Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks and more.
LibreCommons hosts curated OER from all 14 LibreTexts libraries in one convenient location
A curated collection of open resources
OASIS - Openly Available Sources Integrated Search
A search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier
A digital content hub, from diverse content providers internationally
This directory provides an index of 3,362 books published across 114 Pressbooks networks.
Open workforce training materials
Attributions:
David Wiley, Open Education Week: Finding Open Educational Resources, Creative Commons Attribution license (reuse allowed)
Australian
Search for Australian OER in this OER Commons repository.
Find Australian OER created by CAUL OER Collective institutions.
Books can be downloaded for free. Conditions of use vary.
JCU Open eBooks is James Cook University’s open books platform.
Publishes a range of open-access ebooks.
Open Educational Resources (OER) - Textbooks
Collection of OER curated by Southern Cross University.
Collection of resources and open textbooks.
Around the World
Search for open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats and subjects
Directory Of Open Access Books
Search for Open Access books
Public domain audiobooks
Milne Open Textbook
Open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY
Offers access to more than 20,000 Open Access books
Search for textbooks that are peer-reviewed by educators to ensure they are readable and accurate
Search for textbooks licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed
“Project Gutenberg offers over 49,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.”
Public Domain
"Founded in 2011, The Public Domain Review is an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas. As our name suggests our project is focused on showcasing works which are in the public domain and so are free to re-use for any purpose, even commercially."
Public Domain (For specific information see publicdomainreview.org/legal/ )
All images are available under a creative commons license
Use the advanced search option to find creative commons images within Flickr
Explore collections, artworks, places, articles, AI and more
High-resolution photos in the public domain
Browse through over 600 million items to reuse
Free online courses and career advice.
A wide range of courses from leading universities around the world.
A not-for-profit online resource for learning to code.
FutureLearn offers a diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world.
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a platform featuring virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
A range of subject areas from the University of Michigan.
Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University.
Provided by Stanford University, these courses are centred around Engineering and Information Technology.
MOOCs from the University of Queensland.
Burst Free stock photos for websites and commercial use.
Clker.com Free clipart you can use for anything you like.
All images are available under a creative commons license
Use the advanced search option to find creative commons images within Flickr
Explore collections, artworks, places, articles, AI and more
Library of Congress This portal features content that is free to use and reuse.
LUNA Commons Showcases public collections from a wide variety of sources, promoting shared resources.
High-resolution photos in the public domain
Browse through over 600 million items to reuse
Pexels Tagged, searchable stock photos under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license
Pixabay Huge variety of public domain images. Warning: the first row of images in any search are sponsored results from Shutterstock and are not in the public domain.
The Public Domain Review Dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas – focusing on works now fallen into the public domain, the vast commons of out-of-copyright material that everyone is free to enjoy, share, and build upon without restrictions.
Unsplash Free hi-res photos provided by a community of photographers
Wikimedia Commons Large collection of public domain and Creative Commons images, sounds, maps, and other media.
WorldImages You are free to use these images for non-profit educational purposes, but we ask that you give credit to the copyright holders who retain rights to the images.
Stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models
Diverse images of people in tech
Beautiful photos of Black and Brown people
Stock photos of women of color in tech
Mix and match illustrations of people with a design library
“Futurity features the latest discoveries by scientists at top research universities in the US, UK, Canada, Europe, Asia, and Australia. The nonprofit site, which launched in 2009, is supported solely by its university partners…in an effort to share research news directly with the public.”
Varies by page; most CC-BY
“Neuroscience and psychology news and views.”
CC-BY NC SA
“The New Inquiry is a space for discussion that aspires to enrich cultural and public life by putting all available resources—both digital and material—toward the promotion and exploration of ideas.
The New Inquiry is a 501(c)3 non-profit and is not affiliated with any political party, government agency, university, municipality, religious organization, cadre, or other cult.”
CC-BY NC ND
“The open source way is about applying the principles of open source software development beyond software. Beyond technology. Opensource.com is about sharing how the open source way can change our world in the same way the open source model has changed software.”
CC – various
(Primarily CC-BY SA)
“PLoS is a nonprofit publisher and advocate of Open Access research.”
CC-BY
“SAGE Open is an open access publication from SAGE. It publishes peer-reviewed, original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.”
CC-various To find license for a particular article, view the Info & Metrics tab.
This collection of Open Access Journals offers an international perspective and critical lens into a variety of subject areas.
CC-BY
Primary source material on a wide variety of subjects. The free library that anyone can improve.
CC – various
Each item indicates copyright clearly at the bottom of the page
Writing Commons, the open-education home for writers. Our mission is to help college students improve their writing, research, and critical thinking. We publish a variety of webtexts on writing pedagogy. Major topics include Writing Processes, Information Literacy, Research Methods & Methodologies, Collaboration, Genres, Style, and New Media.
Bozeman Science Paul Andersen has created hundreds of science videos that have been viewed millions of times by learners around the world.
DnaTube Your main resource for descriptive science videos for learning and teaching.
DocumentaryHeaven An educational website featuring documentary films sourced from all over the internet.
Khan Academy Our mission is to provide a free, world-class education to anyone, anywhere.
Latest Thinking (open access research videos) Researchers present short overviews of their recent academic publications.
Medline Plus Videos Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy, body systems, and surgical procedures. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health with calculators and quizzes.
Moving Image Internet Archive Download or listen to free movies, films, and videos
Cultural and educational media such as audiobooks, ebooks, textbooks, online courses and movies
Open Video Project A collection of digitized video to study a wide range of problems in the use of such content.
PBS LearningMedia Bring the World to Your Classroom
Stock video clips and footage. Note: sponsored videos from iStock are not freely available.
The Public Domain Review Films Dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas – focusing on works now fallen into the public domain, the vast commons of out-of-copyright material that everyone is free to enjoy, share, and build upon without restrictions.
Stanford Health Video Library Stanford doctors and researchers present the latest health information through recorded lectures.
Ted Talks TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
Top Documentary Films Since January 2007, TDF has been curating awesome documentaries and it's been a host to a vibrant community of people.
World Lecture Project International archive for academic videos
Video-sharing platform. Videos are free to view but cannot necessarily be adapted or modified. Use the Creative Commons filter to find CC-licensed content.
Professional learning resources, standards-aligned content, practice exercises, videos and articles
An open web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content
Information and support with creating H5P for use in Pressbooks
Additional teaching resources supporting OpenStax textbooks such as test banks, answer guides and powerpoint slides
The second video highlights several online sites that feature OER images and videos that are freely available.
Europeana
MERLOT
OER Commons
Skills Commons