Skip to main content

CUC107 Guide: Home

What's a library database

Key databases

Academic Search Premier - EbscoHost

Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage is multi-disciplinary.

Academic One File - GALE

Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

INFORMIT Databases

An online research database featuring a range of authoritative subject-based coverage of Australian and international information resources.

 

Other online sources

Finding Resources

Not sure where to start?

Start with your required texts or course reading material to become familiar with your topic. By understanding your topic you and then start to decide what type of information you need to find.

Try searching the Library Search tool that searches across many of the databases, journals, eBooks and books. You can find the Library Search on the Library website. Start searching with some relevant keywords, for example;"cultural capability" and "cultural safety" .

How to use Library Search

Library Search

Search Tips

Advanced Search in Library Search

When searching a Library Search you can create a Boolean search strategy by using the advanced search feature.

Brainstorming & synonyms
You do this by deciding what words represent the topic's concepts (the main ideas), and then think of alternative words for the concepts, known as synonyms. 

Connectors
You then connect the concepts with the Boolean AND operator, and the synonyms with the OR operator: AND is a command which finds all the words connected with AND, and OR finds at least one word connected with OR. 

Finding phrases
You should also put phrases in quote marks so that they found as exact phrases.

Example
If you're researching for information about the importance of cultural capability or intelligence in the workplace it could look something like this in Library Search - Advanced Search

 "cultural intelligence" or "cultural capability"

and

workplace

 

Ask us at the Library

 08 8946 7016

 +61 4 8885 0811 (text only)

 askthelibrary@cdu.edu.au 

 FAQs 

Critical Evaluation

The CRAAP test can help you evaluate sources of information. CRAAP stands for:

Currency

Relevancy

Authoritative

Accuracy

Purpose

Watch the video below to learn more about using the CRAAP Test to evaluate sources of information.

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649