Skip to Main Content

Research Data Management (RDM): Find Open Datasets

One stop shop for all things related to Research Data and how to manage your data throughout its entire lifecycle

 

General and Multi-disciplinary data repositories

Google Dataset search

Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.

Registry of Research Data Repositories

This is a database that contains subject specific databases. You can search your field of research to find subject specific repositories.

Open Data Network

This source allows users to look for data using a robust search engine. Apply advanced filters to your searches, and pull data on everything from public safety, finance, infrastructure, housing and development, and more.

FAIR sharing.org

A curated, informative and educational resource on data and metadata standards, inter-related to databases and data policies. searchable portal of three interlinked registries, containing both in-house and crowd-sourced manually curated descriptions of standards , databases and data policies , combined with an integrated view across all three types of resource.

CSIRO Data Access Portal 

A repository of data published by the CSIRO across a range of disciplines to facilitate sharing and reuse of the data.

Kaggle

This source contains thousands of real-life datasets of all sizes and in many different formats. Each dataset is associated with the “kernels”, most of which are written in python. These kernels help the data scientists to analyze the data using different notebooks. In addition, some notebooks consist of algorithms that help in prediction problems.

Dryad

Dryad is an international open access repository of research data, especially data underlying scientific and medical publications (mainly of evolutionary, genetic, and ecology biology).

ICPSR

CPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) is an international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations. It maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

 

Government data sets

Research Data Australia

Research Data Australia helps you find, access, and reuse data for research from over one hundred Australian research organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions. We do not store the data itself here but provide descriptions of, and links to, the data from our data publishing partners.

Australian Government Data

Data.gov.au is the central source of Australian open government data. Anyone can access the anonymised public data published by federal, state and local government agencies. This data is a national resource that holds considerable value for growing the economy, improving service delivery and transforming policy outcomes. In addition to government data, you can also find publicly-funded research data and datasets from private institutions that are in the public interest.

Australian Data Archive

The Australian Data Archive holds over 6000 datasets from more than 1500 projects and studies from 1838 through until the present day. This section presents some of our most popular datasets, organised by theme.

Farm Data Portal

The ABARES (Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Science) Farm Data Portal is an interactive visual tool that displays the full suite of information collected in ABARES broadacre and dairy farm surveys, along with information and analysis from other ABARES farm data research.

You can use the tool to see historical results from those surveys, forecasts of farm financial performance, modelled results from the ABARES farm predict model, and agricultural productivity estimates.

.id Community

Demographic resources and in-depth information for over 300 local government areas and suburbs in Australia and New Zealand, including community profiles, community views, population forecasts, economic profiles, housing monitors, eBooks, guides, webinars and training resources.

DSS

(Department of Social Studies) Longitudinal Studies datasets

Longitudinal data is data collected from the same individuals or other entities over time. Other entities could include households or businesses. The data can show how actions and events can affect outcomes later in life.

The Longitudinal Studies fact sheet explains longitudinal data and its value in answering critical questions.

There is a Dataverse page for each of the four active longitudinal studies.

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)

The AIHW releases reports, data tables and other key resources that draw on national major health and welfare data collections, including its own data collections.

These essential statistical assets cover fields as diverse as housing assistance, homelessness, perinatal health, disability, cancer, hospitals and hospital activity, alcohol and other drugs, and mortality.

UK Government Data sets

data.gov.uk contains over 30,000 data sets from many UK Government departments. All data is non-personal, and provided in a format that allows it to be reused. data.gov.uk intends to increase the use of Linked Data standards, to allow people to provide data to data.gov.uk in a way that allows for flexible and easy reuse.
UK Data Service

A perfect complement to data.gov.uk is the UK Data Service, a search engine for recent datasets on social media trends, politics, finance, international relations, and more happening in the UK. 

US Federal Government

Data.gov is the United States government's open data website. It provides access to datasets published by agencies across the federal government. Data.gov is intended to provide access to government open data to the public, achieve agency missions, drive innovation, fuel economic activity, and uphold the ideals of an open and transparent government. Data.gov contains almost 260,000 dataset records.
Eurostat

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Data navigation includes: 

  • Detailed datasets contains all data publicly available from Eurostat. They are presented in so-called multi-dimensional datasets.
  • Selected datasets offers a selection of Eurostat data offering less indicators and variables than the detailed datasets. Data are presented in 2 or 3 dimensional tables.

