Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Guide: Finding Information

This Guide has been created to help Nursing students find Library resources

How do I find information?

The following short video describes the benefits of using library resources and specialist databases, rather than just using Google.

The library search is a simple way to search for information resources, including journal articles. But sometimes you will need to use the additional, discipline-specific features provided by specialist databases to find the information that you need for your assignments.

  • Not all of the resources in specialist databases can be found using Library Search.

Subject-specific databases are ideal for searching the journal literature because they are tailored to a particular discipline, and therefore provide the ability to narrow your search in ways that wouldn't be possible in a general database or search tool like Library Search. They vary from each other on subject area, coverage, content types, geographical location, etc - so consider which database/s will be most likely to contain the kind of information you're looking for.

The peer-review process occurs when articles submitted for publication in scholarly journals are reviewed by experts in the same field. 

When looking for journal articles for assignments, you can limit your searches to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles using the refining options available in Library Search (left hand side of the results screen) and library databases (check the advanced search options).

If you already have some articles that you want to check, you can use Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to find out if a journal is peer reviewed. Just type in the journal title (eg. Medical Journal of Australia) – not the article title – and you will be able to see if the journal is peer-reviewed by the little referee jumper symbol next to the title (peer-reviewed journals are sometimes called refereed journals).

earching for your keywords in Google will usually come up with lots and lots of results. But are they suitable to use as an information source (and reference) in academic assignments?

Use these evaluation criteria to assess online resources:

  1. Currency- when was the work published, is id out of date for the topic?
  2. Relevance- is it detailed analysis, what is the readership level
  3. Authority- who are the authors and their credentials- is it peer reviewed?
  4. Accuracy- can you verity the source, are there other sources cited in the bibliograpgy?
  5. Purpose- is there bias in the work, is there are particular perspective?

Where do I find information and data?

eBooks are an electronic version of print books that you access online. Find eBooks by searching Library Search or by searching the databases listed in this guide. 

eBooks come in a variety of formats. Some are available to read only online, while others can be downloaded and read on portable devices and eBook readers.

Why read an eBook?

  • 24/7 access
  • on your own computer or device
  • download to your device and read offline
  • search within text
  • browse content
  • no library fines 

If you have questions about how to find, access or download eBooks, please askthelibrary@cdu.edu.au

Find out more about eBooks via the eBook guide https://libguides.cdu.edu.au/ebooks/howto

 

Google Scholar for CDU

Change your settings so that Find it @ CDU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

1. Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)

2. Click Library links

3. Type in Charles Darwin University and click the search button

4. Tick Charles Darwin University - Find it @ CDU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote

Click Save

To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings

Charles Darwin University Library links automatically appear when you search Google Scholar on campus.

Alternatively, view this short video on YouTube to set up your preferences.

Google Scholar Search  

The library also holds past exams, which you can view here.

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649