Anatomical Variation: An Australian and New Zealand ContextAuthors: Laura S. Gregory; Annabelle L. Kimmorley; and Mikaela S. Reynolds
Licence: Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
This textbook is designed to actively engage your exploration and critical analysis of human anatomical variation in an Australian and New Zealand context. Understanding anatomical variation is essential for all health professionals to avoid patient misdiagnosis such as confusing a natural variant with a pathology, minimise surgical or procedural errors that may occur if variations are unexpected, and ultimately improve patient outcomes by applying culturally safe practices. Research in anatomical variation has demonstrated significant differences in phenotypic expression of variants between and within geographic, ancestral and socioeconomic populations, as well as displaying significant variance between males and females. It is therefore critical as a health professional to understand anatomical variation in the context of the population you intend to practice in. This textbook compiles this critical information into an easy to read summary of the range and frequency of anatomical phenotypes in Australian and New Zealand patients by drawing from contemporary anatomical science research. Anatomical variation of Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori peoples has also been highlighted where research is available.
Foundations of Biomedical Science: Quantitative Literacy: Theory and ProblemsAuthor: Julian Pakay
License: Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike
Foundations of Biomedical Science: Quantitative Literacy Theory and Problems is designed to help students develop the fundamental mathematical and quantitative literacy required to navigate and interpret evidence-based Biomedical data. This will provide students with the skills and confidence to habitually question any quantitative data they come across and to use these skills to make informed judgements regarding their veracity.
Enabling and Optimising Recovery from COVID-19: A handbook for health professionals and other caregivers of people with Long COVIDAuthors: Danielle Hitch; Genevieve Pepin; Kelli Nicola-Richmond; and Valerie Watchorn (Deakin University)
This textbook provides readers with up to date knowledge about the assessment, management and support of people experiencing Long COVID. Learning activities draw upon personas co-authored with people with Long COVID.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and PhysiologyAuthors: Anna Chruścik; Kate Kauter; Louisa Windus; and Eliza Whiteside
License: Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology is a textbook for biomedical, life science and health majors. The book is organised by body system and contains interactive resources to test your knowledge.
Neuroscience, Psychology and Conflict Management
CC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) 12 H5P Activities English (Australia)
Author(s): Judith Rafferty
Subject(s): Physiological and neuro-psychology, biopsychology, Psychology, Neurosciences
Institution(s): James Cook University
Publisher: James Cook University
Last updated: 08/04/2024
This peer reviewed eBook introduces readers to foundational concepts in neuroscience, cognitive psychology, personality psychology and social psychology to help explain why conflict occurs, how it develops and how it may be managed and/or resolved.
Preparing Learners for Uncertainty in Health ProfessionsCC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) 12 H5P Activities English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Michelle D. Lazarus, Georgina C. Stephens
Editor(s): Michelle D. Lazarus, Georgina C. Stephens
Subject(s): Personal and public health / health education, Health psychology
Institution(s): Monash University
Publisher: Monash University
Last updated: 19/02/2024
This book serves to fill a critical gap in existing healthcare education resources, by raising healthcare professional and healthcare educators’ awareness of uncertainty tolerance. This handbook explores the impact health professions education (and educators) can have on the future healthcare workforce’s ability to manage uncertainty effectively, and provides practical approaches (including exemplar curricular templates) for supporting this essential workplace-ready, transferable attribute.
CC BY-NC-SA (Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) 8 H5P Activities English (Australia)
Author(s): Julian Pakay, Hendrika Duivenvoorden, Thomas Shafee, Kaitlin Clarke
Subject(s): Biochemistry
Institution(s): La Trobe University, Monash University, Swinburne University of Technology
Publisher: La Trobe eBureau
Last updated: 11/12/2023
Biochemistry (and Molecular Biology) represent one of the fastest-growing fields of scientific research and technical innovation and the resulting biotechnology is increasingly applied to other fields of study. So, an understanding of Biochemistry is increasingly important for students in all biological disciplines. However, at the same time, the content is inherently complex, highly abstract, and often deeply rooted in the pure sciences – mathematics, chemistry, and physics. This makes it difficult to both learn and to teach.
This book is designed as a succinct and focused resource, specifically aimed to help students grasp key threshold concepts in Biochemistry. Due to their troublesome nature, understanding threshold concepts is a cognitively demanding task. By using a series of thematically linked case studies that accompany theory, the cognitive load will be reduced. This will free up students to focus on learning concepts rather than distracting them with unnecessary specifics.