Both branches are organised according to 9 statistical themes.

  • EU policies presents datasets organised according to specific EU policies. 
  • Cross-cutting offers a selection of statistical topics that are obtained from different data sources and collections.

All datasets can be customised and downloaded in different formats. 

European Data 

(aka EU Open Data Portal; European Data Portal)

The portal contained a very wide variety of high-value open data across EU policy domains, including the economy, employment, science, environment and education. The portal provides access to open data from international, EU, national, regional, local and geo data portals. In 2021 EU Open Data Portal and European Data Portal were consolidated to the data.europa.eu portal.
IATI Registry

The International Aid Transparency Initiative – brings together governments, multilateral institutions, private sector and civil society organisations and others to increase the transparency and openness of resources flowing into developing countries, making data on development and humanitarian spending and projects easier to access, use and understand. Organisations publish information according to the rules and guidance set out in the IATI Standard and this data is freely available and open to anyone in the world.

World Data Atlas

Includes national data, maps and rankings exploring critical economic, social and demographic indicators for all countries and regions selected from 200+ public datasets

OECD Data

Find, compare, and share the latest data of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development: charts, maps, tables, and related publications. Content from the OECD Data includes society demography, migration, population, employment, earning and wages, health , education, economy, agriculture, environment and more.

 

Subject Data Repositories

AIHW - Illicit Use of Drugs

Data from the Illicit Drug Reporting System (IDRS) and Ecstasy and related Drugs Reporting System (EDRS) include rates of self-reported overdose.

(US) National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)

The NACJD is a comprehensive resource for discovering both public and restricted access datasets on recidivism, gang violence, terrorism, hate crimes, and much more.

United Nations Data on Drugs and Crime Datasets on drug production and trafficking, global studies on homicide rates, organised crime, corruption, and more, the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) has frequently updated publications.

 

Australian Antarctic Data Centre (AADC)

AADC is a section of the Australian Antarctic Division, part of the Australian Government’s Department of the Environment and Energy. It serves as a key data collection and management service for Australia’s Antarctic Science Program. It provides a portal for accessing, analysing, visualizing, and downloading scientific data related to Antarctica, as well as tools and standards for data management.

Climate Data Online provided by NOAA

The CDO (Climate Data Online)  by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration provides historical and near-real-time climate datasets around the globe. Search daily summaries, marine data, weather radars, and more.

CSIRO - Earth Sciences The CSIRO Data Access Portal provides access to research data, software and other digital assets published by CSIRO across a range of disciplines, with hundreds of datasets in earth sciences subject area and ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES.

Geoscience Data Australia

Data Geoscience Australia delivers world-class, trusted data and platforms. Geoscience Australia is Australia's pre-eminent public sector geoscience organisation and advisor on the geology and geography of Australia.

International Energy Agency (IEA) Data Browser

IEA has comprised open datasets and map visualizations on global energy.

NASA Earth Data

NASA’s Earthdata is a gateway to one of the planet’s largest repositories of Earth observation data. These data – along with the tools for analysing and working with these data – are available to you fully, openly, and without restriction. Subject areas and topics include: Atmosphere, Biosphere, Cryosphere, Human Dimensions, Land Surface, Ocean, Solid Earth, Sun-Earth Interaction, Terrestrial Hydrosphere.

NOAA OneStop

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration 

NOAA OneStop can be used to search for any NOAA data with a metadata record. It is an interoperable tool designed to explore data from across scientific disciplines, formats, time periods, and locations. OneStop’s wide range of filtering options can pinpoint specific collections or granules that may not be discoverable in other mediums.
PANGAEA PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. PANGAEA focuses on georeferenced observational and experimental data. 

TERN Data Discovery Portal (Terrestrial Ecosystem Research Network)

The TERN research data collection provides analysis-ready environment data that facilitates a wide range of ecological research projects undertaken by established and emerging scientists from Australia and around the world.

