Subject guides: Public Policy Guide: Policy

Policy

Public policy focuses on the the action taken by the executive branches of government in regards to the law. This includes the government looking at courses of action, regulations and funding priorities.

When searching for policy information you can search directly for government information from the web, from intergovernmental and non-government organisation as well as other sources. Use the legislation databases to search directly for legislation and use parliamentary material to find extrinsic material such as second reading speeches.

Australian Policy Online

Intergovernmental Organisations

Intergovernmental organisations publish reports and statistics that may cover issues of policy.

Non-Government Organisations

Non-government organisations publishe reports that may be of interest including having influence over public policy.

AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to Australian legal materials including primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access.
CCH IknowConnect This link opens in a new window
Arranged by subject area, it includes Australian full-text cases, legislation, and commentary. Topics covered: accounting, bankruptcy and insolvency, business, company, corporate and securities, conveyancing and property, corporate governance and compliance, discrimination, duties and levies, employment and HR, environment, family, GST, industrial relations, insurance, intellectual property, litigation and court practice, privacy, social security, tax, torts, workers compensation and worldwide tax law.
Capital Monitor This link opens in a new window
Capital Monitor is an Autralian parliamentary monitoring service that provides political, legislative and judicial news and information.
Federal Register of Legislation This link opens in a new window
Contains all legislation of the Commonwealth and non self-governing Territories (and related material such as Reserved Commonwealth Laws, Bills, explanatory memoranda/statements, tables, indexes and other finding aids).

LawLex
LawLex provides references to Australian legislation, including state and territories. There are links for each legislation to the explanatory memorandum and Handsard 2nd reading speeches. Note: limited access avaliable to free content.
LawNow
LawNow's jurisdictional coverage now includes all Australian states and territories.
Legify
Legify is an instant-search aggregator of authoritative Australian legislation (Commonwealth, states and territories). Free resource to relevant external links.

Jurisdiction	Hansard	Bills
Australian Capital Territory	Legislative Assembly for the ACT	ACT Legislation Register
Commonwealth	Parliament of Australia	Parliament of Australia
New South Wales	Parliament of New South Wales	Parliament of New South Wales
Northern Territory	Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory	Register of Legislation
Queensland	Queensland Parliament	Queensland Parliament
South Australia	Parliament of South Australia	Bills of the Parliament of South Australia
Tasmania	Parliament of Tasmania	Parliament of Tasmania
Victoria	Parliament of Victoria	Parliament of Victoria
Western Australia	Parliament of Western Australia	Parliament of Western Australia

Public Policy Guide: Policy

Policy

Intergovernmental Organisations

Non-Government Organisations

Legislation Resources

State and Territory Government Legislation Websites