Copyright Year: 2021
Contributors: Zenko and Jones
Publisher: Society for Transparency, Openness, and Replication in Kinesiology
License: CC BY
This text represents the collaboration of more than 70 authors from multiple countries. Essentials of Exercise and Sport Psychology: An Open Access Textbook brings this diverse set of experts together to provide a free, open, accessible textbook for students studying exercise and sport psychology. Primarily directed at undergraduate students, this well-referenced book is also appropriate for graduate students.
An Introduction to Research Methods for Undergraduate Health Profession StudentsAuthors: Faith Alele and Bunmi Malau-Aduli
Licence:Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
This introduction to research methods aims to provide undergraduate health professions students with appropriate guidance, knowledge and skills that are essential for research. This eBook is packed full of practical tips and examples to equip students with the knowledge to engage with research, making it invaluable for students embarking on health research for the first time. The book covers the entire research process, starting with developing a research question, qualitative and quantitative research approaches, ethical considerations, data collection and analysis and the dissemination of the results of the study. Other contents covered in this eBook include conducting a literature review, designing a questionnaire, designing an interview guide and writing a research proposal. This eBook will simplify and breakdown complex research concepts for the students. The free availability of this eBook will make it a lifelong companion for students that can be referred to even after completing their degree. The eBook also has H5P activities such as interactive videos, presentations and quizzes that will enable students to connect theory with practice. Ultimately, this eBook will contribute to the development of tomorrow’s clinical researchers and future leaders in the advancement of health professions research.
Case Studies for Health, Research and Practice in Australia and New ZealandCC BY-SA (Attribution ShareAlike) English (Australia)
Author(s): Nicola Whiteing, Lucy Shinners, Nicole Graham, Dima Nasrawi, Donna Wilson, Anna Foster, Elicia Kunst, Jennene Greenhill
Subject(s): Personal and public health / health education, Nursing fundamentals and skills
Institution(s): Southern Cross University
Publisher: Southern Cross University
Last updated: 07/12/2023
The OER includes case studies of 5 families from a variety of backgrounds in metropolitan and regional Queensland (QLD), New South Wales (NSW), and Victoria (VIC), Australia. Case studies have been popular in nursing to help students bring their learning to life and enhance their critical thinking. However, often case studies appear in one unit or one particular content area to aid students learning for a particular condition or point in time.
Taking a transformational, place-based approach, the OER case studies for health are set within metropolitan and regional areas, so learning is contextual and relatable. Case studies increase in complexity so that students can be introduced to and ‘get to know’ the families from their first year of study. As students progress through their studies, they meet the families again in different, often more complex scenarios. The families experience a variety of political and socio-economic circumstances, which helps students to learn about various healthcare contexts, build knowledge and understanding about the families’ circumstances from a holistic, person-centred, interprofessional perspective, and engage at a deeper level.
Educators can integrate each family case study into multiple units across health programmes. This encourages students to learn through the lens of the unit they are studying while drawing on information learnt in previous units. Each OER chapter contains opportunities for students to engage with the material, complete activities and access further resources suggested by the authors. Case studies for health, research and practice provides students with an opportunity to develop skills in critical thinking, reflection and discourse, as well as clinical skills. Including this OER in health curricula will support the development of a broad spectrum of knowledge, skills and professionalism, which students can transfer to various healthcare contexts as they build their professional identities. formation learnt in previous units. Each OER chapter contains opportunities for students to engage with the material, completing activities and accessing further resources suggested by the authors., Case studies for health research and practice provides students with an opportunity to develop skills in critical thinking, reflection and discourse as well as the development of clinical skills. The inclusion of this OER in health curricula will support the development of a broad spectrum of knowledge, skills and professionalism which can be transferred to a variety of healthcare contexts as students build their professional identities.
Enabling and Optimising Recovery from COVID-19CC BY-NC (Attribution NonCommercial) 39 H5P Activities English (United Kingdom)
Author(s): Danielle Hitch, Genevieve Pepin, Kelli Nicola-Richmond, Valerie Watchorn (Deakin University)
Editor(s): Danielle Hitch, Genevieve Pepin, Kelli Nicola-Richmond, Valerie Watchorn (Deakin University)
Subject(s): Rehabilitation, Coping with / advice about illness and specific health conditions
Institution(s): Deakin University
Publisher: Deakin University
Last updated: 16/03/2024
This textbook provides readers with up to date knowledge about the assessment, management and support of people experiencing Long COVID. Learning activities draw upon personas co-authored with people with Long COVID.