 

Bureau of Economic Analysis 

Curated by the U.S. Department of Commerce, this wide-ranging open data source is frequently updated with datasets on GDP, international trades of goods and services, international transactions, and more.

Federal Reserve Economic Database (FRED)

Nearly 530,000 U.S. and international datasets are generated by the Federal Reserve. Some examples include consumer price indexes, GDP, industrial production indexes, foreign exchange rates, and others.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

The NBER Public Use Data Archive is a diverse mix of public-use economic, demographic, and enterprise data obtained over the years to satisfy the specific requests of NBER-affiliated researchers for particular projects. Some examples of this include datasets on nominal wages, age-based property tax exemptions, post-housing bust credit conditions, and much more.

OECD Data - Economy,

Jobs and Society

Find, compare, and share the latest data of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development: charts, maps, tables, and related publications. Topics include: Corporate sector, FDI, GDP, International trade, Leading indicators, National income, Prices and Productivity. 

Includes GENERAL GOVERNMENT and TAX data

Open Corporates

One of the largest open databases of companies in the world holds hundreds-of-millions standardised, auditable datasets directly from official primary sources across 140+ jurisdictions — all underpinned by Legal-Entity Data Principles and world-leading expertise in legal-entity data.

 

OECD Data - Education 

Find, compare, and share the latest data of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development: charts, maps, tables, and related publications. 

UNICEF These valuable open datasets monitor and report on the situations of children and women around the world, including data related to education and early childhood development. 

 

BPP

(The Billion Prices Project)

The BPP was an academic initiative at MIT Sloan and Harvard Business School that uses prices collected from hundreds of online retailers around the world on a daily basis to conduct research in macro and international economics and compute real-time inflation metrics. The BPP database includes: Price Indices, Online Micro Price Data, Global Retailers Data, Online-Offline Price Comparison, PPP Data, and Micro Price Data with Trade/Country of Origin.

International Monetary Fund (IMF)

For insights on the global economic outlook, financial stability, fiscal monitoring, and more

OECD Data – Finance

and

Development

Find, compare, and share the latest data of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development: charts, maps, tables, and related publications. Topics include: conversion rates, insurance, interest rates, monetary aggregates and pensions.

UN ComTrade Database

Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables.. The United Nations Comtrade database aggregates detailed global annual and monthly trade statistics by product and trading partner for use by governments, academia, research institutes, and enterprises. Data compiled by the United Nations Statistics Division covers approximately 200 countries and represents more than 99% of the world's merchandise trade. 

World Bank Open Data             

World Bank Open Data is a free and open access to data on development in the worldIt provides a listing of available World Bank datasets, including pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources. It also provides an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topicsAdditionally, it provides access to data collected through sample surveys of households, business establishments or other facilities. The Data Catalog is designed to make World Bank's development data easy to find, download, use, and share. It includes data from the World Bank's microdatafinances and energy data platforms, as well as datasets from the open data catalog. There are different ways to access and download datasets.

World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)

The World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS) software provides access to international merchandise trade, tariff and non-tariff measures (NTM) data. Browse the Country profile section to obtain countries exports, imports and tariff statistics along with relevant development data.

Register and log in to WITS to perform custom analysis, using standard and derived product classifications. In addition, WITS provides built-in analytical tools that help assess the impact of tariff cuts. Use the Trade Outcomes module to assess competitiveness of countries by calculating and visualizing indicators

 

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Data Archive (ATSIDA)

ATSIDA is a specialised trusted research data management facility for Australian Indigenous research data and is managed by the UTS Library. ATSIDA is a thematic archive within the ADA with its datasets stored securely at the Australian National University's National Computational Infrastructure (NCI). Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and issues relating to them continue to attract much study. But frequently, often due to ethical concerns intrinsic to small population research compounded by the particular aspects relating to indigenous peoples, datasets are not made available for secondary analysis. It is important to collect and preserve these fragmented research resources and to make them available for further research, under appropriate protocols, so as to reduce the response burden on Australian Indigenous communities while enabling informed analysis and commentary in areas of national priority.

AIHW - First Nations

Includes National Indigenous Australians Agency data & Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Performance Framework. 

