Skip to main content
Database searching tips
The attached PDF has tips on how to search databases for Systematic Reviews and Research Articles.
Watch this video on Advanced Searching in CINAHL
The 3 main databases recommended for finding Systematic Reviews are:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL is a cumulative index to nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals. CINAHL Plus provides full text access to over 750 journals indexed in CINAHL and incorporates the Pre-CINAHL current awareness dataset.
The latest officially published evidence to support the practice of evidence based medicine.
JBI COnNECT via OvidSP
It is a key source of evidence based medicine and health practice in nursing and midwifery, and allied health eg physiotherapy, occupational therapy, podiatry etc. It also contains multi-disciplinary evidence based health care information.
Key characteristics of a Systematic Review are:
- a clearly stated set of objectives with pre-defined eligibility criteria for studies
- an explicit, reproducible methodology
- a systematic search that attempts to identify all studies that would meet the eligibility criteria
- an assessment of the validity of the findings of the included studies, for example through the assessment of risk of bias
- a systematic presentation, and synthesis, of the characteristics and findings of the included studies.
(Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions, 2011)
Open web sources
Campbell Systematic Reviews is the peer-reviewed online monograph series of systematic reviews prepared under the editorial control of the Campbell Collaboration. Campbell systematic reviews follow structured guidelines and standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in crime and justice, education, international development, and social welfare.
Campbell Systematic Reviews is published bimonthly. Issues contain reviews only, not protocols or title registration documents. These may be retrieved from The Campbell Library.
Systematic Reviews Journal
Systematic Reviews encompasses all aspects of the design, conduct and reporting of systematic reviews. The journal aims to publish high quality systematic review products including systematic review protocols, systematic reviews related to a very broad definition of health, rapid reviews, updates of already completed systematic reviews, and methods research related to the science of systematic reviews, such as decision modeling. The journal also aims to ensure that the results of all well-conducted systematic reviews are published, regardless of their outcome.