Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art and Design
Dressing a galaxy : The costumes of Star Wars Trisha Biggar presents the elaborate and beautiful costumes that decorate the sets of the six Star Wars films. The text includes everything from pre-production sketches to screen renderings of costumes from each movie, with commentary by designers and actors every step of the way.
Call Number: 791.4375 BIGG
You Can Do a Graphic Novel From the Publisher: Get that story out of your head and onto paper! A guide to creating graphic novels-presented in the form of a graphic novel-from a veteran in the field! In You Can Do a Graphic Novel, Barbara Slate guides aspiring graphic novelists through the same process she learned in her early days working for Marvel and DC Comics-a process she has simplified for the classes she teaches and for the syndicated column she writes. Written in the form of a graphic novel itself, the book covers all the components and shows readers how to: Find their own drawing style regardless of ability; Create memorable characters, compelling plots and subplots, and engaging dialog; Traverse the graphic novel business.
Call Number: 741.51 SLAT
Cars and Motoring
Top Gear 100 Maddest Cars From amphibious automobiles to record-breaking supercars, Top Gear's 100 Maddest Cars is a truly bonkers collection of the craziest cars we've ever encountered. From the amazing and ambitious to the downright rubbish, this book is packed with facts and stats on the strangest things on four (and sometimes more) wheels.
Call Number: 629.222 TOPG
Total Wheelspin: Car Culture, Quizzes, Myths and Motoring Madness Whether debating the pros and cons of the chosen transport of superheroes, musing on why people (well, men) hang their arms out the car window, revealing the third-bestselling car of all time, or comparing the school run to taking on Vettel and Alonso in the Formula One Grand Prix, each part is so compelling you simply will not be able to stop turning the pages until you reach the end. And you will not be able to stop yourself laughing out loud at the obscure facts, bizarre anecdotes, and vehicular follies of the motoring world as seen through the eyes of the very funny Tony Davis.
Call Number: 629.2220207 DAVI
Music and Film
1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die Pays homage to the many forces at work in the musical world and a multitude of genres - a vast quote of rock and pop, but also slices of rock 'n' roll, jazz, funk, punk, disco, soul, hip hop, experimental, world music and a wide cross section of dance music.
Call Number: 780.904 ONET
1001 movies you must see before you die Listing the best movies ever made, and all the best reasons for seeing them, this film guide is divided into genre sections. Leading US and UK film critics guide you through 1001 must-see movies, explaining just why you should see each film.
Call Number: 791.4375 ONET
So You Want to Be a Lawyer? MORAL & SOCIAL PURPOSE OF EDUCATION. AUSTRALIAN. This is the first comprehensive Australian guide written for people who are contemplating enrolling in a law degree, whether as an undergraduate or as a postgraduate - as well as for those who are already enrolled but wondering why, or where their law degree may lead them. So You Want To Be a Lawyer? provides all of the information any prospective law student will need to make an informed and intelligent decision about the best place for them to study, what to study, and where it all might lead.
Call Number: 340.02394 WEIS
So You Want to Be a Teacher? This book is designed to assist prospective, and even current, teaching students in making the right decision about their future career. The authors draw on their combined experience as classroom teacher, principal and systems leader to paint an engaging, practical and comprehensive picture of what it is to be a teacher -whether primary or secondary, in whatever educational sector. The book explores why you might want to be a teacher, why you might not, and the qualities of a successful teacher, so that you can consider whether you fit the profile. The authors describe what teachers actually do with their time, and the pay and conditions. They look at how you will train to be teacher, and how you might specialise. They explain what employers will expect of you, and how you can ensure you succeed, and offer a peek into the future, when you might be graduating. And importantly, they provide the real life account of one teacher's journey, and the experience of another in beginning teaching.
Call Number: 331.70235 RIDD
So You Want to Be a Vet? So you want to be a vet? is written for prospective and current students of Veterinary science in Australia and New Zealand. It is the first book to provide aconcise overview of the various university courses available, how to apply and how to survive and thrive during the course of your study.
Call Number: 636.089023 ALLA
iPad : the missing manua et up your iPad -- Tour your tablet -- Interact with your iPad -- Get online -- Surf the Web -- Keep in touch with email and messaging -- Organize your life with the iPad's apps -- Shop the app store -- Read iBooks and ePeriodicals -- Play games -- Get productive with iWork -- Sync and share media files with iTunes and iCloud -- Manage and play music and other audio -- Watch, create, and edit videos -- View, shoot, edit, and manage photos -- Back up and sync your gadgets with iCloud -- Appendix A. iPad settings -- Appendix B. iPad troubleshooting and care.
A guide to using the iPad that provides information on features, getting online, surfing the Web, e-mail, using built-in and downloading applications, reading iBooks and ePeriodicals, playing games, viewing and editing photographs and videos, and other related topics and includes troubleshooting and care tips.
Call Number: 004.165 BIER
IPhone: the Missing Manual Explains how to use the iPhone and learn all the options of its additional capabilities which include iCloud, Siri, FaceTime, the App Store, iTunes, and customized settings.
Call Number: 004.1675 POGU
Gap Year and Volunteering
Volunteering in Australia by PART I SETTING THE SCENE -- Introduction / Melanie Oppenheimer and Jeni Warburton -- 1. A Short History of Volunteering in Australia / Melanie Oppenheimer -- PART II VOLUNTEERING, POLICY AND PRACTICES -- 2. Volunteering and Recent Governance Reforms / Myles McGregor-Lowndes -- 3. Organisational (Mis)Behaviour of Volunteers: Profiles and Perspectives / Megan Paull and Maryam Omari -- 4. Volunteering and Human Resource Management / Graham Cuskelly and Wendy O'Brien -- 5. Blurring the Boundaries: Volunteering and Participation Requirements / Marc Levy -- 6. Measuring Volunteering / Lisel O'Dwyer -- 7. Formal Volunteering, Volunteer Infrastructure and Government / Annette Maher -- PART III VOLUNTEERING, CONTEXTS AND DIVERSITY -- 8. Volunteering and Ageing / Jeni Warburton -- 9. Volunteer Tourism and International Contexts / Kirsten Holmes -- 10. Spontaneous Volunteering: Trends and Challenges in the Australian Context / Jo Barraket, Robyn Keast and Cameron Newton -- 11. Volunteering in Rural and Regional Australia: Trends and Implications / Rachel Winterton -- 12. Volunteering in Traditional and Social Welfare Organisations: Current Challenges and Opportunities / Jeni Warburton, Melanie Oppenheimer and Melissa Moore -- 13. Volunteering and Sport / Pam Kappelides and Russell Hoye -- Bibliography.
In recent years, there have been significant changes to volunteering in Australia. Changes to government policies and non-profit practice have led to differences in how people volunteer, what they do and where they give their time. Volunteering in Australia provides critical snapshot of the issues in volunteering today and their impact on Australian society. Its demonstrates how change provides a fluid and contested space for volunteers and their organisations. Volunteering no longer sits outside the broad parameters of our economic and social futures. The book draws on a wide range of expertise from leading Australians, who discuss contemporary issues such as spontaneous volunteering, volunteer tourism and new forms of voluntary action.
Call Number: 361.370994 VOLU
The Gap Year Book Given the choice between stressful exams or job interviews and the endless white sand of an Australian beach, what would you choose? Be the first in your family to go around the world, teach children English in Africa, tend baby jaguars in Bolivia, study film in New York.
Call Number: 910.202 GAPY
Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.