08 8946 7016
+61 4 8885 0811 (text only)
Smart collections are automatically created by Mendeley. They can be found in the left-hand library menu and include:
| Recently Added | Shows references that have been added to your library in the last 30 days. |
| Recently Read | Display references that have PDFs that have been opened in the last 30 days. |
| Favorites | This collection shows reference that have been 'starred' by you. Once starred, a reference is automatically imported to this collection. |
| My Publications | Shows publications that have been authored and claimed by you through a Scopus Author profile. |
| Trash |
Contains any references that have been deleted from your library. Once added to this collection, references can be either 'restored' or 'deleted permanently'. |
How to add to your 'Favorites'
There are two ways to add items to your favourites collection.
The first - click the star symbol in the main library pane so it lights up yellow as shown:
The second way to add items to your favourites collection is to select the check box at the far-left hand side of the reference as shown. And then in the action menu that pops up on the bottom of the screen, select 'Mark as' and 'Favorite'.
How to restore/permanently delete trashed references
From the 'Trash' smart collection select the reference or references using the check boxes on the left hand side.
Once you have selected the reference you can choose to either 'Restore' the record/s back to their previous position, or 'Delete permanently' which will fully remove the record and any PDFs/annotations from your library forever.
While 'Smart Collections' are automatically created by the system, you can create your own custom 'Collections' to better organise and keep track of your library.
To create a smart collection, simply click the faded 'New Collection' title and a box will pop up to name your new collection.
Once named, you can drag and drop or click-to-select references into the new collection.
To edit your collection details and access, select the three dots on the right of the unit name in the collection menu.
From this menu you can rename, delete, and export the collection. You can also use this menu to create a 'New Sub-collection.
As shown above, a sub-collection acts as a folder within a folder. You can sort references further into sub-categories such as unit references, being specified by assignments, or research topics by areas of discussion.
'Groups' are similar to ''Collections' and help you organise your references into categories. However, the purpose of 'Groups' is to share the references with other people.
To begin, you first need to set up a group. Similar to 'Collections' this can be done by clicking the field in the left-hand menu and naming your group in the type box provided.
Once the group has been named and created, you can add references to the library by clicking the check boxes or by dragging and dropping the references from the main library.
You can manage your group by clicking the three dots next to the name in the left-hand side menu.
From here you can also rename or delete your group. Please note if you created the group and want to delete the group, you delete it for all of your group and all of the references and annotations will be removed.
When managing the group you will be shown a pop-up window. This window will allow you to add, remove and manage access for members of this group.
To invite new people to the group, select 'Invite Members' and fill out the form with their email addresses.
