Subject guides: Audiology Guide: Home

Books on Audiology

Encyclopedia of Audiology and Hearing Research (4 Volume Set)

This 4 volume set presents important research on audiology and hearing. Some of the topics discussed herein include: cochlear implantation; chronic tinnitus; the auditory brainstem response;sensorineural hearing loss; autoimmune inner ear disease; presbyastasis.

Early Detection and Intervention in Audiology

Early hearing detection and intervention (EHDI) is the gold standard for any practising audiologist, and for families of infants and children with hearing impairment. Yet EHDI remains a significant challenge for Africa, and various initiatives are in place to address this gap in transferring policy into practice within the southern African context. Early Detection and Intervention in Audiology: An African Perspective aims to address the diversity of factors in southern Africa that presents unique challenges to teaching and research in this field.

Of Sound Mind

Kraus explores what goes on in our brains when we hear a word--or a chord, or a meow, or a screech. Our hearing brain, Kraus tells us, is vast. It interacts with what we know, with our emotions, with how we think, with our movements, and with our other senses. Auditory neurons make calculations at one-thousandth of a second; hearing is the speediest of our senses. Sound plays an unrecognized role in both healthy and hurting brains. Kraus explores the power of music for healing as well as the destructive power of noise on the nervous system. She traces what happens in the brain when we speak another language, have a language disorder, experience rhythm, listen to birdsong, or suffer a concussion.

Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation

This best-selling textbook introduces the fundamentals of audiologic rehabilitation and hearing-related speech-language pathology in an easy-to-read, concise resource for the field of communication sciences and disorders. The text offers creative coverage of theory, clinical practice, and research-based approaches for identifying, diagnosing, and treating hearing and communication-based disorders.

INTRO: a guide to communication sciences and disorders

Designed for the undergraduate student with an interest in entering the field of communication sciences and disorders, INTRO is an introduction to the professions of speech-language pathology and audiology and the underlying discipline on which they are based, communication sciences and disorders. This text provides essential information concerning a wide range of communication disorders found in children and adults.

Advances in Clinical Audiology

Latest findings in clinical audiology with a strong emphasis in new emerging technologies which facilitate and optimize a better assessment of the human patient. The book has been edited with a strong educational perspective (all chapters include an extensive introduction to their corresponding topic and an extensive glossary of terms). The book contains material suitable for graduate students in audiology, ENT, hearing science, and neuroscience.

Anatomy and Physiology for Speech, Language, and Hearing

Anatomy & Physiology for Speech, Language, and Hearing

Provides a solid foundation in anatomical and physiological principles relevant to communication sciences and disorders. Integrating clinical information with everyday experiences to reveal how anatomy and physiology relate to the speech, language, and hearing systems, the text makes complex material approachable even for students with little or no background in anatomy and physiology.

MATLAB® Primer for Speech Language Pathology and Audiology

This book provides training and access to MATLAB®, the computational language developed by MathWorks®, specific to research speech-language pathology and audiology. This book is intended for students, practitioners, and researchers who wish to increase their productivity by incorporating and automating common research procedures and data-analysis calculations, or who wish to develop new tools and methods for their own paradigms and data processing.

Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology

The Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology: Illustrated, is a must-have resource for anyone involved in the field of audiology. It defines over 7,000 terms integral to the profession, practice, and science of audiology and covers both current and historical terms. Practicable illustrations enrich the definitions throughout. Additionally, the text includes an appendix of acronyms, abbreviations, and symbols, an appendix of auditory system disorders, and a user's guide to the dictionary.

Educational Audiology Handbook

The handbook offers a roadmap for audiologists who work in schools or other providers who support school-based audiology services. It provides guidelines and blueprints for creating and maintaining high-quality educational audiology programs. Within this comprehensive and practical resource, there are a range of tools, including assessment guidelines, protocols and forms, useful information for students, families, school staff, and community partners, as well as legal and reference documents. Educational audiologists will also find guidance for achieving full integration into a school staff.

Audiology Websites

This guide will help you:

Begin your research and find the best scholarly information sources in Audiology
Identify and locate key books, journals and other resources relevant to Audiology that are available via CDU Library
Access specialist databases to find relevant research
Link to useful Australian and international health websites and open access resources

Key Databases in Audiology

Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) This link opens in a new window
Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is a specialized bibliographic database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, fibromyalgia, occupational therapy, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine. This database is designed for physicians, therapists, medical researchers, historians and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative and allied therapies and related subjects.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The latest officially published evidence to support the practice of evidence based medicine. Each Cochrane Review is a peer-reviewed systematic review.
JBI EBP via OvidSP This link opens in a new window
It is a key source of evidence based medicine and health practice in nursing and midwifery, and allied health eg physiotherapy, occupational therapy, podiatry etc. It also contains multi-disciplinary evidence based health care information and tools, including JBI SUMARI for systematic reviews.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete is a leading full-text database of biomedical and health journals. It offers access to 1,553 active full-text medical journals plus comprehensive cover-to-cover indexing. It serves as a valuable research tool for physicians, healthcare practitioners and scholars alike.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Audiology Organisations and Associations

Ask us at the Library

08 8946 7016

+61 4 8885 0811 (text only)

askthelibrary@cdu.edu.au

Book an Appointment

Frequently Asked Questions

Audiology Journals

Audiology today : bulletin of the American Academy of Audiology
Produced by the American Academy of Audiology, and covers all aspects of audiology and related topics on hearing and balance including clinical activities, hearing research, current events, news items, professional issues and events.
Audiology
Produced by the International Society of Audiology, featuring original scientific, clinical, social, & technical reports relating to auditory function & the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, & rehabilitation of hearing disorders.
The Australian and New Zealand journal of audiology
The Journal of the Audiological Society of Australia and New Zealand Audiological Society showcases scientific articles offering original contributions to the field of audiology in such diverse areas as clinical practice, cochlear implants, psychoacoustics, speech perception, paediatric assessment and rehabilitation.
Journal of the Academy of Rehabilitative Audiology
The primary purpose of the Journal is to provide a forum to share research and clinical expertise that supports the Academy's mission to promote excellence in hearing care through the provision of rehabilitative and habilitative services.

OER in Audiology

InTech Open: Audiology
Open access, scientific research in Audiology

Audiology Guide: Home

Books on Audiology

Encyclopedia of Audiology and Hearing Research (4 Volume Set)

Early Detection and Intervention in Audiology

Of Sound Mind

Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation

INTRO: a guide to communication sciences and disorders

Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Sixth Edition

Advances in Clinical Audiology

Evaluating and Conducting Research in Audiology

Anatomy & Physiology for Speech, Language, and Hearing

Pediatric Audiology

Principles of Hearing Aid Audiology

Essentials of Audiology

Clinical audiology: an introduction

Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

MATLAB® Primer for Speech Language Pathology and Audiology

Instrumentation for Audiology and Hearing Science

Dictionary of Communication Disorders

Evidence-Based Practice in Audiology

Audiology Science to Practice

Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology

Educational Audiology Handbook

Audiology Websites

Begin your research and find the best scholarly information sources in Audiology

Identify and locate key books, journals and other resources relevant to Audiology that are available via CDU Library

Access specialist databases to find relevant research

Link to useful Australian and international health websites and open access resources

Key Databases in Audiology

Audiology Organisations and Associations

Ask us at the Library

Audiology Journals

OER in Audiology

Standards & Codes