This 4 volume set presents important research on audiology and hearing. Some of the topics discussed herein include: cochlear implantation; chronic tinnitus; the auditory brainstem response;sensorineural hearing loss; autoimmune inner ear disease; presbyastasis.
Early hearing detection and intervention (EHDI) is the gold standard for any practising audiologist, and for families of infants and children with hearing impairment. Yet EHDI remains a significant challenge for Africa, and various initiatives are in place to address this gap in transferring policy into practice within the southern African context. Early Detection and Intervention in Audiology: An African Perspective aims to address the diversity of factors in southern Africa that presents unique challenges to teaching and research in this field.
Kraus explores what goes on in our brains when we hear a word--or a chord, or a meow, or a screech. Our hearing brain, Kraus tells us, is vast. It interacts with what we know, with our emotions, with how we think, with our movements, and with our other senses. Auditory neurons make calculations at one-thousandth of a second; hearing is the speediest of our senses. Sound plays an unrecognized role in both healthy and hurting brains. Kraus explores the power of music for healing as well as the destructive power of noise on the nervous system. She traces what happens in the brain when we speak another language, have a language disorder, experience rhythm, listen to birdsong, or suffer a concussion.
This best-selling textbook introduces the fundamentals of audiologic rehabilitation and hearing-related speech-language pathology in an easy-to-read, concise resource for the field of communication sciences and disorders. The text offers creative coverage of theory, clinical practice, and research-based approaches for identifying, diagnosing, and treating hearing and communication-based disorders.
Designed for the undergraduate student with an interest in entering the field of communication sciences and disorders, INTRO is an introduction to the professions of speech-language pathology and audiology and the underlying discipline on which they are based, communication sciences and disorders. This text provides essential information concerning a wide range of communication disorders found in children and adults.
This detailed, evidence-based book includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, information on reporting techniques, and patient profiles across a wide range of child and adult client populations.
Latest findings in clinical audiology with a strong emphasis in new emerging technologies which facilitate and optimize a better assessment of the human patient. The book has been edited with a strong educational perspective (all chapters include an extensive introduction to their corresponding topic and an extensive glossary of terms). The book contains material suitable for graduate students in audiology, ENT, hearing science, and neuroscience.
This 2020 text is the first research methods textbook that is specific to the field of audiology and designed to serve as an academic textbook for audiology graduate students. Includes research methods, analysis of professional literature, evidence-based practice, and capstone research projects.
Provides a solid foundation in anatomical and physiological principles relevant to communication sciences and disorders. Integrating clinical information with everyday experiences to reveal how anatomy and physiology relate to the speech, language, and hearing systems, the text makes complex material approachable even for students with little or no background in anatomy and physiology.
The definitive educational resource on the clinical management of hearing disorders in children. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
This book will serve to meet the needs of those studying Audiology, particularly of those who wish to become hearing aid audiologists. It is an essential and valuable resource that will be of interest as a reference book.
Provides a comprehensive overview of audiology at the introductory level; including such topics as acoustics, anatomy and physiology, sound perception, auditory disorders and the nature of hearing impairment, methods of measurement, screening, clinical assessment and clinical management.
Focuses on the clinical nature of audiology to familiarize students with the scope of the field of audiology and the many challenging questions encountered by an audiologist.
This book provides a comprehensive resource to students in speech-language pathology and audiology as they prepare for their professional careers. It also serves as a timely source of information for both practitioners and faculty, serving as an updated "state of the professions" desk reference.
This book provides training and access to MATLAB®, the computational language developed by MathWorks®, specific to research speech-language pathology and audiology. This book is intended for students, practitioners, and researchers who wish to increase their productivity by incorporating and automating common research procedures and data-analysis calculations, or who wish to develop new tools and methods for their own paradigms and data processing.
Understanding the array and complexity of instrumentation available to audiologists and hearing scientists is important to students, beginning clinicians and even seasoned professionals. This book is a comprehensive and accessible look at instrumentation used in these fields.
This dictionary provides clear and concise explanations of terms used in the field of speech, therapy pathology and relevant terms in related fields including augmentative, alternative communication, hearing, linguistic, medicine, phonetics/phonology and psychology/psychiatry.
This comprehensive book describes the principles of evidence-based practice (EBP) as they apply to the evaluation of audiologic interventions in children and adults. The reader will learn the process of EBP, as well as gain knowledge on the evidence relating to specific interventions.
This textbook seeks to provide a solid foundation in hearing science and clinical audiology, written in a style aiming to make new or difficult concepts relatively easy to understand.
The Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology: Illustrated, is a must-have resource for anyone involved in the field of audiology. It defines over 7,000 terms integral to the profession, practice, and science of audiology and covers both current and historical terms. Practicable illustrations enrich the definitions throughout. Additionally, the text includes an appendix of acronyms, abbreviations, and symbols, an appendix of auditory system disorders, and a user's guide to the dictionary.
The handbook offers a roadmap for audiologists who work in schools or other providers who support school-based audiology services. It provides guidelines and blueprints for creating and maintaining high-quality educational audiology programs. Within this comprehensive and practical resource, there are a range of tools, including assessment guidelines, protocols and forms, useful information for students, families, school staff, and community partners, as well as legal and reference documents. Educational audiologists will also find guidance for achieving full integration into a school staff.
08 8946 7016
+61 4 8885 0811 (text only)
