Research Methodology by
Written specifically for students with no previous experience of research and research methodology, the Third Edition of Research Methodology breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into eight manageable steps and provides plenty of examples throughout to link theory to the practice of doing research. The book contains straightforward, practical guidance on: - Formulating a research question - Ethical considerations - Carrying out a literature review - Choosing a research design - Selecting a sample - Collecting and analysing qualitative and quantitative data - Writing a research report The third edition has been revised and updated to include extended coverage of qualitative research methods in addition to the existing comprehensive coverage of quantitative methods. There are also brand new learning features such as reflective questions throughout the text to help students consolidate their knowledge. The book is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students in the social sciences embarking on qualitative or quantitative research projects.
Research Methods for Postgraduates by
An indispensable reference for postgraduates, providing up to date guidance in all subject areas Methods for Postgraduates brings together guidance for postgraduate students on how to organise, plan and do research from an interdisciplinary perspective. In this new edition, the already wide-ranging coverage is enhanced by the addition of new chapters on social media, evaluating the research process, Kansei engineering and medical research reporting. The extensive updates also provide the latest guidance on issues relevant to postgraduates in all subject areas, from writing a proposal and securing research funds, to data analysis and the presentation of research, through to intellectual property protection and career opportunities. This thoroughly revised new edition provides: Clear and concise advice from distinguished international researchers on how to plan, organise and conduct research. New chapters explore social media in research, evaluate the research process, Kansei engineering and discuss the reporting of medical research. Check lists and diagrams throughout. Praise for the second edition: "... the most useful book any new postgraduate could ever buy." (New Scientist) "The book certainly merits its acceptance as essential reading for postgraduates and will be valuable to anyone associated in any way with research or with presentation of technical or scientific information of any kind."(Robotica) Like its predecessors, the third edition of Research Methods for Postgraduates is accessible and comprehensive, and is a must-read for any postgraduate student.
Research Methods for Social Work by
This best-selling text that has empowered more than 100,000 students just like you! Considered the best social work research methods resource, RESEARCH METHODS FOR SOCIAL WORK balances essential content with enlightening examples, consistently revealing the important connections between real research and true-to-life social work practice.
Research Methods in Social Work by
Don't get lost in Research Methods--succeed in the class with RESEARCH METHODS IN SOCIAL WORK. This how-to book includes simplified, step-by-step instructions using real-world data and scenarios. Plus, it comes with updated tools that show you how to create a research project and write a thesis proposal. Every chapter comes with self-assessment sections so you can see for yourself how you're doing and prepare effectively for the test.
The SAGE Dictionary of Social Research Methods by
Bringing together the work of over eighty leading academics and researchers worldwide to produce the definitive reference and research tool for the social sciences, The SAGE Dictionary of Social Research Methods contains more than 230 entries providing the widest coverage of all the main terms in the research process. It encompasses philosophies of science, research paradigms and designs, specific aspects of data collection, practical issues to be addressed when carrying out research, and the role of research in terms of function and context. Each entry includes a concise definition of the concept; a description of distinctive features including historical and disciplinary backgrounds, key writers, and applications; a critical and reflective evaluation of the concept under consideration; cross references to associated concepts within the dictionary; and a list of key readings. Written in a lively style, The SAGE Dictionary of Social Research Methods is an essential study guide for students and first-time researchers. It is a primary source of reference for advanced study, a necessary supplement to established textbooks, and a state-of-the-art reference guide to the specialized language of research across the social sciences.
