Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Guide: Search Tools

This guide contains links to resources, services and information specific to students undertaking study in the education area.

Explore eBooks

   

Find eBooks using

Library Search or browse the Education category at Ebook Central

 

 

Read more at the eBooks Guide.

Start searching

Developing a search strategy

Are you not sure where to start with your assignment? There are a few steps you can follow to gain a better understanding of your assignment question and to find keywords to start researching your topic.

This document provides guidance on how to develop keywords and how to develop a search strategy using the keywords (make sure you have a look at the example on page 2).

Google vs Databases

Choosing a search tool

Where to start? Even if you require scholarly material (articles and books) for your assignment, Google is a good place to start your research. Use it to get an overview of your topic and learn the relevant language.Then use that language to search using other tools. Each search tool is useful for different purposes.

  • Library Search searches across our collections: books, eBooks, and journal article databases
  • Google Scholar picks up additional information including scholarly literature that is not in our local collection but it excludes our books and eBooks
  • A--Z Databases allow you to target searches of all the journal articles available via the Library

  • Advanced Google or Google searches will include government sources relevant to your unit but you need to evaluate these sources to ensure they are credible
  • Subject Libguides provide links to particular databases and sources that have been evaluated by your Liaison Librarian as relevant to your topic of study.

Library Search

Library Search at CDU Library

Google Scholar for CDU

Change your settings so that Find it @ CDU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

1. Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)

2. Click Library links

3. Type in Charles Darwin University and click the search button

4. Tick Charles Darwin University - Find it @ CDU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote

Click Save

To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings

Charles Darwin University Library links automatically appear when you search Google Scholar on campus.

Alternatively, view this short video on YouTube to set up your preferences.
Google Scholar Search
Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649