Installing EndNote
File Downloads
You should also remove any previous versions of EndNote before installing EndNote X5.
Download EndNote X5 for Windows and Macintosh
Styles, filters and connections
These should be saved into the folder where the EndNote styles, filters and connection files have been stored (usually in the Program Files folder on the C Drive).
If you experience any problems downloading the EndNote Software please email us for assistance: endnote@cdu.edu.au
For instruction on using EndNote please consult the Tutorials and Guides LibGuide
CDU reference styles
After downloading the EndNote software you also need to add the CDU referencing styles (and filters and connections)
From the link above click the ‘download CDU styles’ link. Choose ‘open’. Double click on the CDU styles 2011 folder and copy all the styles.
You must insert the style files in the correct folder where your copy of EndNote has been installed. For Windows, this will usually be C:\ProgramFiles\EndNoteX5\Styles. Look in the EndNote X5 folder in your Applications folder if you use a Macintosh. If you do not save the styles correctly you will not be able to access them from the Import Manager when using EndNote.
Once you have saved the CDU styles (same goes for filters and connections) you need to set preferences to point to the correct folder.
In EndNote, click on Edit on the top menu bar. From the dropdown menu select Preferences.
When the EndNote Preferences window opens, click on Folder Locations on the left-hand side.
This will show you the current settings for your personal folders. If you have installed EndNote on your computer for the first time, it will probably look something like this

You should then click on ‘Select folder’ for styles and ensure you have selected the correct location of your CDU styles ie: C:\ProgramFiles\EndNoteX5\Styles. This process will then allow you to 'select another style' in your EndNote library and choose the preferred style for your school ie: CDU-Harvard.
Getting help
If you have any questions or issues related to downloading or using the EndNote Software please email us for assistance: endnote@cdu.edu.au
What is EndNote?
EndNote is a Bibliographic Management tool which allows you to add references manually or automatically from Library databases to your EndNote Library.
References added to the EndNote software are stored in an EndNote Library and can be inserted in a Word document as you write your essay or research. EndNote then creates a Reference list at the end of your document.
EndNote allows you to organise your research and collect your citations into a searchable library.

Guide to Downloading Endnote for Windows
EndNote Overview
Endnote Online Tutorial
1 hour class demonstrating how to build an EndNote library by using manual entry, exporting references from databases and adding citations to a Word document. This class will be offered Online using the Collaborate software. After registration you will be sent a link and instructions for setting up the room and audio options.
-
Wednesday, May 16, 2012: 4pm Register
1 hour class demonstrating how to build an EndNote library by using manual entry, exporting references from databases and adding citations to a Word document. -
Wednesday, May 30, 2012: 4pm register
1 hour class demonstrating how to build an EndNote library by using manual entry, exporting references from databases and adding citations to a Word document.
Endnote Introduction
1 hour class demonstrating how to build an EndNote library by using manual entry, exporting references from databases and adding citations to a Word document.
-
Monday, May 14, 2012: 11am registerIntroduction to building a reference library using EndNote software
-
Tuesday, May 29, 2012: 10am registerIntroduction to building a reference library using EndNote software
-
Tuesday, Jun 12, 2012: 1pm registerIntroduction to building a reference library using EndNote software
Endnote Troubleshooting
This class builds on the skills learnt in the Introductory class. Focus will be on answering specific questions from students but will also cover exporting citations into EndNote using a filter, online searching from within EndNote, Smart groups and working with your Word document.
-
Friday, May 25, 2012: 9.30am RegisterA question and answer session which will also include further information on creating bibliographies, CWYW using Word 2007, selecting various referencing styles and editing citations
-
Tuesday, Jun 5, 2012: 10am registerA question and answer session which will also include further information on creating bibliographies, CWYW using Word 2007, selecting various referencing styles and editing citations
-
Thursday, Jun 21, 2012: 10am registerA question and answer session which will also include further information on creating bibliographies, CWYW using Word 2007, selecting various referencing styles and editing citations


Loading...