Introduction to Health (OER)Author: kfalcone
License:Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike
The Introduction to Health OER Textbook provides a broad overview of information pertaining to human health and opportunities for improving health and wellness throughout life. The intended goal of the book is to equip the learners with important information needed to better understand their own health and how their daily choices may impact both their quantity and quality of life. Although this is a "health" textbook, it could actually be called a "life" textbook.
Leading in Health and Social Care
Edited by Sheree Lloyd (University of Tasmania), Richard Olley (Griffith University) and Eleanor Milligan (Griffith University) Subject(s): Health systems and services; Nursing management and leadership, Management: leadership and motivation, Business ethics and social responsibility, Economics, Finance, Business and Management, Business innovation, IT and information systems management
Qualitative Research – a practical guide for health and social care researchers and practitionersAuthors: Darshini Ayton; Tess Tsindos; and Danielle Berkovic
License: Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
This guide is designed to support health and social care researchers and practitioners to conduct qualitative research. (Published 2023)
Research and evidence in practiceLa Trobe eBureau 2018
This ebook is an introduction to the use of research-based evidence in professional health-care practice. It will help you to understand the role of evidence in health care, including how evidence is developed, and how to interpret research methods and outcomes.
Documentation in Nursing and Midwifery: Australian editionAuthors: Tanya Langtree and Elspeth Wood
Documenting patient care and records is an important skill for nurses. This book is designed for students in undergraduate nursing programs, and addresses principles of documentation, legislation associated with documentation, methods and systems of documentation, and related documenation matters, in the Australian context.
License: Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
Case Studies for Health, Research and Practice in Australia and New ZealandCC BY-SA (Attribution ShareAlike) English (Australia)
Author(s): Nicola Whiteing, Lucy Shinners, Nicole Graham, Dima Nasrawi, Donna Wilson, Anna Foster, Elicia Kunst, Jennene Greenhill
Subject(s): Personal and public health / health education, Nursing fundamentals and skills
Institution(s): Southern Cross University
Publisher: Southern Cross University
Last updated: 07/12/2023
The OER includes case studies of 5 families from a variety of backgrounds in metropolitan and regional Queensland (QLD), New South Wales (NSW), and Victoria (VIC), Australia. Case studies have been popular in nursing to help students bring their learning to life and enhance their critical thinking. However, often case studies appear in one unit or one particular content area to aid students learning for a particular condition or point in time.
Taking a transformational, place-based approach, the OER case studies for health are set within metropolitan and regional areas, so learning is contextual and relatable. Case studies increase in complexity so that students can be introduced to and ‘get to know’ the families from their first year of study. As students progress through their studies, they meet the families again in different, often more complex scenarios. The families experience a variety of political and socio-economic circumstances, which helps students to learn about various healthcare contexts, build knowledge and understanding about the families’ circumstances from a holistic, person-centred, interprofessional perspective, and engage at a deeper level.
Educators can integrate each family case study into multiple units across health programmes. This encourages students to learn through the lens of the unit they are studying while drawing on information learnt in previous units. Each OER chapter contains opportunities for students to engage with the material, complete activities and access further resources suggested by the authors. Case studies for health, research and practice provides students with an opportunity to develop skills in critical thinking, reflection and discourse, as well as clinical skills. Including this OER in health curricula will support the development of a broad spectrum of knowledge, skills and professionalism, which students can transfer to various healthcare contexts as they build their professional identities. formation learnt in previous units. Each OER chapter contains opportunities for students to engage with the material, completing activities and accessing further resources suggested by the authors., Case studies for health research and practice provides students with an opportunity to develop skills in critical thinking, reflection and discourse as well as the development of clinical skills. The inclusion of this OER in health curricula will support the development of a broad spectrum of knowledge, skills and professionalism which can be transferred to a variety of healthcare contexts as students build their professional identities.
Documentation in Nursing and Midwifery: Australian editionAuthors: Tanya Langtree and Elspeth Wood
License: Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
Documenting patient care and records is an important skill for nurses. This book is designed for students in undergraduate nursing programs, and addresses principles of documentation, legislation associated with documentation, methods and systems of documentation, and related documenation matters, in the Australian context.
by OpenStax is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution License v4.0
Published 2024.
Nutrition for Nurses is structured to support the flexible integration of nutrition content across both system-based and nursing competency-based curricula. It can be used whether nutrition is taught as a standalone course or part of another nursing course. The table of contents for Nutrition for Nurses presents content in 20 chapters, organized into 9 thematic units.
The text emphasizes evidence-based practice and holistic assessment to facilitate the integration of nutritional awareness for pre-licensure nursing students in the provision of client-centered care. Nutrition for Nurses helps students develop sound clinical judgment as well as a deep understanding of the impact of nutrition on body systems across the lifespan.