The Handbook of Social Work Research Methods by 
Quantitative Methods for Conservation Biology by 
Research Methods in Health: Investigating Health and Health Services by
This bestselling book provides an accessible introduction to the concepts and practicalities of research methods in health and health services. This new edition has been extensively re-worked and expanded and now includes expanded coverage of: Qualitative methods Social research Evaluation methodology Mixed methods Secondary data analysis Literature reviewing and critical appraisal Evidence based practice Covering all core methodologies in detail the book looks at the following kinds of health research: health needs morbidity and mortality trends and rates costing health services sampling for survey research cross-sectional and longitudinal survey design experimental methods and techniques of group assignment questionnaire design interviewing techniques coding and analysis of quantitative data methods and analysis of qualitative observational studies unstructured interviewing The book is grounded in the author''s career as a researcher on health and health service issues, and the valuable experience this has provided in meeting the challenges of research on people and organisations in real life settings. Research Methods in Health, Fourth Edition is an essential companion for students and researchers of health and health services, health clinicians and policy-makers with responsibility for applying research findings and judging the soundness of research. "Health service researchers - new and old - will be delighted by this new edition of a popular and useful text. There is new content but also updated material making this practically useful as a resource at any stage of the research trajectory. While health is the focus the book is hugely valuable to researchers in cognate areas. such as social care, education and housing. The book meets its own high standards in being easy to follow, well indexed and containing interesting examples of approaches. The limitations of different methods are also honestly reported. A ''must have'' for the book shelf." Jill Manthorpe, Professor of Social Work, King''s College London, UK "When first published in 1997, this volume was the first systematic overview of research methods used in the health field. In its updated 4th Edition it remains vital and, if anything, more important given the growing number of researchers and students investigating health issues and health services. It provides an impressively comprehensive overview of health research methods in which the wealth and variety of experience of the author shines through at every point. Qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods are appraised and explained with unpartisan authority and rigour, and the volume covers everything from multidisciplinary collaboration in health service evaluation through the Delphi technique of consensus development to the health economics needed to evaluate costing." Paul Stenner, Professor of Social Psychology, The Open University, UK "This excellent text really is a must for anyone involved in health research. It is truly multidisciplinary in its scope, drawing on a breadth of relevant research from health economics, to epidemiology to psychology which is beyond the scope of most books on research methods. Yet in spite of the wealth of material included it is written and presented in an accessible way so that it will be an invaluable source for those with a background in either qualitative or quantitative research and from students to experienced researchers." Robert J. Edelmann, Professor of Forensic and Clinical psychology, Roehampton University, UK Reviews of previous editions: "Provides an excellent broad based introduction to the subject. The content is clearly presented and at a suitable level for health professionals and postgraduate students in health and health-related social sciences." Virginia Berridge, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK "A valuable source book for health services researchers, health care providers, and others interested in quantifying quality of life for clinical or research purposes." The International Journal for Quality in Health Care "Includes accounts of a number of recently developed scales, while retaining the breadth, concision and clarity that marked the first edition." Medicine, Healthcare and Philosophy
Social Work Research and Evaluation by 
Handbook of the Arts in Qualitative Research by
The bringing together of the arts and qualitative inquiry is changing the face of social science research. The increasing shift toward arts-based research has raised complex questions, such as how to evaluate its quality and even whether distinctions exist between what is art and what is research. In this defining work, Gary Knowles and Ardra Cole bring together the top scholars in qualitative methods to provide a comprehensive overview of where arts-based research has come, and where it is going. Through various categories of art and art-based research - namely epistemological, historical, methodological, thematic - will address all the significant issues of conceiving and conducting arts-based or arts-informed research in the social sciences and humanities, as well as the challenges of composing final representations of the research.
InterViews by
The Third Edition of Brinkmann and Kvale's InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing, offers readers comprehensive and practical insight into the many factors that contribute to successful interviews. The book invites readers on a journey through the landscape of interview research, providing the "hows" and "whys" of research interviewing, and outlines paths for students to follow on the way to research goals. Thoroughly updated to account for all recent developments in qualitative interviewing, the New Edition expands its focus on the practical, epistemological, and ethical issues involved in interviewing, while maintaining the fluid and logical structure it has become known for throughout the text.
