Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Education Resources (OER): OERs by discipline

An OER guide for CDU staff and students

OER by Discipline

Following is a comprehensive listing of general Open Educational Resources (OER) sites for open courseware, textbooks, teaching resources, and subject-specific OER.

 

Open Educational Resources (OER)

 

An online search of over 9,00 artists, 2,900 art sites and more than 160,00 fine art links to online museums and image archives.

  • DeviantART is an online community prompting creative works using a range of Creative Commons licences. Licenses allow sharing and re-producing of many of the featured works.

  •  Free books on a range of subjects including art history and criticism, Asian art, paintings, decorative art and art reference.

  • Features materials from over 2,015 MIT courses, including videos, full courses and teaching resources. Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

  •  Range of educational resources from wikis, interactive tutorials, website links and games in the subject areas of Art History and  Visual Art. License conditions range for share only to remix and share.

OCL leverages open educational resources (OER) that can be used, adapted and shared for free, all licensed as CC BY 3.0.

UTS ePress 

Digital, open access scholarly publishing arm of the University of Technology Sydney. It publishes scholarly eJournals and eBooks across a range of academic disciplines, with particular strengths in the humanities, arts and social sciences.

  • A virtual museum of Western fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism and  Impressionism periods containing over 38,00 reproductions, as well as artist biographies.

 

 

ANU Press

Australia’s first open-access university press, published over 800 titles, including monographs, eBooks, journals and conference proceedings, on a broad range of topics including Asia and Pacific studies, Australian politics, humanities, arts, Indigenous studies and science, as well as biographies of key scholarly figures

Bookboon 

Over 1000 free textbooks on a range of subjects. These books are of varying quality, and may not be suitable for your purposes

  • Range of business textbooks covering topics such as accounting, business fundamentals, marketing, management, sustainability and project management.

  • Business, Management and Economic books.

  • Features materials from over 2,015 MIT courses, including videos, full courses and teaching resources. Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

  •  Open text books in the areas of business, management and marketing.

 

  • A portal of educational resources and services free for anyone to use.

BC Open Textbooks

These textbooks are all openly licensed under a Creative Commons license, offered in various e-book formats free of charge (print on demand available at cost)

  • Variety of textbooks covering topics such as classroom management, psychology for educators, ICT in education, special needs education and teaching methodology.

  • Curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

  • Features materials from over 2,015 MIT courses, including videos, full courses and teaching resources. Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

  • YouTube EDU provides access to a wide range of educational videos including inspirational speeches as well as lecturers.

 

ANU Press 

Australia’s first open-access university press, published over 800 titles, including monographs, eBooks, journals and conference proceedings, on a broad range of topics including Asia and Pacific studies, Australian politics, humanities, arts, Indigenous studies and science, as well as biographies of key scholarly figures

  • Textbooks covering topics in engineering and electronics including electrical circuits, manual programing and data coding theory.

 eBooks Directory provide access to free downloadable eBooks, documents and lecture notes.

 

  •  Open access eBooks in the field of engineering including aerospace, biomedical civil, electrical and electronic, energy, mechanical  and vehicle engineering.

  • Features materials from over 2,015 MIT courses, including videos, full courses and teaching resources. Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

  • Downloadable videos covering circuit analysis, circuit measurement and sustainable development.

 

Bartleby.com

Literature, Reference, and Verse. Use menu to access, not search box

 

BC Open Textbooks

These textbooks are all openly licensed under a Creative Commons license, offered in various e-book formats free of charge (print on demand available at cost)

  • Range of textbooks in the field of health and nursing covering content such as communicable diseases, disaster management, human nutrition. obesity and epidemiology.

  • Health Education Assets Library providing free access to a collection of over 22,000 digital materials in the area of health science.

  • Nursing, mental and behavioral disease, surgery and infectious diseases books.

MedEdPORTAL Publications

Peer-reviewed health education teaching and assessment resources

  • Features materials from over 2,015 MIT courses, including videos, full courses and teaching resources. Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

 

  

  • A variety of Political Science resources on subjects such as international relations, political theory,  immigration and colonization.

ANU Press

Australia’s first open-access university press, published over 800 titles, including monographs, eBooks, journals and conference proceedings, on a broad range of topics including Asia and Pacific studies, Australian politics, humanities, arts, Indigenous studies and science, as well as biographies of key scholarly figures

  • C-Span created by the American Cable Television Industry,  provides access to the live gavel-to-gavel proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate without editing, commentary or analysis and with a balanced presentation of points of view. 

Europeana

Large aggregated database of digitised books, music, artworks, and other material from thousands of European archives, libraries and museums. Search results can be filtered to show material which can be freely reused

HippoCampus

Access several collections of OER STEM, English, and History video

In Tech

Read, share and download more than 5,100 peer-reviewed Open Access book

  • Features materials from over 2,015 MIT courses, in

  • Access to over 5,00 public domain classic and rare books that you can read on line absolutely free.

South Asia Open Archives (SAOA)

Free open-access resource for research and teaching. Resources about and from South Asia in English and South Asian languages (13 languages represented)

UTS ePress 

Digital, open access scholarly publishing arm of the University of Technology Sydney. It publishes scholarly eJournals and eBooks across a range of academic disciplines, with particular strengths in the humanities, arts and social sciences

  • Open access books in the area of humanities covering topics such as Literature, performing arts, history and philosophy.

World Digital Library

A project by the Library of Congress and UNESCO. Significant primary sources from around the world in a multilingual forma

 

ANU Press 

Australia’s first open-access university press, published over 800 titles, including monographs, eBooks, journals and conference proceedings, on a broad range of topics including Asia and Pacific studies, Australian politics, humanities, arts, Indigenous studies and science, as well as biographies of key scholarly figures

Applied Math and Science Education Repository (AMSER)

A portal of educational resources and services free for anyone to use.