First Nations Data Centre (FNDC) Provides access to unpublished and record-level data from First Nations Information Governance Centre’s respected survey work, including the First Nations Regional Health Survey and the First Nations Regional Early Childhood, Education and Employment Survey.
PARADISEC (the Pacific And Regional Archive for Digital Sources in Endangered Cultures)  PARADISEC is a digital archive of records of some of the many small cultures and languages of the world. Over 2000 of the world’s 6000 different languages are spoken in Australia, the South Pacific Islands (including around 900 languages in New Guinea alone) and Southeast Asia. Within the next century this number is likely to drop to a few hundred. The majority of these 2000 languages and their associated cultural expressions (such as music and dance) are very poorly documented. Even in those languages that have begun to be documented many of the most developed cultural expressions (such as languages of song and ritual) have never been studied. PARADISEC holds 16,100 hours of audio recordings and 2,800 hours of video recordings that might otherwise have been lost. These recordings are of performance, narrative, singing, and other oral tradition. This amounts to over 220 terabytes, and represents 1,370 languages, mainly from the Pacific region.

 

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)

Health and welfare data holdings including more than 150 datasets cover fields as diverse as housing assistance, homelessness, perinatal health, disability, cancer, hospitals and hospital activity, alcohol and other drugs, and mortality.

Broad Institute 

The Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard is a research organisation that convenes a community of researchers from across many disciplines and partner institutions - MIT, Harvard, and Harvard- affiliated hospitals. The Broad Institute is an open source for data, tools and software for health and scientific research specifically on the many types of cancers.

Centre for Disease Control

CDC offers a wide variety of open datasets on chronic illnesses, cancers, heart diseases, birth defects, and much more.

Global Health Data Exchange

The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a catalog of global health and demographic data. The goal of the GHDx is to help people locate data by cataloging information about data including the topics covered, by providing links to data providers or explaining how to acquire the data, and in cases where we have permission, providing the data directly for download. Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health.

Health Data Australia (researchdata.edu.au)

Health Data Australia is a catalogue of information about clinical trials datasets collected across Australia by universities, medical research institutes, clinical trials networks, and health services. You can also find information to better understand these datasets, such as study protocols and data dictionaries.

On Health Data Australia you can:

  • search for clinical trial data
  • find information about clinical trial data
  • request access to data via a request form.

HealthData.gov

Contains data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse. The data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners. This includes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, among others

National Cancer Institute

SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results) Explorer is an interactive website that provides easy access to a wide range of SEER cancer statistics. It provides detailed statistics for a cancer site by gender, race, calendar year, age, and for a selected number of cancer sites, by stage and histology. With advanced filters, users can create hyper-targeted search results for a variety of open datasets relating to cancer.

NHS England

Central collection, curation and linkage of around 200 national data collections, NHS provides high-quality datasets on the state of health and social care systems in England.

OECD Data - Health

Find, compare, and share the latest data of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development: charts, maps, tables, and related publications.

UNICEF

These valuable open datasets monitor and report on the situations of children and women around the world. Latest updates on disease outbreaks, immunization, non-communicable diseases, mental health, mortality, disabilities, child nutrition, maternal and newborn health, HIV/AIDS. 

World Health Organization (WHO)

One of the most complete open data repositories for global mortality rates, disease outbreaks, mental illnesses, health financing, and more is the World Health Organization.

 

AODN - Australian Ocean Data Network

AODN Data Portal is a single access point for marine data published by Australian Commonwealth Agencies and by a large number of other data contributors. The Australian Ocean Data Network (AODN) is an interoperable online network of marine and climate data resources.  IMOS and the 6 Australian Commonwealth agencies (see AODN Partners) form the core of the AODN. Increasingly, though, universities and State government offices are offering up data resources to the AODN, and delivery of data to the AODN is being written in to significant research programs e.g. National Environmental Science Program Marine Biodiversity Hub and the Great Australian Bight research program.

Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS)

The data AIMS collects are described in detail in the AIMS Data Catalogue. The catalogue contains descriptions of data which allows others, including researchers, to identify potential data of use to them. Data can then be downloaded (if available) or requested. Access to some data will be via legal data agreement.

