Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources across the curriculum
Teaching Primary Science Constructively by 1. Primary science: every teacher, every child -- 2. Constructivist views of learning and teaching science -- 3. Implementing the Australian Curriculum: Science with a constructivist mindset -- 4. Thinking and working scientifically -- 5. Energy -- 6. Electricity -- 7. Movement and force -- 8. Living things and environments -- 9. Living things: science and design and technologies -- 10. Materials and their properties -- 11. Physical and chemical change -- 12. Our place in space -- 13. Our planet Earth -- 14. Weather and our environment -- Coda -- Appendix 1: At a glance: key teaching and learning strategies and other pedagogical topics -- Appendix 2: At a glance: key content knowledge.
Publication Date: 2017
Primary Science by This book provides a combination of practical lesson ideas and theory, focusing particularly on those areas that research has shown most trainee primary teachers struggle with.
Publication Date: 2010
Science curated digital resources
Asia-focused digital content lists created by Asia Education Foundation to support teachers implement the Australian Curriculum for Science.
Primary connections: linking science with literacy
Primary Connections is a set of units aligned to the Australian Curriculum produced by the Australian Academy of Science.
Digital versions of the first set of 31 Primary Connections units are available free for educational, non-commercial use by Australian educators through the National Digital Learning Resources Network (www.scootle.edu.au).
The full set of books are available at the library under Call number 372.35.
The National Library of Australia Digital Classroom
Find teaching resources by year level aligned to the Australian curriculum which use key resources from the National Library collection.
This website is provided by the State Library of Victoria and contains comprehensive easy to follow research and essay writing guides, over 700 digitised primary sources from the State Library of Victoria, a database of teachers' resources with links to the Victorian Essential Learning Standards and the Australian Curriculum.
History curated digital resources
Asia-focused digital content lists created by AEF to support teachers implement the Australian Curriculum for History.
Issues in History Teaching by
Publication Date: 2012
Written by a range of history professionals, including HMIs, this book provides excellent ideas on the teaching, learning and organization of history in primary and secondary schools.
Explore NT history
The Northern Territory Library contains a wealth of Territory stories, and aims to comprehensively collect the documentary record of this history in all its forms. You can search the library collections through the Northern Territory Library catalogue and through digital collections in the Territory Stories database.
English curated digital resources
Asia-focused digital content lists created by Asia Education Foundation to support teachers implement the Australian Curriculum for English.
Free literacy resources and progress tracking tools for grades 5-12, with a US focus
Mathematics curated digital resources
Asia-focused digital content lists created by Asia Education Foundation to support teachers implement the Australian Curriculum for Maths.
The Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers
Find a huge range of resources on the website of Australia’s premier organisation of mathematics educators. It aims to:
support and enhance the work of teachers; promote the learning of mathematics; and represent and promote interests in mathematics education.
Mathematicians in schools
Find hands on activities, worksheets and curriculum information from the CSIRO website.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from art periodicals. Includes full-text coverage for selected periodicals.
The Arts curated digital resources
Asia-focused digital content lists created by Asia Education Foundation to support teachers implement the Australian Curriculum for the Arts.
Great books for kids
Sahara Special by There are two files on Sahara Jones. The one the school counselor keeps is evidence that she's a fifth-grader who needs special education. The other is the book Sahara is secretly writing, her Heart-Wrenching Life Story and Amazing Adventures. The latest chapter in her book unfolds when her mother insists that she be taken out of special Ed. So Sahara is facing fifth grade in the regular classroom, again. But why even try to do the work, Sahara wonders, if everything just winds up in the counselor's file? Enter Miss Pointy, the new fifth-grade teacher. With her eggplant-colored lipstick, and strange subjects such as "Puzzling" and "Time Travel," she's like no other teacher Sahara has ever known. Through Miss Pointy's unusual teaching, storytelling, and quiet support, Sahara finds the courage to overcome her fears and prove which file shows her true self.
