subject(s): Law, Education
Institution(s): Bond University
Publisher: Bond University
Last updated: 20/04/2023
This book is firstly and foremostly a resource for law students undertaking a clinical activity during their law degree. It has been widely acknowledged that law students entering the competitive work environment can benefit significantly from practical work experience during their undergraduate or post-graduate studies. Whether gained through clinical education, external work experience or pro bono programs, the effect is to increase self-confidence, practical experience and, consequently the employability of students. It has also been recognised that extra-curricular community engagement enhances graduate employability by combining experiential learning, course work and community service. This book promotes the idea that not only is clinical experience an invaluable asset for students to enhance learning and to prepare them for practice, but it often has the added benefit of developing a sense of social responsibility in students gained by undertaking pro bono work.
Read more
CC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) 24 H5P Activities English (Australia)
Author(s): The University of Queensland Library
Subject(s): Law, Primary sources of law, Sources of law: legislation, Sources of law: case law, precedent
Publisher: The University of Queensland
Last updated: 17/04/2024
This guide is for students at The University of Queensland studying law. It covers legal research, the role secondary sources plays, case law, the parliamentary process and finding legislation.
Legal Research Skills: An Australian Law Guide: 2024 EditionCC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) 19 H5P Activities English (Australia)
Author(s): The University of Queensland Library, James Cook University Library, University of Southern Queensland Library, Charles Darwin University Library, Southern Cross University Library, Queensland University of Technology Library, Deakin University Library, University of South Australia Library
Subject(s): Law, Primary sources of law, Sources of law: legislation, Sources of law: case law, precedent
Publisher: The University of Queensland, James Cook University, the University of Southern Queensland, Charles Darwin University, Southern Cross University, Queensland University of Technology, Deakin University and University of South Australia
Last updated: 11/03/2024
The updated 2024 edition of this guide is designed to support students undertaking legal studies and contribute to the development of research skills in Australian law schools.
Legal Research Skills: An Australian Law Guide: 2023 JCU Edition
CC BY-NC | 19 H5P activities | 11,802 words
Author(s): James Cook University Library, The University of Queensland Library, University of Southern Queensland Library, Charles Darwin University Library, Southern Cross University Library, Queensland University of Technology Library, Deakin University Library
Subject(s): Law, Primary sources of law, Sources of law: legislation, Sources of law: case law, precedent
Last updated: 06-12-2023
Publisher: James Cook University
Language: English (Australia)
This guide is designed to support JCU students undertaking legal studies and contribute to the development of legal research skills.
CC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) English
Author(s): Dan Jerker B. Svantesson
Subject(s): Contract law, Law of torts, damages and compensation
Institution(s): Bond University
Publisher: Bond University
Last updated: 20/04/2023
Svantesson on the Law of Obligations provides an accessible, yet comprehensive, overview of how the rules of common law and equity, together with the provisions of applicable legislation such as the Australian Consumer Law, the Fair Trading Acts, and the Sale of Goods Acts, affect contractual and other obligations. Thus, a range of topics are covered, including:
The material dealt with is approached from an Australian perspective.
The book was first published by Pearson Education in 2007, and this is now the fourth edition revised in 2021 and released in ebook form in 2022. It is a comprehensive, up-to-date, and extensively researched resource for students engaging with an area of private law central to their education in the law and preparation for legal practice.
Edited by: Daniel J Fleming , David J Carter
DOI: http://doi.org/10.22459/VAD.2022
Please read Conditions of use before downloading the formats.
Since the introduction of voluntary assisted dying in 2019, a ‘new moment’ in the governance of life and death has opened up within the Australian context. This new moment demands new questions be asked regarding the regime and its effects in this new era for law, health care and justice.
This collection brings together critical perspectives on voluntary assisted dying itself, and on various practices adjacent to it, including questions of state power, population ageing, the differential treatment of human and non-human animals at the time of death, the management of health care processes through silent ‘workarounds’, and the financialisation of death.
This book provides an overview of the first Australian regime, and then introduces these diverse critical views, broadening our engagement with euthanasia and voluntary assisted dying beyond the limited, but important, debates about law reform and its particular enactment in Australia