ATLAS of LIVING AUSTRALIA

Atlas of Living Australia contains information on all the known species in Australia aggregated from a wide range of data providers: museums, herbaria, community groups, government departments, individuals and universities.

Global Marine Data in the Climate Data Online

Historical marine data are comprised of ship, buoy, and platform observations from 1662-present. Data values are delayed by one month. In addition to location, ship identification, ship speed, and ship direction, weather elements observed include: wind direction and speed, visibility, present and past weather, sea level pressure, dry bulb, wet bulb, and dew point temperatures, sea surface temperature, cloud data, wave data, and ice accretion.

 

UNICEF - Nutrition

These valuable open datasets monitor and report on the situations of children and women around the world.  Nutrition related datasets include, but is not limited to: Diet, Malnutrition, Vitamin A, Iodine, Breastfeeding.

WHO - Nutrition and Food Safety

The Nutrition and Food Safety (NFS) Department is addressing the burden of disease from physical, chemical and microbial hazards in food and unhealthy diets, maternal and child malnutrition, overweight and obesity.

 

Australian Twittershere

QUT-Digital Observatory - operate and maintain a databank - the Australian Twittersphere - which is an ongoing collection of public tweets from approximately 838,000 Australian Twitter accounts and NewsTalk

AusStage 

a dataset for researching live performance in Australia.

ICPSR 

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
UK Data Archive 

the largest collection of social sciences and humanities digital research data in the UK.

PARADISEC (the Pacific And Regional Archive for Digital Sources in Endangered Cultures)  PARADISEC is a digital archive of records of some of the many small cultures and languages of the world. 

SOMAR (The Social Media Archive at ICPSR)

The Social Media Archive (SOMAR) is a revolutionary initiative and data resource that makes social media data accessible and useful to researchers like never before. Our archive contains a wide range of data collected from large-scale social media platforms such as Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Reddit, as well as smaller, more specialized data sets focused on specific research topics. These data sets have been collected and curated by researchers from around the world, and they cover various topics such as political communication, online behavior, and social networks.

 

Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre

The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC) is a global leader in structural chemistry data, software, and knowledge for materials and life sciences research and development.

Specializing in the collation, preservation, and application of scientific structural data, CCDC offers the renowned Cambridge Structural Database (CSD), a trusted resource containing fully curated organic and metal-organic structures utilized by researchers worldwide.

Crystallography Open Database

(COD)

Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.

CSIRO Data

The CSIRO Data Access Portal provides access to research data, software and other digital assets published by CSIRO across a range of disciplines, including BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES, ENGINEERING, MATHEMATICAL and PHYSICAL sciences.
Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) The GEO database is designed to provide and encourage access within the scientific community to the most up to date and comprehensive gene expression and hybridization array data.

Planetary Data System 

The Planetary Data System (PDS) is a long-term archive of digital data products returned from NASA's planetary missions, and from other kinds of flight and ground-based data acquisitions, including laboratory experiments. Disciplines covered by the PDS focus on Atmospheres, Geosciences, Cartography and Imaging Sciences, Planetary Plasma Interactions, Ring-Moon Systems, and Small Bodies, as well as, Engineering, and the Navigation and Ancillary Information.

Research Data Australia Research Data Australia helps you find, access, and reuse data for research from over one hundred Australian research organisations, government agencies. RDA includes thousands of datasets in subject areas such as: Biology, Chemistry, Information and Computing, Mathematical and Physical Sciences, and Technology.

 

Australian Bureau of Statistics Data Explorer and Services

Data Explorer 

ABS Stat Data Explorer is an interactive free online tool that presents data in a searchable and dynamic way. It is an interactive web browser interface where you can view, query and download data.

Data Explorer allows you to:

  • Search and discover detailed ABS statistics
  • Filter and customise data to your own requirements
  • Generate custom tables and charts
  • View valuable metadata alongside the data
  • Export data in a range of formats such as Excel and CSV
  • Bookmark and share your custom data tables
  • Automatically generate Application Programming Interface (API) calls to pull data into your own system

Data Explorer USER GUIDE

All ABS Data Services

 

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerFeedback • ABN 54 093 513 649