Call Number: 028.5 CODE
Publication Date: 2003
Nanberry by The year is 1788, and in the newly created colony at Sydney Cove is struggling for survival. Seen through the eyes of the colony's only surgeon and Nanberry, the Aboriginal boy adopted by Surgeon White who finds himself uncomfortably between two worlds, it is a new perspective on Australia's earliest days of white settlement.
Call Number: 028.5 FREN
Teachers in action
Illustrations of Practice - by career stage
Illustrations of Practice showcase teaching practice from across Australia at the four career stages of the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers.
Provides teachers and school administrators with professional development resources showing excellent teachers and school leaders in action. You need to create an account to use the resources but this is free.
Teacher resources and professional development across the curriculum. Annenberg Learner videos exemplify excellent teaching; all resources can be accessed for free
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education: An Introduction for the Teaching Profession prepares students for the classroom and community environments they will encounter when teaching Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children in urban, rural and remote schools at early childhood, primary and secondary levels. The book addresses many issues and challenges faced by teacher education students and assists them to understand the deeper social, cultural and historical context of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education. This is a unique textbook written by a team of highly regarded Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander academics. Each chapter opens with an engaging anecdote from the author, connecting learning to real-world issues. This is also the first textbook to address Torres Strait Islander education. Written in an engaging and accessible style, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education is an essential resource for teacher education students.
Publication Date: 2012
Pedagogies to Enhance Learning for Indigenous Students by This book describes research undertaken by leading Australian researcher in Indigenous communities. While the chapters are Australian in their focus, the issues that are discussed are similar to those in other countries where there are indigenous people. In most cases, in Australia and internationally, Indigenous learners are not succeeding in school, thus making the transition into work and adulthood quite tenuous in terms of mainstream measures. The importance of being literate and numerate are critical in success in school and life in general, thus making this collection an important contribution to the international literature. The collection of works describes a wide range of projects where the focus has been on improving the literacy and numeracy outcomes for Indigenous students. The chapters take various approaches to improving these outcomes, and have very different foci. These foci include aspects of literacy, numeracy, curriculum leadership, ICTs, whole school planning, policy, linguistics and Indigenous perspectives. Most of the chapters report on large scale projects that have used some innovation in their focus. The book draws together these projects so that a more connected sense of the complexities and diversity of approaches can be gleaned.
Publication Date: 2012
Talk, Text and Technology by Talk, Text and Technology is an ethnographic exploration of language, learning and literacy in remote Indigenous Australia. This unique work traces the historical transformation of one Indigenous group across four generations. The manner in which each generation adopts, adapts and incorporates new innovations and technologies into social practice and cultural processes is illuminated - from first mission contact and the introduction of literacy in the 1930s to youth media practices today. This book examines social, cultural and linguistic practices and addresses the implications for language and literacy socialisation.
Publication Date: 2012
Incorporating Indigenous Knowledges Guide
This is another CDU LibGuide, an Indigenous Knowledges resource for educators which provides links to teaching resources, and mulitmedia
Reports and papers from ACER, an organisation that undertakes and promotes research that focuses on key issues related to the improvement of educational outcomes for Indigenous students.
What works. The work program
'What works. The work program' helps schools to plan and act to improve the educational outcomes of Australian indigenous students. The website offers a range of electronic and print resources.
Living Archive of Aboriginal Languages
Sample classroom activities.
These lessons are the first in a series that aim to showcase the Living Archive of Aboriginal Languages and to demonstrate ways to embed Indigenous knowledges into mainstream learning areas authentically.
Deadly ways to learn [kit]
Western Australia Education Dept.
- Deadly Ideas: A collection of two-way bidialectal teaching strategies from the Deadly Ways to Learn project;
- Deadly Yarns: Anecdotes about Language, Culture, Identity and Power from the Deadly Ways to Learn project.
Call number 428.249915 DEAD
Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.