08 8946 7016
+61 4 8885 0811 (text only)
Click the image to view and discover subject-specific databases
OR follow this link:
https://libguides.cdu.edu.au/az.php
Note: Not all of the resources in specialist databases can be found using CDU library search
Library Search is a simple way to search for information resources, including journal articles. But sometimes you will need to use the additional, discipline-specific features provided by specialist databases to find the information that you need for your assignments.
Subject-specific databases are ideal for searching the journal literature because they are tailored to a particular discipline, and therefore provide the ability to narrow your search in ways that wouldn't be possible in a general database or search tool like Library Search.
They vary from each other on subject area, coverage, content types, geographical location, etc - so consider which database/s will be most likely to contain the kind of information you're looking for.
| Academic Search Premier |
| Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. |
| AustLII |
| Provides full text access to Australian legal materials including primary legal materials |
| Ebook Central |
| Provides access to over 100,000 multidisciplinary ebooks |
| Informit Databases |
| Provides access to all Informit databases |
| Sage Journals |
| Full text access (1999 to present) to 450 journal titles |
| ScienceDirect |
| Articles from over 1800 subscribed journal titles may be viewed, table of contents for non subscribed titles can also be accessed. |
The CDU Library homepage is your one stop shop for almost everything you need to succeed in your studies. Hosting Library Search, links to relevant databases, study guides, help and library services, as well as general information and frequently asked questions, this page is a must bookmark for your study needs.
A site containing a comprehensive range of study skills information to help you understand academic expectations and become a more confident student. Developing academic writing, critical thinking, and the ability to read and understand academic texts, is vital if you wish to succeed as a student and scholar.
The Language and Learning Services team is here to support your academic development at Charles Darwin University (CDU). A free and confidential service to help you build skills including understanding assignments and work standards; how to get the grades you want; and developing your academic writing abilities.
Need some information or help about your time at CDU? Check out the current student's homepage, which has heaps of info about access to student services, how to find support and the services available and how you can explore your community and get involved!
Reading Lists are a great way for your lecturers and unit coordinators to provide you with prescribed texts and recommended reading. Check out all of the Reading Lists you have access to here, and get a start on reading through your unit.
Distance Library Services are available to CDU students to help with accessing library services remotely. As a part of these services, you can request digitisation of chapters, or delivery of books to your home address. If you live near another university, reciprocal borrowing services are also available.
Have a look at some of these recorded workshops by the CDU Library's Language and Learning team. These workshops are not live but can be played, paused, and rewatched to help you learn some key skills at University. You can book to attend live workshops through the library website.
Using your CDU login, you can access past exam papers for your units to help prepare for upcoming exams. Exam papers can be searched for using the unit code. Not all lecturers choose to make exam papers available, please contact your lecturer if your exam papers are not listed.
