Popular Databases
You can search the following Databases to find journal articles - many of which will be available in "Fulltext PDF" where you can then print it, save it, or email it.
- CINAHL Plus with FulltextFull-text access to a wide range of nursing and allied health journals.
- Medline with FulltextLarge medical/health database providing full-text access to journal articles indexed in PubMed.
- Nursing Reference CentreFull-text clinical resources for nurses. Includes evidence-based disease & condition information, patient education content, drug & reference information and best practice guidelines.
- Informit Health CollectionFull-text access to Australasian scholarly health research articles, reports and case studies.
- Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH)Independent, up-to-date drug reference resource for Australian health care professionals.
- PubMedMajor medical/health database from the US National Library of Medicine, can be used as a starting point for many health/medical topics.
- ScienceDirectDatabase containing a large amount of medical, psychology and scientific information, much in full-text. Includes access to the Elsevier Freedom Collection.
- Cochrane LibraryEspecially useful for those doing research or wanting to learn about Evidence-Based Healthcare.
- Joanna Briggs InstituteKey source of evidence based medicine and health practice in nursing and allied health. Click on JBI ConNECT+ link to access information resources.
- SocINDEX with Full TextCovers all areas of sociology and related areas of study.
Health Online Tutorial

"Health Online Tutorial" will show you how to search databases to find information for your assignments, at the link below.
Reading lists
Locate your reading list items on E-Reserve by lecturer or unitcode or search the CDU Catalogue to find your Set texts.
Reference Style CDU Harvard
CDU Harvard is an approved referencing style for your school.
Always confirm the required style with your lecturer.
- CDU Harvard Referencing.pdfUpdated 19/7/2011
- CDU Library Referencing GuideOverview and FAQs about referencing at CDU
Contents
This Guide has been created as a tool to help Nursing students find information for Assignments through the Library.
Included are the following:
- Popular Databases - search for journal articles by keyword searching
- Summon - search across library catalogue and databases
- CDU Library catalogue search box - find books located in the Library
- Health Online Tutorial - learn about finding and evaluating information
- Ovid eBooks - search or browse health eBooks
- EBL (eBook Library) - search or browse this eBook collection
- eReserve - find Readings for each unit you are studying
- Google Scholar search box - search for further journal articles
- CDU Referencing Guide - how to apply your school's referencing style
- Library announcements - the latest library news
- CDU Library on Facebook and Twitter
Summon Beta
CDU Library catalogue
Search the Library catalogue for books, DVDs etc.
Search Tips
- Keyword anywhere finds words in the title, author,subjects,notes etc.
- Search for an author select Author from menu
- Use quotation marks,e.g. "biological control" to find an exact phrase.
- Use OR, e.g. "drug abuse" OR "substance abuse" finds either of these phrases.
- Use a dollar sign e.g. Australi$ finds Australia, Australian, Australia's etc.
Ovid eBooks
CDU Library's subscription to Ovid Nursing eBooks provides access to a range of electronic books in the field of nursing and health.
|
EBL - eBook Library
CDU Library's subscription to EBL - eBook Library provides access to a range of electronic books across a variety of subjects.
Click on the below link to search or browse our available eBooks:
Google Scholar for CDU
Charles Darwin University Library links automatically show when you search Google Scholar on campus.
Full text @ CDU shows the full text is available
Find it @ CDU indicates that a print copy may be available – click to see the catalogue
If you are off campus/at home you will need to tell Google Scholar to use CDU as your institution.
Go to Google Scholar and select Scholar preferences. In the Library Links search box, enter Charles Darwin University.
Click on save preferences and your searches at home should now indicate when the resource is available via CDU Library.
Alternatively, view this short video on YouTube to set up your preferences.
Selected new books in nursing
To view/download eBooks you will need to log in with your CDU account details
Liaison Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Liaison Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Library announcements
CDU Library Mobile

Scan this QR code with your mobile phone to go straight to the CDU Library mobile website!
Or use this link:
CDU Library on Facebook
CDU Library is on Facebook!

http://www.facebook.com/CDUniLibrary
"Like" our Facebook page to keep up with the latest library news, or just to say hello - we'd love to hear from you!
CDU Library on Twitter
CDU Library is tweeting!

http://twitter.com/CDUniLibrary
Follow us for the latest library news and tips to help you succeed at CDU. We’ll be tweeting about library events, training, services and information resources.
Please feel free to tweet us with any questions or suggestions – we’d love to hear from you!




Loading...
Loading...
