Skip to main content

EndNote Guide: FAQs

EndNote is a reference organiser and writing solution. It is the ideal, time-saving software to enable students to collect references and then use this library to add citations to a Word document

Corporate Authors

If you are using Corporate or departmental documents then you will need to format the author field in a different way.
By adding a comma after the author EndNote will create your reference as it is written instead of moving the last word or Surname to the front.

ie: Charles Darwin University,

Open URL path

Setting up EndNote to use Open URL

  • This is a one-time procedure. When setup you can ask EndNote to search for fulltext articles and attach them to citations already in your library. It works with the CDU connection files and links to our subscribed databases.

1. On the main screen, use the dropdown Edit menu; select Preferences.

2. From the menu, select Find full text.

3. If you use the PubMed database then check this box as well.

4. In the Open URL Path box, delete what's there. Copy this link and paste into box:

https://cdu-edu-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/61CDU/61CDU_SP

  • Do not add anything into the 'Authenticates with' box.

5. Click on Apply and OK to save your choices!

Can't see the EndNote Toolbar in Word?

Creating superscript numbers for Vancouver

In EndNote choose Edit, Output styles, Edit CDU-Vancouver.

Click on the Templates tab under Citations.

 

Remove the brackets around Bibliography Number, highlight it and then click on the A1 in the toolbar above.

 

When you save the changes it will create a new style ‘cdu-Vancouver_v8+copy’.

You will then have to’ select another style’ from the list and choose the Vancouver copy.

Author initials in text citations (APA 6th)

Backup your library

It is a good practice to back up your library whenever you make changes. There are two ways of backing up your library:

1. To use the Save a Copy command to create an exact copy of your library. Here are the steps: 

  • With a library open, choose Save a Copy from the File menu.

  • You don’t have to rename the new library but just choose where to save it.

  • Click Save and EndNote creates a copy of the library.

The new library does not open, it is simply saved to disk, where you can then open it with EndNote. EndNote leaves your original library open as it was before the command was chosen. Note: The Save a Copy command creates a [library name].ENL file as well as a [library name].DATA folder for the new library, and copies all necessary files and figures to it.

2. To use the Compressed Library command to save a copy of your library and .data folder together in a compressed file (.enlx) which can be easily restored later by opening it in EndNote. Here are the steps:

  • From the File menu, select Compressed Library (.enlx) and then Create.

  • Select the folder or drive where you are saving which will then give you a Compressed EndNote Library (filename.enlx).
  • You can also use this option to email a copy of you library to yourself or a colleague.

Online Search via EndNote

You can search a variety of databases using the EndNote search interface. To do this you need a connection file. A connection file is a piece of software that allows you to search a database over the Internet, without leaving EndNote. You can then select references from the database and import them directly into your EndNote library. This feature is available but the results are generally better if you search within the database and then export the citations into your EndNote Library.

These passwords are required to access the listed databases:

EBSCOhost Databases
username: s3684040.main.z3950
password: ebsco

Expanded Academic Databases
username: ntu

Informit Databases
username: ntuni2
password: 420248

Libraries Australia
username: XNTUEND
password: amicus3

Top 10 things to remember about EndNote

Top 10 Things to Remember about EndNote

 

1. EndNote does not replace the style manual. It will make it easier to follow the manual, but you will still need the manual.

 

2. Garbage in, garbage out. So check your import results, especially when working with sources such as Google Scholar that may have inconsistent data.

 

3. Use one EndNote library for all of your writing. It will make your life easier in the long run.

 

4. Use the Edit Citation command to make changes to citations in documents. Trying to make changes on the screen risks corrupting the EndNote citations.

 

5. If you are using footnote styles, your word processor controls the numbering and placement of the footnote and EndNote controls the formatting. So you will first need to insert the footnote using your word processor, then insert the EndNote cita-tion into that footnote.

 

6. EndNote provides five ways of importing references:

·         Online search

·         Direct export

·         Importing text files

·         Importing PDF files

·         Through the Capture button in EndNote Web, which can import one record at a time into either an EndNote or an EndNote Web library.

The method you use will depend on which databases you need to work with. Talk to your librarian about searching online databases. They can tell you which databases you have available to you and the best way of searching them.

7. Online search uses the Z39.50 Internet protocol, a standard protocol that was developed just for searching and retrieving bibliographic data. It has limitations.

                   It does not work through proxy servers.
                   It does not use the same port your browser uses.
                   It is not the same protocol your browser uses.

8. EndNote can be customized.

9. For collaboration, use the EndNote Web feature set in EndNote to store references online where your entire project team can access them.

10. Back up your EndNote Libraries.

Using Groups

Using Groups

EndNote is able to create groups which allow you to organise your references into subsets without the need to create separate EndNote libraries.

Groups can be renamed or deleted. They can also be moved into different group sets by dragging and dropping. References can be deleted from a group but they will always remain available in All References. The same reference can be added to several different groups.

Adding a new Group Set

From the Groups menu choose Create Group Set, or you can right click on My Groups and select Create Group Set. Rename the new group set which will appear in the My Library.

Adding a new Group to your Group Set

Right hand click on the group set and select Create Group. Alternatively, go to the Groups menu, and select Create Group. Name your group as desired. You can create several groups under a group set.
To add references to a group, select the required references, go to the Groups menu and select Add References To and then choose the required group. You can also right click on the selected reference and select Add References To and choose the required group. Alternatively, you can drag and drop the references to a group.

Smart Groups

When new references are added to the library, they are searched by each of the smart groups. If the references fit the search criteria they are automatically added to that group.

To create a Smart Group, right click on the group you would like your smart group to be placed and select Create Smart Group. A search box will appear. Enter a name for your smart group, then enter your search term(s) (it is useful to give your smart group the same name as your search term). Click Create. Your new smart group will appear under the Group Set with the retrieved references. Alternatively, open the Groups menu and select Create Smart Group.

To edit the search terms for the Smart Group, right click on the group name in the Groups Pane and select Edit Group. Make your changes and click on Save. Smart groups can be distinguished from other groups by the magnifying glass icon next to them.

 

Usage problems?

Common problems using EndNote software:

  • Corporate authors not displaying properly? Place a comma after the name ie: Charles Darwin University,
  • Field codes showing ie: {Jacobson, 2004 #12} Alt + F9 will fix this
  • Is your bibliographic style 'wrong' or 'messed up'? Try reformatting your document using the 'Update citations and bibliography' function from the EndNote toolbar.

OpenOffice Writer

OpenOffice.org Writer
EndNote installs Cite While You Write commands in the OpenOffice.org version 3 Writer. CWYW commands appear on
an EndNote menu. Cite While You Write allows EndNote to format citations and create a bibliography for the document that
is open in OpenOffice.org Writer. You can format, unformat, and reformat a document without exiting your word processor.
In order for Cite While You Write to install properly, the OpenOffice.org 3.x suite must be correctly installed on your
computer prior to installing EndNote. You must close all OpenOffice.org applications before installingCite While You Write, including the OpenOffice.org Quickstarter.

For further information search the Getting Started Guide below for 'OpenOffice'

ABN 54 093 513 649 • Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • CRICOS Provider No: 00300K • RTO Provider No: 0373