Ask a question
Converting the need for information (about prevention, diagnosis, prognosis, therapy, causation, etc) into an answerable question
Search and find information/evidence to answer question
Tracking down the best evidence with which to answer that question
Critically appraise the information/evidence
Critically appraising that evidence for its validity (closeness to the truth), impact (size of the effect), and applicability (usefulness in our clinical practice)
Implement and integrate appraised evidence with own clinical expertise and patient’s preferences
Integrating the critical appraisal with our clinical expertise and with our patient's unique biology, values and circumstances
Evidence-based medicine : how to practice and teach it EBM. - 3rd ed. / Sharon E. Strauss ... [et al.]. - Edinburgh ; New York : Elsevier/Churchill Livingstone, 2005.
This should be an ongoing process in clinical practice.
Also see: http://library.health.nt.gov.au/c.php?g=172510&p=1137931
Answering Clinical Questions - Tutorials provided by the University of Western Australia on:
Duke University (US) EBM Tutorial - An excellent, clearly set-out tutorial that:
University of Sydney Library Tutorial - This tutorial aims to clarify the process of searching for reliable medical evidence in four stages:
Using a short, reader-friendly format, this book covers the basics of nursing research and the essentials of how to implement Evidence Based Practice (EBP). It includes coverage of quantitative and qualitative research approaches, defining the 'compelling question', finding and critiquing the evidence, and disseminating the research.
The book provides the tools to find and evaluate the literature, and implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way. Written for anyone in the health care professions who has little or no knowledge of evidence-based medicine, it provides a clear understanding of the concepts and how to put them into practice at the basic, clinical level.
Introductory text that shows students different research techniques and how they are of value to all health professions. The text assumes no prior knowledge and is written in an appealing, accessible style using examples to demonstrate the relevance and practical application of research to health care practice, drawing sensible links between evidence-based practice and research methodology.
This is the book for anyone who has ever wondered what evidence based practice is or how to relate it to practice.
There are at least three ways in which a public health program or policy may not reach stated goals for success. This book deals not only with finding and using scientific evidence, but also with implementation and evaluation of interventions that generate new evidence on effectiveness.
Translation of Evidence into Nursing Practice helps graduate students in Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) courses meet the core competency requirements, content, and knowledge of the DNP curriculum. This revolutionary guide focuses particularly on the challenges of translating evidence into practice, one of the DNP course competencies.
This edited book provides a hard-hitting and deliberately provocative overview of the relationship between evidence, policy and practice, how policy is implemented and how research can and should influence the policy process. It critiques the notion of 'evidence-based practice', suggesting instead a more inclusive idea of 'knowledge-base practice', based in part on the lived experience of service users. It will be of interest to everyone in health and social care policy, practice and research.
This is an essential, accessible introduction to the practicalities of research and evidence-based practice aimed a broad health care audience. It places research and evidence in the context of clinical practice, introduces the main methodological approaches in qualitative and quantitative research, and describes the processes of research appraisal, dissemination and implementation.
Evidence Based Medicine provides a clear explanation of the central questions: how to ask answerable clinical questions; how to translate them into effective searches for the best evidence; how to critically appraise that evidence for its validity and importance; and how to integrate it with patients' values and preferences.
Research Essentials provides an engaging and user-friendly introduction to research within the health sciences. With valuable information for nursing students, nurses in clinical practice, and nurses in leadership positions, Research Essentials: Foundations for Evidence-Based Practice helps nurses acquire essential skills for today's dynamic health-care environment.
Provides health professions students with the basic knowledge and skills necessary to become evidence-based clinicians, helping to demystify the practice of finding and using evidence to inform decision-making across a range of professions and roles within the healthcare sector. This book will provide the reader with the basic knowledge and skills necessary to be an evidence-based clinician and to understand the implications of evidence-based practice (EBP) in the overall healthcare environment.
