Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed has over 100 journals covering general interest to a range of specialist online only journals. Most content is peer-reviewed
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is a cumulative index to nursing and allied health articles from worldwide, scientific literature presented for the needs of health professionals. CINAHL Plus provides full text access to over 750 journals indexed in CINAHL and incorporates the Pre-CINAHL current awareness dataset.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The latest officially published evidence to support the practice of evidence based medicine. Each Cochrane Review is a peer-reviewed systematic review.
INFORMIT Databases This link opens in a new window
All Informit databases.
JBI COnNECT via OvidSP This link opens in a new window
It is a key source of evidence based medicine and health practice in nursing and midwifery, and allied health eg physiotherapy, occupational therapy, podiatry etc. It also contains multi-disciplinary evidence based health care information.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides fulltext access to more than 1,370 journals indexed in Pubmed, a service of the National Library of Medicine. PubMed provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the Elsevier Freedom Collection (full text 1995 to present) and the Academic Press backset (full text 1993 - 1995). Articles from over 1800 subscribed journal titles may be viewed, table of contents for non subscribed titles can also be accessed. Main subject areas of the collection include the sciences, technology, medicine and psychology, a smaller number of titles from arts, humanities, economics & finance, and the social sciences are also covered.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers over 777 full text journals dating as far back as 1908. Covers all areas of sociology and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory and substance abuse & other addictions.
Selected Books on Public Health
Public Health by
Publication Date: 2005-07-22
Qualitative Methods in Public Health by
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Social Inequality and Public Health by
Publication Date: 2009-04-22
Disasters and Public Health by
Publication Date: 2009-03-25
Critical Perspectives in Public Health by
Publication Date: 2007-11-29
Unequal Health by
Publication Date: 2010-01-16
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
Provides free access to Australian statistical data. Topics covered include the economy, people, environment & energy and industry.
Australian Health Promotion Association (AHPA)
Australia’s peak health promotion body, the Australian Health Promotion Association is the only professional association in Australia specifically for people interested or involved in the practice, research and study of health promotion.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
An innovative online resource that aims to inform practice and policy in indigenous health by making research and other knowledge readily accessible.
Australian Institute of Family Studies
Australian Institute of Family Studies (AIFS) delivers quality research on family wellbeing.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)
AIHW is a major national agency set up by the Australian Government to provide reliable, regular and relevant information and statistics on Australia's health and welfare.
Australian Policy Online
Australian Policy Online provides open access to much of the best Australian social, economic, cultural and political research available online.
The Department of Health
Australian Government Department of Health website.
Health Direct Australia
Health Direct Australia aims to improve the health of Australians by providing easy access to quality information about human health.
The Lowitja Institute
Australia’s National Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Research, bringing together Aboriginal organisations, academic institutions and government agencies to facilitate collaborative, evidence-based research.
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
The National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) is Australia’s leading expert body promoting the development and maintenance of public and individual health standards.
National Rural Health Alliance
The NRHA is the peak non-government organisation for rural and remote health in Australia.
Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.