Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology Guide: Databases

This Guide has been created to help Psychology students find useful Library resources

What is a database? (Courtesy of RMIT Library)

Downsides to Google...

Web of Science

Have you tried Web of Science? A platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. You can see easily how much an article has been cited and so much more. Take a look at the WOS Guide: http://clarivate.libguides.com/webofscienceplatform/introduction

 

American Psychological Association (APA) databases - help guide

Tips for using PsycInfo

  • combine terms in advanced search
  • use synonyms
  • check the thesaurus to find what subject terms are used for your concept
  • don't filter by full text - PsycINFO is a 'citation database' and will give citations to articles AND full text articles. If you filter by full text online you will only be shown articles in full text from THIS database. Leaving the filter un-ticked will give you the option to see if any of the Library's other databases have this article in full text. Watch this video to see this in action: https://youtu.be/E2UHTDIoRKI
  • create an account for yourself so you can save your results
  • try a combination of keywords

Finding Evidence-Based Information Resources

The following databases include tools that allow you to narrow your search to evidence-based information resources. They are more 'medical' in focus.

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649