Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This site provides a wide range of resources, ideas and ICT web tools to be used in classrooms. It is organised into discipline areas including history, science, and citizenship as well as educational games, early years education and classroom management.
Contains a wide range of learning resources that support a variety of curriculum areas in the F-12 years.
ABC Education provides free educational resources for primary and secondary students.
11 Essentials for Excellent Digital Portfolios
Ideas on how to get the most out of digital portfolios.
E-Tivities : The Key to Active Online Learning by The world of learning and teaching is at a watershed; confronted by challenges to previous educational models. One learning future lies in impactful, purposeful, active online activities, or 'e-tivities', that keep learners engaged, motivated, and participating. Grounded in the author's action research, E-tivities, 2nd Edition assuredly illustrates how technologies shape and enhance learning and teaching journeys. nbsp; In this highly practical book, Gilly Salmon maintains her exceptional reputation, delivering another powerful guide for academics, teaching professionals, trainers, designers and developers in all disciplines. This popular text has been comprehensively updated; addressing key technological changes since 2002, offering fresh case studies and 'Carpe Diem' - a unique approach to learning design workshops. nbsp; Readers will find E-tivities, 2nd Edition a wonderful resource on its own or as a companion to the author's bestselling e-Moderating, 3rd Edition.nbsp; nbsp; Find e-tivities on the web at e-tivities.com or connect at gillysalmon.com
Publication Date: 2013
Is Technology Good for Education? by Digital technologies are a key feature of contemporary education. Schools, colleges and universities operate along high-tech lines, while alternate forms of online education have emerged to challenge the dominance of traditional institutions. According to many experts, the rapid digitization of education over the past ten years has undoubtedly been a 'good thing'. Is Technology Good For Education? offers a critical counterpoint to this received wisdom, challenging some of the central ways in which digital technology is presumed to be positively affecting education. Instead Neil Selwyn considers what is being lost as digital technologies become ever more integral to education provision and engagement. Crucially, he questions the values, agendas and interests that stand to gain most from the rise of digital education. This concise, up-to-the-minute analysis concludes by considering alternate approaches that might be capable of rescuing and perhaps revitalizing the ideals of public education, while not denying the possibilities of digital technology altogether.
Publication Date: 2016
Engaged, Connected, Empowered by This reader-friendly book offers practical strategies and digital resources that will help K-12 students succeed in the 21st century. You will learn how to teach students to collaborate and make connections, filter primary source information, create products to demonstrate learning, develop a digital toolkit, and more! Special Features: Digital resources are included to help you implement the ideas in this book. Personal anecdotes are provided from the authors' own successes and failures using technology. The book is organized by topic, so you can skip around and read or reread the parts that are relevant to you. The authors provide suggestions for teachers at different comfort levels with technology--novice, intermediate, and expert. The book's accompanying Facebook page includes additional content and links to complement the book (http://facebook.com/EngagedConnectedEmpowered).
Publication Date: 2014
Using Technology with Classroom Instruction That Works by Technology is ubiquitous, and its potential to transform learning is immense. The first edition of Using Technology with Classroom Instruction That Works answered some vital questions about 21st century teaching and learning: What are the best ways to incorporate technology into the curriculum? What kinds of technology will best support particular learning tasks and objectives? How does a teacher ensure that technology use will enhance instruction rather than distract from it? This revised and updated second edition of that best-selling book provides fresh answers to these critical questions, taking into account the enormous technological advances that have occurred since the first edition was published, including the proliferation of social networks, mobile devices, and web-based multimedia tools. It also builds on the up-to-date research and instructional planning framework featured in the new edition of Classroom Instruction That Works, outlining the most appropriate technology applications and resources for all nine categories of effective instructional strategies: * Setting objectives and providing feedback * Reinforcing effort and providing recognition * Cooperative learning * Cues, questions, and advance organizers * Nonlinguistic representations * Summarizing and note taking * Assigning homework and providing practice * Identifying similarities and differences * Generating and testing hypotheses Each strategy-focused chapter features examples--across grade levels and subject areas, and drawn from real-life lesson plans and projects--of teachers integrating relevant technology in the classroom in ways that are engaging and inspiring to students. The authors also recommend dozens of word processing applications, spreadsheet generators, educational games, data collection tools, and online resources that can help make lessons more fun, more challenging, and--most of all--more effective.
Publication Date: 2012
Pedagogy before technology
Game based learning
The Gamification of Learning and Instruction by Praise for The Gamification of Learning and Instruction "Kapp argues convincingly that gamification is not just about adding points, levels and badges to an eLearning program, but about fundamentally rethinking learning design. He has put together a brilliant primer for learning professionals on how to gamify learning, packed with useful advice and examples." --ANDERS GRONSTEDT, president, Gronstedt Group "After reading this book, you'll never be able to design boring learning again." --CONNIE MALAMED, author, Visual Language For Designers; author/creator of The eLearning Coach Blog "Engaging, informative and complete; if you need to understand anything about instructional game design, this is the book you need. It provides the right amount of academic evidence, practical advice and insightful design tips to have you creating impactful learning in no time." --SHERRY ENGEL, associate director learning technology, Penn Medicine Center for Innovation and Learning "What Karl Kapp has done with this book is looked at games and learning from every possible angle....he provocatively asks questions that the learning community needs to answer, like 'Do our design processes still work?' and 'Are we really meeting the needs of today's learners?' This book may make you anxious, make you laugh, or make you angry. But one thing it will definitely do is make you think." --RICH MESCH, experiential learning guru, Performance Development Group
Publication Date: 2012
Sweet Search is a search engine for students which uses sites vetted by educators.
Boolify - Kidzsearch
Boolify is a search tool which teaches students how to use a search engine properly. It is part of the KidzSearch site that provides a special search environment made just for kids using Google's 'strict' filtering mode.
Million Short makes it easy to discover sites that just don't make it to the top of the search engine results. It removes the top 1 million (or 1000 or 100) most popular web sites from its index.
Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.