Skip to main content

EndNote Guide: Combining Thesis Chapters

EndNote is a reference organiser and writing solution. It is the ideal, time-saving software to enable students to collect references and then use this library to add citations to a Word document

Combining Thesis Chapters

Step 1  Make a Copy of Each Chapter

  • Make a copy of each chapter as a separate Word document so you can always return to the originals if something goes wrong. Give them a name such as chap1copy.doc, chap2copy.doc and so on.

Step 2  Unformat Citations

  • If you've been using Instant Formatting, each chapter will have formatted in-text citations like this: (Jones, 1957), with a bibliography at the end of each chapter.
  • In Word, open up each one of your chapter copies and use the EndNote tool Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations (previously called Unformat Citations).This should change any citations to their unformatted form to look like this: {Jones, 1957 #4} and the bibliography will disappear.

Step 3  Combine the Chapters

  • When your thesis, chapter, etc. is complete you are ready to merge all chapters into a single document.
  • Select all the text (try Ctrl+A) in your copy of chapter 2 and paste it at the end of your copy of chapter 1. Repeat these steps for the remaining chapter copies until the thesis is in one document. When you have finished, save this document as your master copy of the thesis, for example, .thesis_master.doc
  • Open thesis_master.doc and on the EndNote tab in Word choose Update Citations and Bibliography (previously called Format Bibliography). EndNote will format all your citations and create a bibliography at the end of the document. Save your changes.
    Note: when you unformat citations it disables instant formatting in Word. If you would like to restore this, on the EndNote tab click on the small down arrow to the right of Bibliography (in earlier versions this was called Format Bibliography) so you can change your preferences. When the dialogue box opens up, click on the Instant Formatting tab, click on Turn On and then on OK.

Final Step  Remove Field Codes

  • When you are ready to submit your thesis the final step is to remove the EndNote field codes. These codes link your documents with your EndNote library.
    Using the EndNote tab in Word, choose Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Plain Text (previously called Remove Field Codes).
    A new copy of your thesis will be created without links to EndNote. Save this document with a new name such as thesis_unlinked.doc and submit this copy.
    This is not your thesis_master.doc. Should you need to make any changes to your references you must use thesis_master.doc which is still linked to EndNote. When you are happy, remove the field codes and save another 'clean' copy called, for example, thesis_unlinked2.doc

Useful Links

See also EndNote Guide from:

University of Western Australia

ABN 54 093 513 649 • Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • CRICOS Provider No: 00300K • RTO Provider No: 0373