Comprehensive active self-assessment tool for medical students, residents, and junior attending physicians in physical medicine and rehabilitation. The first question-and-answer review book in this field, it will help professionals quickly and efficiently review specific topics in PM&R. The book covers in detail the entire field of physical medicine and rehabilitation with more than 1,500 multiple-choice questions with answers and detailed rationales.
Comprehensive coverage of the key issues and perspectives in the field of physical therapy and rehabilitation. Physiotherapy as a treatment is used to develop, maintain, and restore maximum movement and functional ability throughout the lifespan. This book provides guidance for allied health professionals treating posture and movement difficulties.
Understanding Physiotherapy Research by Littlewood and May is an introductory level text that aims to be accessible and understandable to all physiotherapists who appreciate the need to integrate research evidence into their practice.
This book provides comprehensive coverage of the key issues and perspectives in the current practice of physiotherapy, focussing on the issues that are not taught in 'clinical' texts yet that underpin professional practice. The book helps students gain a good understanding of the physiotherapy profession.
In order to effectively examine, test, and treat patients with exercise, physical therapists need to understand how physiology from the cellular to the systems level provides the basis for normal responses to exercise.
Downer's Physical Therapy Procedures
Focuses on step-by-step application of major treatment techniques currently in use. It opens with the advantages, disadvantages, indications, precautions, contraindications, goals, and effects for all treatments.
In adult physical rehabilitation, the transformative learning theory presents the basis for a detailed model of Meaning Perspective Transformation in Physical Rehabilitation based on research evidence, with examples and cases, and presents directives for clinical applications. This book draws from the theoretical background of transformative learning in adult education (Mezirow) to discuss the expansion and transfer of knowledge to clinical rehabilitation and community health rehabilitation settings for rehabilitation interventions.
This open access book provides insight on how to interpret capability in ageing - one's individual ability to perform actions in order to reach goals one has reason to value - from a multidisciplinary approach.
The authoritative clinical handbook promoting excellence and best practice Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation in Practice is a comprehensive, practitioner-focused clinical handbook which provides internationally applicable evidence-based standards of good practice.
Physical therapists know that their patients are more than just a list of symptoms. They are people first, often with a complex mix of medical and psychiatric circumstances, who may receive a wide range of care from a team of professionals.
The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy is the most comprehensive text currently available, designed to meet the demands of teachers and the wider industry for a book that addresses both the core subjects of holistic and complementary therapy and individual topics such as reiki and colour therapy.
Ergonomics for Therapists, 3rd Edition is a comprehensive introduction to ergonomics in the workplace. Thoroughly revised with the latest ergonomic techniques and strategies, this reader-friendly resource gives you the foundation you need to help clients maximize efficiency and prevent workplace injuries before they occur.
A practical guide to diagnosis and treatment of musculoskeletal conditions in clinical practice. More comprehensive than a handbook, yet more clinically-focused than a desk reference, this volume is a one-stop guide for clinicians who deal with musculoskeletal disorders and injuries in the practice setting.
This practical guide focuses on the evidence-based neuroscience information that is most relevant to the practice of physical rehabilitation. It connects the theory of neuroscience with real-world clinical application with such features as: stories written by real people with neurological disorders, case studies, and lists summarizing key features of neurological disorders.
Gain the solid foundation in A&P that you need to provide effective respiratory care! Respiratory Care Anatomy and Physiology, 5th Edition provides an in-depth understanding of the physiology and pathophysiology of the lungs, heart, vascular system, and kidneys. It connects theory with practice, showing how physiological principles guide the selection and use of diagnostic, therapeutic, and monitoring procedures.
Australia and New Zealand's leading pathophysiology text for nursing and allied health students. Updated to include the most current scientific and clinical case material across the life span, complex subject manner is presented in an approachable and easy-to-understand format.
The fifth edition of this seminal textbook continues to provide those who are studying or are in practice with comprehensive evidence-based coverage of all the main aspects of respiratory and cardiac physiotherapy throughout the whole lifespan with the patient at centre and advocating a problem-based approach.
Enables every student to master concepts and succeed in assessment drawing together the voices and contemporary research of Australia’s pre-eminent education academics. The combination of their knowledge, hands-on experience and insight will help you develop your craft and technique, and provide a framework to enable you to excel as a future educator. This market-leading text is accessible for all students and designed to engage and inspire, while staying realistic, practical and jargon-free.
Clinical reasoning is a key skill underpinning clinical expertise. Clinical Reasoning in Musculoskeletal Practice is essential reading for the musculoskeletal practitioner to gain the contemporary knowledge and thinking capacity necessary to advance their reasoning skills.
Providing a solid foundation in the normal development of functional movement, this book helps you recognize and understand movement disorders and effectively manage patients with abnormal motor function.
An exceptionally comprehensive, handy reference that is ideal for clinicians in their daily practice and students on core clinical placements – musculoskeletal, neurology, respiratory. The second edition of this extremely popular book has been updated and expanded to make it even more invaluable during clinical practice. It is designed to be a useful aide memoir during assessment and treatment planning with instant access to key facts and figures.
This open textbook is a tool to support first year anatomy and physiology courses taught in Australia, aiming to provide students with an increased access to free, high-quality learning materials. The material in this textbook is largely based on OpenStax’s Anatomy & Physiology textbook, however, has been modified for Australian course curriculum.
Scopus is an international multi-disciplinary abstracting and indexing database. Subjects covered include chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, economics, biological, agricultural and general sciences.
MEDLINE with Full Text provides fulltext access to more than 1,370 journals indexed in Pubmed, a service of the National Library of Medicine. PubMed provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is a specialized bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, fibromyalgia, occupational therapy, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine. This database is designed for physicians, therapists, medical researchers, historians and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative and allied therapies and related subjects.
It is a key source of evidence based medicine and health practice in nursing and midwifery, and allied health eg physiotherapy, occupational therapy, podiatry etc. It also contains multi-disciplinary evidence based health care information.
DiTA is the Diagnostic Test Accuracy database, a free database that indexes primary studies of diagnostic test accuracy and systematic reviews of diagnostic test accuracy studies related to physiotherapy practice. DiTA has been designed to enable clinicians, researchers and patients to easily access information on the accuracy of diagnostic tests used by physiotherapists.