Basic engineering data collection and analysis by Stephen Vardeman; J. Marcus Jobe
Publication Date: 2023
CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Step by step, students get real engineering data and scenario examples along with chapter-long case studies that illustrate concepts in realistic, thoroughly detailed situations.
Decolonizing the engineering curriculum
Publication Date: 2022
CC BY-SA 4.0
Reconciliation+design is a set of adaptable resources developed to enable Engineering faculty to include Indigenous reconciliation in engineering courses.
Introduction to engineering thermodynamics by Claire Yu Yan
CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
The book is most suitable for a one-term, introductory engineering thermodynamics course at the undergraduate level. It may also be used for self-learning of fundamental concepts of classical thermodynamics
Introduction to mechanical engineering design
Publication Date: 2023
CC BY-SA 4.0
A collection of readings and exercises aligned with the course, ME 270, Introduction to Mechanical Engineering Design, at Iowa State University. This course provides an overview of mechanical engineering design with applications to thermal and mechanical systems, and an introduction to current design practices used in industry.
This text has been written as part of a sequence of design courses in the Bachelor of Engineering at RMIT University. It combines theoretical approaches to aspects of stress analysis with practical application of this knowledge in a design project situation. This text supports a third-year course on mechanical design that is taught with the aim of giving practice in a design project situation, and to use knowledge gained from a wide range of other courses previously or concurrently studied. The work on the particular system that will be studied (a compressed air supply system for a factory) involves assessing demand patterns, determining required compressor delivery capacity and system storage capacity, assessing waste heat recovery potential, designing a pipe system, designing the air storage pressure vessel, and sizing over pressure and over temperature relief devices for the vessel. The text supports a teaching program of project-based learning centred on the design of a pressure vessel.
This Open Access Journal offers short case studies on construction materials and projects.
This is an Open Access Journal featuring case studies. The journal has 5 years worth of case studies, but was discontinued in 2018
World’s largest Science, Technology & Medicine Open Access book publisher. The website contains more than 3,000 open access books distributed under CC BY 3.0 license in various subjects.
The LibreTexts Library can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes for use in campus Course Shells.
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources, including full university courses, interactive mini-lessons and simulations, adaptations of existing open textbooks, worksheets, and activities.
Collection of open textbooks curated by the American Society for Engineering Education. This resource aggregates information from around twenty different open educational resource websites and organizes it by engineering discipline.
Introduction to Environmental Sciences and Sustainability
Author: Emily P. Harris
License: Creative Commons Attribution
Introduction to Environmental Sciences and Sustainability is a college-level Open Educational Resource (OER) that focuses on the most relevant environmental science issues and addresses ways to incorporate sustainable practices. This resource is targeted at environmental science students.
Open Climate Resources for TeachersCC0 (Creative Commons Zero) English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Ash Barber, Barbara Rainier, Dana Kuljanin, Garth Smith, Georgia Almond, Jing Shen, Kate Davis, Katya Henry, Kim Hall, Megan Tulloch-Nasir, Richard White, Ruth Cameron, Sara Roberts, Tara Burton
Editor(s): Richard White, Sara Roberts
Subject(s): Climate change, Education, Teachers’ classroom resources and material
Publisher: Council of Australian University Librarians
Last updated: 04/04/2024
This guide was hacked together by several contributors over the course of Open Access Week 2022 in an exercise of collective librarianship to create a guide to resources on climate science and climate justice with a local focus.
Plant Anatomy and Physiology: Images and diagrams to explain conceptsImages and diagrams to explain concepts
Author:Sean Bellairs
License:Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike
A Portable Introduction to Data AnalysisAuthor:Michael Bulmer
Licence:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
This book has been written to provide a friendly introduction to data analysis and statistical modelling. It covers all the material in a standard introductory course at university, as well as more advanced topics such as multiple and logistic regression. It is also intended to be a useful guide for secondary teachers in science and mathematics, showing the role that experimental design and data analysis play in a range of scientific areas.
Deleting Dystopia: Re-Asserting Human Priorities in the Age of Surveillance CapitalismAuthor:Richard A. Slaughter
University of Southern Queensland
Licence:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
Book Description:Deleting Dystopia confirms that the existential threats posed by the misuse of advanced digital technologies are real. But, in place of apathy and fatalism, Slaughter explores ways of understanding the threat, conceptualising solutions and identifying strategies that lead away from digital authoritarian futures towards those funded on humanly viable values and practices.
Digital Skills: Artificial IntelligenceAuthor:Charles Sturt University Library
License:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
This book includes modules that provide an introduction to various types of Artificial Intelligence (AI), using AI in your studies and the implications of AI for society.
Digital Skills: Assignment EssentialsAuthor:Charles Sturt University Library
Licence:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
This book contains 4 modules to assist you to find and use information for your studies and assessments. Complete these modules to learn how to find information and media, understand copyright and licencing obligations, and for guidance on writing, citing and submitting assessment tasks.
Digital Skills: Content CreationAuthor:Charles Sturt University Library
Licence:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
This book contains 3 modules designed to assist you to develop your own digital works. Complete these modules to learn how to make content equitable and accessible, choose appropriate software tools and manage your intellectual property.
Digital Skills: Professional Identity and SkillsAuthor:Charles Sturt University Library
Licence:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
This book contains 2 modules focused on using digital tools to effectively communicate and collaborate at university and beyond. Complete these modules to learn about using communication and collaboration tools, digital citizenship and eprofessionalism.
Digital Skills: Security and SafetyAuthor:Charles Sturt University Library
Licence:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
This book contains 4 modules focused on online safety, privacy and security. Complete these modules to learn how to recognise and reduce online risks, and how to use social media effectively to enhance your university and professional life.
Green Tea Press is produced by Allen Downey who provides many of his titles free under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.
CC BY-NC-SA (Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) 37 H5P Activities English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Louise Lexis, Brianna Julien
Subject(s): Physiology, Science: general issues
Institution(s): University of Southern Queensland, La Trobe University
Publisher: University of Southern Queensland
Last updated: 10/01/2023
How To Do Science has been written for students of the life sciences who are actively engaged in the scientific process. This guide introduces you to what it means to be a scientist. You will learn about the scientific method and how to carry out many tasks of a scientist, including:• designing experiments to test a hypothesis• performing simple statistics• visualising data by creating graphs and tables• accessing scientific literature, and using referencing software• communicating findings from original investigations through research papers, posters and oral presentations• writing literature reviews and summaries• communicating science to the non-expert audience
Teachers have access to simulation-specific tips and video primers, resources for teaching with simulations, and activities shared a teacher community.
Wikibooks is a collection of open-content textbooks, a Wikimedia project for collaboratively writing open-content textbooks that anyone can get editing rights. Wikibooks includes textbooks, annotated texts, instructional guides, and manuals.