Health Research Guide: Databases

Resource Types: Databases

Accessing Databases

As a member of the CDU community, the library gives you access to a number of databases that provide access to nursing/health related journals.

These databases cover a wide range of topics and research areas, allow you to sort by subject area, and can be found at A-Z Databases (cdu.edu.au).

Some of the key databases for health sciences and nursing can be accessed from the Health Sciences LibGuide and the Nursing LibGuide home tab.

Benefits of CDU databases

• Free access to scholarly information.
• The content is evaluated for authority and accuracy.
• The information is stable.
• You can access databases that specifically relate to your course of study.
• You can easily refine your search, and limit or expand your search to find what you're looking for.

Why use a Database?

Health specific databases are ideal for searching the journal literature because they are tailored to a particular discipline, and therefore provide the ability to narrow your search in ways that wouldn't be possible in a general database or search tool like Library Search.

In a medical database you can for example limit your search to clinical trials, age groups studied, evidence-based practice, etc.

Database Content

Like many information resources, databases have a wide range of content in different forms and research topics.

Content may include: systematic reviews, conference proceedings, book chapters, patient information sheets, theses, drug information, etc...