Subject guides: Medical Laboratory Science: Additional Resources

Websites

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Authoritative information and statistics from the Australian Government to promote health and wellbeing.
Department of Health and Ageing
Entrez-Life Sciences search engine (NLM)
Guide to labelling drugs and poisons
Health Insite
Wide range of up-to-date and reliable information on health and wellbeing.
Intute
Helping you find the best resources for study and research.
Medical Journal of Australia
eMJA
Medline Plus (US National Library of Medicine)
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
The Merck Manuals are a series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers.
My Language-Serving Multicultural Australia
Information on Health Services in a range of languages
PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It includes PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
RCPA Manual of Pathology
Web resources for health professionals
Virology Journal
Lab Tests Online

Health Websites

ABC Health & Wellbeing
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Authoritative information and statistics to promote better health and wellbeing.
Australian Sports Commission-Nutrition
Links to sports nutrition information
Scheduling of medicines and poisons
In accordance with the Standard for the Uniform Scheduling of Drugs and Poisons (SUSMP)
Health Direct Australia
A government-funded service, providing quality, approved health information and advice.
Therapeutic Goods Administration
Australia's regulatory authority for therapeutic goods.
Web resources for health professionals
Interesting web resources for health professionals
Department of Health (Commonwealth)

Clinical Trials

Australian Clinical Trial Handbook-TGA
A simple, practical guide to the conduct of clinical trials to International standards of Good Clinical Practice (GCP) in the Australian context
Australian Clinical Trials
National Health and Medical Research Council
Clinical Trials-US National Institutes of Health
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Australian Cancer Trials
This is a free information service that displays the latest clinical trials in cancer care, including trials that are currently recruiting new participants.

Commonwealth and NT Legislation

NT Legislation
Current NT Legislation database

AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
provides full text access to Australian legal materials including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access.

Department of Health-Poisons Control
Environmental Health unit: comprises a number of discrete services including Poisons Control
Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act (NT)
An Act to regulate the sale, supply, storage, possession and use of poisons and dangerous drugs, and for related purposes.
Poisons Standard 2022 (SUSMP No.35)
The Poisons Standard February 2022, which, under section 4 above contains the Standard for the Uniform Scheduling of Medicines and Poisons No. 35 (“the Standard” or “the SUSMP”), is made under paragraph 52D(2)(b) of the Therapeutic Goods Act 1989, and is a compilation of decisions made under section 52D of the same Act.
Therapeutic Goods Amendment Act 2001 (National)
An Act to apply as laws of Tasmania laws of the Commonwealth relating to therapeutic goods, to regulate the supply and use in Tasmania of certain therapeutic goods, to provide for related matters and to repeal the Therapeutic Goods and Cosmetics Act 1976.

Drug information websites

There are also numerous websites available on the Internet such as eDrugInfo or MedlinePlus Drugs and the online version of the Australian Government's Schedule of Pharmaceutical Benefits better known as PBS. Drug Interactions: Cytochrome P450 Drug Interaction Table produced by the Indiana University School of Medicine.

This table is designed as a hypothesis testing, teaching and reference tool for physicians and researchers interested in drug interactions that are the result of competition for, or effects on the human cytochrome P450 system.