Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Visual Arts Subject Guide: Finding Information

Subject Guide contains links and resources for students studying in the area of Visual Arts.

Library Search

Library Search is a good place to find high quality, scholarly information, in physical or electronic format. 

Use Library Search to search across many library databases simultaneously to find books, eBooks, journal articles, databases, newspapers and audio-visual materials.

Watch this 2 minute video to learn about:

  • basic searching
  • saving results
  • using citation tools
  • managing your library account

Watch this 4 minute video to learn about:

  • searching by keyword, title, or author
  • using AND, OR & NOT in searches
  • exporting citations to EndNote
  • setting up and managing search alerts

Library Databases

Library databases are collections of online, scholarly resources such as full-text articles, book chapters, multi media, dictionaries and encyclopaedias.

Use library databases to search for information specific to your subject area. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Use Google Scholar to find a broad range of scholarly literature, including:

  • peer-reviewed journal articles and books
  • conference papers
  • theses and dissertations


A warning sign
Google Scholar does not filter out low-quality publications such as predatory journals. Predatory journals charge authors fees to publish without peer-reviewing or editing articles and therefore are of very low quality.

How to make sure it's a credible journal? 

1. Search for the journal title in Ulrich's Periodical Directory.

2. Look for an umpire jacket icon - this indicates a peer-reviewed journal. 

Link Google Scholar to CDU Library

You can link Google Scholar with Charles Darwin University Library, so when you search in Google Scholar you will be able to access full-text articles (if available) via CDU Library.

If you are off campus you will need to ensure your Google Scholar settings are linked to CDU Library.

To do this:

1. Go to Google Scholar and select Settings (click on the three horizontal bars at the top left of the screen).

2. Click on Library Links and in the search box enter: Charles Darwin University.

3. Tick the box next to Charles Darwin University.

4. Click on save.

Once you have applied these settings, a Fulltext@CDU link will appear to the right of some of your results, indicating that these articles are available via CDU Library. To access the article, right mouse click over the Fulltext@CDU link and choose the option to open in a new tab.

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649