Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Support Guide: Databases

A guide to CDU Library services and resources for Higher Degree Research Students and Research Staff.

Library Databases

The Library subscribes to a wide range of online databases - they can be accessed in alphabetical order of title from here:

Library Databases -  A-Z List

Alternatively, select a database by subject from the respective subject guide:

All Subject Guides

Theses Databases

At the start of the research project, research students will find it useful to look at completed theses to: to help define or narrow down a topic; to look at the structure and layout of a thesis; to review methodologies used by other researchers etc.

Theses can be accessed through the following tools:

See also Theses guide

Journal Impact Ranking

Publish strategically! The following tools will help you discover the ranking of journals in different fields. They will help researchers - Higher Degree Research Students and Early Career Researchers in particular - discover which journals to publish in.

See also: Measuring Research Impact guide

Citation Databases

Citation tools can help you find the number of times an article has been cited, or the number of citations for an article or author. They can also help you discover an author's H-Index.  Discover more by consulting the following citation tools:

See also: Measuring Research Impact guide

Statistics Databases

Access the Australian Bureau of Statistics from:

http://www.abs.gov.au/

ABS CURF Microdata

  • Access to the Australian Bureau of Statistics's (ABS) CURF (Confidentialised Unit Record File) data is available to CDU researchers. See: MicrodataDownload and DataLab

  • Please register first, then login by following the prompts. Once you request data, ORI (Office of Research and Innovation) will be alerted and will approve the request.

ABS Table Builder

  • Go to ABS home at www.abs.gov.au
  • From the four tabs at the top of the page, select "Census"
  • On the Census page you'll see the title "Data by products"; under this, click the one for TableBuilder
  • On the right-hand side of the TableBuilder page, there is a Login button, and just below it a "Register" text link—click this to go to the registration page.
  • Access is free to CDU researchers as cost is covered by the Universities Australia agreement.
Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649