It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education Guide: Research for Educators
This guide contains links to resources, services and information specific to students undertaking study in the education area.
Action Research for Educators by Daniel R. TomalThis user-friendly book covers the principles and history of action research, ethical and legal considerations, methods for conducting both formal and informal action research, data collection methods, analysis and interpretation, action planning and initiation, and results evaluation.
Publication Date: 2010
Understanding and Interpreting Educational Research by Ronald C. Martella; J. Ron Nelson; Robert L. Morgan; Nancy E. Marchand-Martella; Nancy E. Marchand-MartellaThis user-friendly text takes a learn-by-doing approach to exploring research design issues in education and psychology, offering evenhanded coverage of quantitative, qualitative, mixed-methods, and single-case designs. Readers learn the basics of different methods and steps for critically examining any study's design, data, and conclusions, using sample peer-reviewed journal articles as practice opportunities. The text is unique in featuring full chapters on survey methods, evaluation, reliability and validity, action research, and research syntheses. Pedagogical Features *An exemplar journal article at the end of each methods chapter, together with questions and activities for critiquing it (including, where applicable, checklist forms to identify threats to internal and external validity), plus lists of additional research examples. *Research example boxes showing how studies are designed to address particular research questions. *In every chapter: numbered chapter objectives, bulleted summaries, subheadings written as questions, a running glossary, and end-of-chapter discussion questions. * Electronic Instructor's Resource Manual with Test Bank, provided separately--includes chapter outlines; answers to exercises, discussion questions, and illustrative example questions; and PowerPoints.
Publication Date: 2013
Methods in Educational Research by Marguerite G. Lodico; Dean T. Spaulding; Katherine H. VoegtleMethods in Educational Research Methods in Educational Research is designed to prepare students for the real world of educational research. It focuses on scientifically-based methods, school accountability, and the professional demands of the twenty-first century, empowering researchers to take an active role in conducting research in their classrooms, districts, and the greater educational community. Like the first edition, this edition helps students, educators, and researchers develop a broad and deep understanding of research methodologies. It includes substantial new content on the impact of No Child Left Behind legislation, school reform, quantitative and qualitative methodologies, logic modeling, action research, and other areas. Special features to assist the teaching and learning processes include vignettes illustrating research tied to practice, suggested readings at the end of each chapter, and discussion questions to reinforce chapter content. Praise for the Previous Edition "A new attempt to make this subject more relevant and appealing to students. Most striking is how useful this book is because it is really grounded in educational research. It is very well written and quite relevant for educational researchers or for the student hoping to become one." -PsycCRITIQUES/American Psychological Association "I applaud the authors for their attempt to cover a wide range of material. The straightforward language of the book helps make the material understandable for readers." -Journal of MultiDisciplinary Evaluation
Publication Date: 2010
New Methods of Literacy Research by Peggy Albers (Editor); Teri Holbrook (Editor); Amy Flint (Editor)Literacy researchers at all stages of their careers are designing and developing innovative new methods for analyzing data in a range of spaces in and out of school. Directly connected with evolving themes in literacy research, theory, instruction, and practices--especially in the areas of digital technologies, gaming, and web-based research; discourse analysis; and arts-based research--this much-needed text is the first to capture these new directions in one volume. Written by internationally recognized authorities whose work is situated in these methods, each chapter describes the origin of the method and its distinct characteristics; offers a demonstration of how to analyze data using the method; presents an exemplary study in which this method is used; and discusses the potential of the method to advance and extend literacy research. For literacy researchers asking how to match their work with current trends and for educators asking how to measure and document what is viewed as literacy within classrooms, this is THE text to help them learn about and use the rich range of new and emerging literacy research methods.
Publication Date: 2013
Early Childhood Teacher Research by Kathryn CastleWhat is early childhood teacher research and why is it important? How does a teacher researcher formulate a research question and a plan for doing research? How do teachers apply research results to effect change? Early Childhood Teacher Research is an exciting new resource that will address the sorts of questions and concerns that pre- and in-service teachers of young children frequently have when engaging in teacher research. Accessible and interactive, this book touches upon the important issues every early childhood teacher should know--the uniqueness of early childhood teacher research, reasons for doing it, and how to do it. In this comprehensive guide, Kathryn Castle explores each stage of teacher research, from conceptualization, generating research questions, identifying data sources, gathering and analyzing data, interpreting results, sharing results, to taking action based on results. Special features included in each chapter: Teacher Researcher Journal prompts for the reader to record ideas for research questions and to develop a plan for doing research. From the Field provides rich examples of real life early childhood teacher researchers and their perspectives on doing teacher research. Reflections ask readers to pause and think deeply about relating content to their own situations. Exploration of additional content, websites, resources, and activities are located in each chapter to help the reader go further in constructing their knowledge of teacher research.
This searchable database is managed by the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER) and contains details of more than 13,800 books, articles, conference papers and reports on various aspects of international education from publishers in Australia and abroad.
AARE is the national association for fostering educational research in Australia. AARE facilitates contact between educational researchers and supports the development of high quality educational research.
ACE is the national professional association for educators across all sectors and systems. ACE provides a collective voice for all Australian educators. It advocates, leads and drives positive change and raises the status of the education profession.
The Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER) is an independent, not-for-profit research organisation established in Australia as a company limited by guarantee. ACER’s research focus addresses learning across the life span, from the early years and school education to vocational, adult and workplace education and higher education.
Sage Research Methods Online is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SRMO links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.