It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Medical Laboratory Science Subject Guide: Home
Resources relating to health and medical-related sciences and specifically for students intending to work in diagnostic pathology laboratories, medical research, and the medical or allied health care profession.
Provides access to a range of eBooks across various subject areas. Note: You can print up to 20% of the pages of any ebook.
You can copy/paste an additional 5% of the pages of any ebook.
ie: Search for 'pharmacology'. This will currently give you 65 titles. Click on the 'Table of contents' tab to search each chapter or choose the 'read online' option to scroll through the entire book.
New from 'The Conversation'
Links to key databases
Links to relevant journals
Library Search-search across library catalogue and databases
CDU-Harvard and APA 6th referencing guides
New book titles
Contact details for your Liaison Librarian
Textbook of Blood Banking and Transfusion Medicine by Sally V. Rudmann
Call Number: 615.39 TEXT
Publication Date: 2005
This comprehensive book on transfusion practices and immunohematology offers concise, thorough guidelines on the best ways to screen donors, store blood components, ensure safety, anticipate the potentially adverse affects of blood transfusion, and more. It begins with the basics of genetics and immunology, and then progresses to the technical aspects of blood banking and transfusion. Chapters are divided into sections on: Basic Science Review; Blood Group Serology; Donation, Preparation, and Storage; Pretransfusion Testing; Transfusion Therapy; Clinical Considerations; and Safety, Quality Assurance, and Data Management. Developed specifically for medical technologists, blood bank specialists, and residents, the new edition conforms to the most current standards of the American Association of Blood Banks (AABB). Expert Opinion essays, written by well-known, frequently published experts, discuss interesting topics of research or new advances in the field. Important terms are defined in the margins of the pages on which they appear, enabling readers to easily check the meaning of an unfamiliar term where it appears in context. Margin notes highlight important concepts and points, remind readers of previously discussed topics, offer an alternative perspective, or refer readers to other sources for further information. Material conforms to the most recent AABB standards for the most accurate, up-to-date information on immunohematology. Advanced concepts, beyond what is required for entry-level practice, are set apart from the rest of the text so readers can easily differentiate between basic and advanced information. A new chapter on Hematopoietic Stem Cells and Cellular Therapy (chapter 19) provides cutting-edge coverage of cellular therapy and its relevance to blood-banking. New content has been added on molecular genetics, component therapy, and International Society of Blood Transfusion (ISBT) nomenclature, as well as the latest information on HIV, hepatitis, quality assurance, and information systems. Coverage of new technologies, such as nucleic acid technology and gel technology, keeps readers current with advances in the field.
Wheater's Functional Histology by Barbara Young; Alan Stevens; James S. Lowe; John W. Heath; Philip J. Deakin
Call Number: 611.018 YOUN
Publication Date: 2006
This best-selling atlas contains over 900 images and illustrations to help you master the microscopic structure of normal human tissues and to relate structure to function. It includes sections on general cell structure and replication, basic tissue types, and the histology of each of the major body systems.
An Introduction to Cytopathology by Michael Sheaff; Naveena Singh
Publication Date: 2013
Cytopathology: An Introduction is a succinct book which guides the trainee through the hurdles of early cytology practice and can also be used throughout the career as an aide memoire by the more experienced. With numerous illustrations to enthuse the reader and make cytological practice a more enjoyable and educational experience, Cytopathology: An Introduction also highlights points of diagnostic difficulty, particularly with regard to the differentiation of neoplastic from non-neoplastic disease. Each chapter of Cytopathology: An Introduction starts by detailing the main methods available appropriate to the clinical situation, followed by descriptions of the relevant cytological appearances and diagnostic pitfalls. Topics covered include the brain and cerebrospinal fluid; pulmonary cytology; serous fluids; thyroid gland; lymph nodes; salivary glands; gastrointestinal and hepatopancreaticobiliary tracts; urinary tract and retroperitoneal cytology; female genital tract; breast; soft tissue, bones and joints; and skin. Cytopathology: An Introduction will be an invaluable reference guide to histo- and cytopathology trainees, as well as those preparing for post-graduate examinations and consultants who want a refresher. A quick reference, concise but precise, Cytopathology: An Introduction provides practical and helpful information on the salient cytological features of any condition that may present in routine cytopathology.
Essential Haematology by Victor Hoffbrand; Paul Moss
Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests by Diana Nicoll; Stephen J. McPhee; Michael Pignone; Chuanyi Mark Lu
Publication Date: 2012
A quick reference guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 commonly used diagnostic tests COVERS: Basic principles of diagnostic testing, common blood, urine and cerebrospinal fluid laboratory tests, therapeutic drug monitoring, microbiologic test selection and interpretation and diagnostic imaging tests by body system, electrocardiography, and differential diagnosis tables & algorithms Tests used in internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology and obstetrics and gynecology INCLUDES: Costs and risks of diagnostic tests Evidence-based information Diseases associated with abnormal test results, including test sensitivities Full literature citations with PubMed (PMID) numbers included for each reference More than 24 NEW clinical laboratory test entries, 6 NEW differential diagnosis tables 5 NEW diagnostic algorithms NEW sections on point-of-care testing, provider-performed microscopy, pharmacogenetic testing, and diagnostic echocardiography
Statistical methods in diagnostic medicine by Zhou, Ziao-hua