Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visual Arts Subject Guide: Online Resources

Subject Guide contains links and resources for students studying in the area of Visual Arts.

Useful Websites

CDU Art Gallery

"Established in 1980 as an Art School teaching collection, the CDU Art Collection today has a University-wide and NT regional mandate with a focus on community engagement in northern Australia and Southeast Asia. Its permanent holdings comprise more than 3000 works of art."

The Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline

"The Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection. Authored by The Met’s experts, the digital publication is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history. The Timeline currently comprises more than 1,000 essays, 8,000 works of art, 300 chronologies, and 3,700 keywords. It is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on The Met collection."

Google Art Project

"Google has partnered with hundreds of museums, cultural institutions, and archives to host the world’s cultural treasures online. With a team of dedicated Googlers, we are building tools that allow the cultural sector to display more of its diverse heritage online, making it accessible to all. Here you can find artworks, landmarks and world heritage sites, as well as digital exhibitions that tell the stories behind the archives of cultural institutions across the globe."

Arts Hub

"ArtsHub is Australia's leading online resource for professionals working in the arts. A community of approximately 85,000 unique monthly users, over 10,000 industry and individual members, and hundreds of dedicated contributors read, write and share their knowledge and passion for the industry on our site."

Art Daily

"The First Art Newspaper on the Net."

 

Online Dictionaries & Other Useful Resources

MoMA Glossary of Art Terms

A glossary of art terms searchable by either theme or artist.

Getty Research Portal

Getty Research Portal is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts. Scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture and related fields. The portal is free to all users.

Trove Pictures, Photos, Objects

Search photographs, negatives, artworks, drawings, posters, postcards and other pictures, as well as physcial objects such as puzzles, instrutments and clothing.

 

 

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649