In Tech 

Read, share and download more than 5,100 peer-reviewed Open Access book

NanoHUB

Thousands of nanotechnology resources including animations, data sets, learning modules, presentations, teaching materials, and online classes

Open Textbook Library

An organization of colleges and universities supporting the growth of open educatio

 

 

ANU Press 

Australia’s first open-access university press, published over 800 titles, including monographs, eBooks, journals and conference proceedings, on a broad range of topics including Asia and Pacific studies, Australian politics, humanities, arts, Indigenous studies and science, as well as biographies of key scholarly figures

  • Textbooks covering topics such as land use, basic legal citation and evidence

  

  • Range of law and politic resources covering topics such as violence, human rights and justice and environmental law and policy. Resources include video clips and useful law resources websites.

Open Textbook Library

An organization of colleges and universities supporting the growth of open educatio

 

American Institute of Mathematics (AIM)

Open source and open access mathematics textbooks. 

ANU Press

Australia’s first open-access university press, published over 800 titles, including monographs, eBooks, journals and conference proceedings, on a broad range of topics including Asia and Pacific studies, Australian politics, humanities, arts, Indigenous studies and science, as well as biographies of key scholarly figures

Applied Math and Science Education Repository (AMSER)

A portal of educational resources and services free for anyone to use

Bookboon 

Over 1000 free textbooks on a range of subjects. These books are of varying quality, and may not be suitable for your purposes

  • Mathematics textbooks covering a range of subjects including algebra, calculus and trigonometry.

HippoCampus

Access several collections of OER STEM, English, and History video

  • A range of mathematics resources including open textbooks and support sites for learning mathematics

In Tech 

Read, share and download more than 5,100 peer-reviewed Open Access book

  

  • Digital library of sharable undergraduate teaching materials for chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics and computer science

  • Site containing links to a range of Maths resources including online maths help, access to problems and puzzles as well as maths resources and tools.

  • Features materials from over 2,015 MIT courses, including videos, full courses and teaching resources. Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)

Site containing links to a range of Maths resources including online maths help, access to problems and puzzles as well as maths resources and tools.

Open Textbook Library

An organization of colleges and universities supporting the growth of open educatio

PhET Interactive Simulations

Free interactive math and science simulations

 

Bandcamp

Creative Commons licensed music available on Bandcamp

Free Music Archive

Free downloads made available under Creative Commons and other licenses

 

Applied Math and Science Education Repository (AMSER)

A portal of educational resources and services free for anyone to use

Bookboon 

Over 1000 free textbooks on a range of subjects. These books are of varying quality, and may not be suitable for your purposes

  • Science textbooks covering topics such as earthquakes, environmental science, ocean science, nanotechnology, geothermal energy and earth science.

HippoCampus

Access several collections of OER STEM, English, and History video

In Tech 

Read, share and download more than 5,100 peer-reviewed Open Access book

  • Features materials from over 2,015 MIT courses, including videos, full courses and teaching resources. Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

NanoHUB

Thousands of nanotechnology resources including animations, data sets, learning modules, presentations, teaching materials, and online classes

OpenAlex

A free index of more than 200 million scientific documents that catalogues publication sources, author information and research topics.

PhET Interactive Simulations

Free interactive math and science simulations

  • Range of books covering health sciences, life sciences, physical sciences and science study guides.

 

ANU Press 

Australia’s first open-access university press, published over 800 titles, including monographs, eBooks, journals and conference proceedings, on a broad range of topics including Asia and Pacific studies, Australian politics, humanities, arts, Indigenous studies and science, as well as biographies of key scholarly figures

BC Open Textbooks

These textbooks are all openly licensed under a Creative Commons license, offered in various e-book formats free of charge (print on demand available at cost)

Europeana

Large aggregated database of digitised books, music, artworks, and other material from thousands of European archives, libraries and museums. Search results can be filtered to show material which can be freely reused

  

  • A range of resources relating to the study of social sciences including open textbooks, useful resource sites and video clips.  

In Tech 

Read, share and download more than 5,100 peer-reviewed Open Access book

  • Features materials from over 2,015 MIT courses, including videos, full courses and teaching resources. Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-SA 4.0.

  • Open access to a range of Social Science books.

UTS ePress 

Digital, open access scholarly publishing arm of the University of Technology Sydney. It publishes scholarly eJournals and eBooks across a range of academic disciplines, with particular strengths in the humanities, arts and social sciences

 

General Open Educational Resources

 

 

BASE logo with label ‘Bielefeld Academic Search Engine’                                                  

Logo

 

 

librivox-logo

 

Try this OER site… MERLOT.org | TLT HD

OASIS Search logo

 

Project Gutenberg
          
Top 10 Journals in Springer
Home - Trove logo Ubiquity Press
Xerte Community Site  

OER Videos and Images

 

Flickr Commons

 

Visual treasures from the world's public photography archives.

Moving Image Archive

 

A collection of mostly open-access videos, films, images, animation, and music.

Pixabay

SVG > graphics leave gold name - Free SVG Image & Icon. | SVG Silh

 

Free photos, illustrations, vector graphics, and videos.

Latest Thinking (open access research videos)

Latest Thinking Logo

 

Researchers present short overviews of their recent academic publications.

Wikimedia Commons

File:Commons-logo.svg - Wikimedia Commons

 

 

Over 30 million free or open-licensed images, sounds, and videos.

Open Video Project

 

A collection of digitized video to study a wide range of problems in the use of such content.

Royalty free music

Royalty Free Music

You can find royalty free music as the website Videvo.

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649