Subject guides: AGLC Guide: General Rules

Rule

Part 1 of the AGLC4 contains the General Rules of the style on pages 1-38.

See the links below for further information:

Quotations

Repeated Citations

Short Titles

Pinpoints

What if my source isn't in the AGLC?

When you find a source and want to cite it, the first step is to ask what type of source it is. For example, is it a case, legislation, journal, internet material, or something else?

If you find a source that isn't included in the AGLC4 (see page xi for the full statement), use the principles of clarity and consistency; use the other rules in the AGLC for a guideline.

Spelling and Grammar

See rule 1.9.1 of the AGLC4, page 28, for a full list of examples.

Macquarie Dictionary & Thesaurus Online This link opens in a new window
This is the online version of the Macquarie Dictionary and Macquarie Thesaurus. Provides definitions and usage of words and phrases.

See rule 1.9.1 of the AGLC4, page 28, for a full list of examples.

Fowler's concise dictionary of modern English usage by Fowler, H. W. (Henry Watson), 1858-1933, author.; Fowler, H. W. (Henry Watson), 1858-1933, editor.
ISBN: 0191062308
Publication Date: 2015

See rule 1.9.1 of the AGLC4, page 28, for a full list of examples.

Gender-inclusive language should generally be used.

Neutral terms such as 'the reasonable person, 'spokesperson' and 'humankind' should be used.

Quick format examples

Format:

Day Month Year

Example:

15 June 2023

Find full examples in rule 1.6 of the AGLC4, page 22.

Full stops are only used at the end of a sentence or a footnote.

Examples:

This refers to an earlier incident where Dr Lawrence told Ms Wilson the news in private, this was not a point of contention in the case. (Note the terms Dr and Ms have no full stops placed after them.)
Mabo v Queensland (No 2) (1992) 175 CLR 1.

Find full examples in rule 1.10.1 of the AGLC4, page 29.

Numbers under 10 should have written words e.g. five, 15

Other Examples:

5%
5 million

Using Capital Letters in the AGLC

Transcript for A Capital Idea

Quick General Rules Tables

See the full details and examples in rule 1.12 of the AGLC4,page 34, the suggested heading levels are:

Heading Level	Attributes
I HEADING LEVEL ONE	Upper-case Roman numeral not italicised; heading in large and small capitals and centred.
A Heading Level Two	Upper-case letter not italicised; heading italicised and centred
1 Heading Level Three	Arabic numerals not italicised; heading italicised and left-aligned.
(a) Heading Level Four	Lower-case letters and heading italicised and left-aligned.
(I) Heading Level 5	Lower-case Roman numeral and heading italicised and left-aligned.

Note: Generally, for a short essay or IRAC answer, only one level of heading is needed.

Introductory signals can indicate how the source and citation work with your text.

See rule 1.2 of the AGLC4, page 7, for a full list of examples.

Introductory Signal	Meaning
[No introductory signal]	The source is quoted or directly supports your argument.
See	The source provides qualified support for your argument.
See, eg,	The source is one of several authorities.
See also	The source provides additional or general support.
See especially	The source provides the strongest of several authorities supporting the proposition in the text.
See generally	The source provides background information on the topic discussed in the text.

Example in a footnote:

See McGinty v Western Australia (1995) 186 CLR 140, 185 (Dawson J). There are differing views on the meaning of representative democracy; see generally at 198-205 (Toohey J).

Use this rule when you want to show that one source is referred to another source.

See rule 1.3 of the AGLC4, page 8, for a full list of examples.

Introductory Signal	Meaning
quoting	The first-listed source quotes the second source directly.
quoted in	The first-listed source is quoted directly in the second source.
citing	The first-listed source refers to (but does not quote directly) the second source.
cited in	The first-listed source is referred to (but not quoted directly) in the second source.
discussing	The first-listed source discusses the second source.
discussing in	The first-listed source is discussed in the second source.

Example in a footnote:

Sandy Steel, 'One When Fairchild Applies' (2015) 131(July) Law Quarterly Review 363, 364, cited in Caason Investments Pty Ltd v Cao (2015) 236 FCR 322, 357 [184] (Elderman J).