An Introduction to Qualitative Research by
Lecturers - request an e-inspection copy of this text or contact your local SAGE representative to discuss your course needs.In the new edition of his bestselling book, Uwe Flick introduces all of the main theoretical approaches to qualitative research, and provides unmatched coverage of the full range of methods now available to qualitative researchers. Organised around the process of doing qualitative research, the book guides you through ethics, research design, data collection, and data analysis. In this fifth edition, you will find: a new chapter outlining methodological approaches to qualitative research new introductory sections at the beginning of each of the book's seven parts, which prepare the ground and define key terms lots of new practical examples which show you how to carry out all aspects of a qualitative research project new exercises that give you the opportunity to test your understanding of what you've read a brand new companion website full of resources for lecturers and students including suggested answers to the exercises in the book, full text journal articles and links to additional resources: http://uk.sagepub.com/flick5e
Qualitative Research Methods, Fourth Edition by
This book is a practical guide to conducting and analysing qualitative research. It explores some of the more commonly used types of qualitative research methods, the management of qualitative research, and the different areas of application. This fourth edition includes updated references andexamples throughout the text as well as a new chapter on conducting cross-cultural research qualitatively.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by
The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition of this landmark handbook presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Representing top scholars from around the world, the editors and contributors continue the tradition of synthesizing existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The Fifth Edition contains 19 new chapters, with 16 revised--making it virtually a new volume--while retaining six classic chapters from previous editions. New contributors to this edition include Jamel K. Donnor and Gloria Ladson-Billings; Margaret Kovach; Paula Saukko; Bryant Keith Alexander; Thomas A. Schwandt and Emily F. Gates; Johnny Saldaña; Uwe Flick; Mirka Koro-Ljungberg, Maggie MacLure, and Jasmine Ulmer; Maria Elena Torre, Brett G. Stoudt, Einat Manoff, and Michelle Fine; Jack Bratich; Svend Brinkmann; Eric Margolis and Renu Zunjarwad; Annette N. Markham; Alecia Y. Jackson and Lisa A. Mazzei; Jonathan Wyatt, Ken Gale, Susanne Gannon, and Bronwyn Davies; Janice Morse; Peter Dahler-Larsen; Marc Spooner; and David A. Westbrook. SAGE is offering a 30% discount on the Handbook. Enter code DENZIN30 at checkout to apply the discount.
Writing the Qualitative Dissertation by
The purpose of this book is to share, in rich detail, an understanding of how it feels and what it means to do qualitative research, and to provide support for doctoral students who choose this form of inquiry for their dissertation research.
Advances in Mixed Methods Research by
Advances in Mixed Methods Research provides an essential introduction to the fast-growing field of mixed methods research. Bergman's book examines the current state of mixed-methods research, exploring exciting new ways of conceptualizing and conducting empirical research in the social and health sciences. Contributions from the world's leading experts in qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches are brought together, clearing the way for a more constructive approach to social research. These contributions cover the main practical and methodological issues and include a number of different visions of what mixed methods research is. The discussion also covers the use of mixed methods in a diverse range of fields, including sociology, education, politics, psychology, computational science and methodology. This book represents an important contribution to the ongoing debate surrounding the use of mixed methods in the social sciences and health research, and presents a convincing argument that the conventional, paradigmatic view of qualitative and quantitative research is outdated and in need of replacement. It will be essential reading for anyone actively engaged in qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods research and for students of social research methods. Manfred Max Bergman is Chair of Methodology and Political Sociology at the University of Basel.
Handbook of Mixed Methods in Social and Behavioral Research by 
Foundations of Mixed Methods Research by 
Blending Qualitative and Quantitative Research Methods in Theses and Dissertations by Click on the book cover to access the books:
Blaxter, Loraine; Hughes, Christina; Tight, Malcolm, How to Research. Open University Press, 2010.
Bell, Judith, Doing Your Reseach Project, McGraw-Hill Education, 2014.
Denscombe, Martyn, The Good Research Guide: For Small-Scale Social Research Projects. McGraw-Hill Education, 2014
