Here you will find links to services and resources that are relevant to history, politics, visual arts, music, design, architecture, new media and communications, and literature and creative writing.
Click on the tabs above to navigate within the Guide.
08 8946 7016
+61 4 8885 0811 (text only)
Check out this podcast series where we chat with CDU students about their experiences at our University and share stories about life, study, and achieving academic success.
Many courses at CDU have units with an Indigenous perspective embedded in the curriculum. This means you frequently research and write about issues related to First Nations peoples.
It is important to be both accurate and appropriate when using terms to discuss Indigenous issues. This shows respect and also reveals knowledge of one of the oldest cultures in the world.
The A-Z of First Nations terms is a useful resource to refer to when writing your assignments. It has been developed in collaboration with CDU staff from First Nations Leadership and First Nations Students and Engagement, so it is an authoritative source of information.
We recommend downloading it and referring to it to check you have accurately and appropriately used First Nations terms.
Allows more options to limit and filter your search including by date, location, domain and resource type.
Another option that complements the Library Search or Library database searching. Results will link to full text at CDU. Add the Charles Darwin University Library link via Settings for home access.
CDU Library is your one stop shop for all things libraries including assessment help, subject guides, referencing, recorded workshops and the workshop calendar. From here you can access CDU Library search which provides you with access to hundreds of thousands of resources.
Provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. Academic Search Premier includes open access (OA) journals. Coverage is multi-disciplinary.
Provides access to e-books, e-journals and proprietary full text databases & popular databases from leading information providers. EBSCOhost databases range from general reference to subject-specific databases.
The Ebsco eBook Collection provides access to over 95,000 scholarly ebook titles. Subjects covered include Business, Education, Health, Engineering & Technology, Psychology and Sciences.
Gale databases provide learners with search tools to narrow results and deliver reliable, timely content for research. Resources include full-text journal articles and newspapers to archives and eBooks.
Informit is a source of peer-reviewed and scholarly research. All Informit content is now accessible from a single site providing searching across Informit Media, Full Text and Index databases.
JSTOR is a digital library that encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
Articles from over 1800 journal titles with subjects including sciences, technology, medicine and psychology, with a smaller number of arts, humanities, economics & finance, and the social sciences.
Trove is an Australian online library database owned by the National Library of Australia providing access to approximately 90 million items. Search books, images, newspapers, maps, archives and more.
The CDU Library homepage is your one stop shop for almost everything you need to succeed in your studies. Hosting Library Search, links to relevant databases, study guides, help and library services, as well as general information and frequently asked questions, this page is a must bookmark for your study needs.
A site containing a comprehensive range of study skills information to help you understand academic expectations and become a more confident student. Developing academic writing, critical thinking, and the ability to read and understand academic texts, is vital if you wish to succeed as a student and scholar.
The Language and Learning Services team is here to support your academic development at Charles Darwin University (CDU). A free and confidential service to help you build skills including understanding assignments and work standards; how to get the grades you want; and developing your academic writing abilities.
Need some information or help about your time at CDU? Check out the current student's homepage, which has heaps of info about access to student services, how to find support and the services available and how you can explore your community and get involved!
Reading Lists are a great way for your lecturers and unit coordinators to provide you with prescribed texts and recommended reading. Check out all of the Reading Lists you have access to here, and get a start on reading through your unit.
Distance Library Services are available to CDU students to help with accessing library services remotely. As a part of these services, you can request digitisation of chapters, or delivery of books to your home address. If you live near another university, reciprocal borrowing services are also available.
Have a look at some of these recorded workshops by the CDU Library's Language and Learning team. These workshops are not live but can be played, paused, and rewatched to help you learn some key skills at University. You can book to attend live workshops through the library website.
Using your CDU login, you can access past exam papers for your units to help prepare for upcoming exams. Exam papers can be searched for using the unit code. Not all lecturers choose to make exam papers available, please contact your lecturer if your exam papers are not listed.