Written and reviewed by highly experienced faculty, Nutrition for Nurses includes a detailed narrative, extensive features and learning resources, and ample student support. The presentation utilizes concepts promoting the development of clinical judgment by building upon the systematic model developed by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN).
School of Pharmacy Preceptor HandbookAuthor: School of Pharmacy
The School of Pharmacy Preceptor Handbook has been developed for preceptors hosting students in the Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons) program. Within this resource, preceptors can find supporting guides and information on placements, the work integrated learning program, and the Entrustable Professional Activities.
The Australian Handbook for Careers in Psychological ScienceAuthors: Tony Machin; Tanya Machin; Carla Jeffries; and Nancey Hoare
License: Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
Despite psychology being one of the most popular undergraduate programs, students often report not knowing how training in psychology relates to careers. With chapters written by experts across Australia, this book explores just some of the many ways that students can apply their training in psychological science across a variety of careers and sectors.
Common Client Issues in Counselling: An Australian PerspectiveAuthors: Nathan Beel; Christine Chinchen; Tanya Machin; and Carol du Plessis
License: Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial
Common Client Issues in Counselling: An Australian Perspective focuses on common mental health issues, such as grief and loss, anxiety, and depression, experienced by clients presenting for counselling. The focus throughout is on providing an Australian perspective, highlighting contemporary understandings, as well as suggesting practical and integrative responses to each common issue. All of the authors, reviewers, and editors work within Australian counselling settings, including private practice, not for profit organisations and academic contexts. By drawing on the authors’ extensive experience, and using a contextual rather than diagnostic approach, each chapter is brought to life with valuable insights and suggestions.
Data analysis in the psychological sciences: A practical, applied, multimedia approach Publication Date: 2023
CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
This open resources textbook contains 10 Units that describe and explain the main concepts in statistical analysis of psychological data. In addition to conceptual descriptions and explanations of the basic analyses for descriptive statistics, this textbook also explains how to conduct those analyses with common statistical software (Excel) and open-source free software (R).
Open History of Psychology: The Lives and Contributions of Marginalized Psychology Pioneers
CC BY-NC
Author(s): Alison E. Kelly, Brittany N. Avila
Editor(s): Alison E. Kelly, Brittany N. Avila
Subject(s): Psychology
Last updated: 06-20-2023
Institution(s): University of North Dakota, University of Nevada, Reno
Language: English
Understanding the history of a discipline requires looking at prominent figures and events that contributed to the growth of the discipline. Yet historical accounts are prone to including what those writing the accounts believe is most important to know. Within the discipline of psychology, women and people of color are noticeably absent from history.
Noba provides high-quality, flexibly structured textbooks written by a collection of experts and authorities in the field of psychology. Licensed under the Creative Commons CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.
Six Acceptance and Commitment Training ConversationsCC BY-NC-ND (Attribution NonCommercial NoDerivatives) English (Australia)
Author(s): Julian McNally, Michael Swadling
Editor(s): Ian Kolk, Mark Parsons, Michael Swadling, Sophie Langley
Subject(s): Counselling and care of students, Positive psychology, Higher education, tertiary education, Cognitive behavioural therapy, Coping with / advice about mental health issues, Popular psychology, Mindfulness, Emotions and emotional intelligence, Educational: Study skills, Educational: Social and life skills
Publisher: RMIT Open Press
Last updated: 07/03/2024
An e-learning program aimed to provide students with the psychological and emotional intelligence skills to support them in:
CC BY (Attribution) 30 H5P Activities English
Author(s): University of Southern Queensland
Subject(s): Social work
Publisher: University of Southern Queensland
Last updated: 10/01/2023
This e-resource is aimed at guiding and supporting human services students through professional placements.
Authors: Ronnie Egan, Betty Haralambous; and Patrick O’Keeffe
This edition of Partnerships with the Community: Social Work Field Education during the Covid-19 Pandemic emerged from RMIT’s Partnership Reference Group in response to the impacts of the global pandemic on field placement supply and delivery. There was collective agreement that the long-term relationships between RMIT Social Work and the field through field education and beyond allowed us to rapidly respond to the needs of students, agencies and the community and continue to provide social work field education over 2020 and 2021. This book is a testament to the strength of these relationships demonstrated in the trust, respect, shared vision, flexibility, and reciprocity exhibited during this period. The book brings together the narratives of the RMIT Field education team and eleven of our industry partners about their experiences of providing social work placements during a global pandemic.
