08 8946 7016
+61 4 8885 0811 (text only)
The Special Collection contains many important published and unpublished material on Northern Australia. The Special Collection is a closed collection.
To access items from the Special Collection, visit your campus library service desk or complete the Special Collections Retrieval Form.
Twenty-four hours notice is required and retrieval is on normal working days.
The following theses are available in the Special Collection.
|
Austin, Tony (1989). Exceptionally Assimilable: The Commonwealth and Half-Caste Youth in the Northern Territory 1911-1939. PhD |
|
Parry, Suzanne (1992). Disease, Medicine and Settlement: The Role of Health and Medical Services in the Settlement of the Northern Territory, 1911-1939. PhD |
|
Wells, Julie (1995). The Long March: Assimilation Policy and Practice in Darwin, the Northern Territory, 1939-1967. PhD |
The following theses are available by searching in the Research Webportal.
| Brian, Bernie (2001). The Northern Territory’s One Big Union: The Rise and Fall of the North Australian Workers’ Union, 1911-1972. PhD |
| Clancy, Jane (1999). A Peg on the Tongue Silencing Women: An Oral History Case Study about Growing Up in Darwin during the 1950s. PhD |
| Dewar, Mickey (1993). In Search of the ‘Never-Never’: Looking for Australia in Northern Territory Writing 1837-1992. PhD |
| Elder, Peter (1998). Charles Lydiard Aubrey Abbott: Countryman or Colonial Governor? PhD |
| Hillock, Ian (1999). Plantation Agriculture in the Northern Territory (1878-1889). MEd |
| Hugo, David (1995). Mica Mining at Harts Range, Central Australia, 1880s-1960: A Study of Ethnicity and the Impact of Isolation. PhD |
| Jung, Silvano (2001). Wings beneath the sea: The aviation archaeology of Catalina flying boats in Darwin Harbour, Northern Territory. MA |
| Karlsen, Christine (1997). Cultural Exclusion and Interaction: An Historical Study of the Aboriginal, Anglo-Australian, Chinese and Greek Groups in Darwin, Northern Territory of Australia, 1880-1980. PhD |
| Reynolds, Robyn (1999). Catholic Sacrament Engaging with Wadeye Ritual. PhD |
| Wilson, Bill (2000). A Force Apart? A History of the Northern Territory Police Force 1870-1926. PhD |
| Bathgate, Jane (2004). Replenished: Sources of Meaning, Sources of History in the Pine Creek Area, Northern Territory, Australia. PhD |
| Bellamy, Craig (2020). The Beginnings of the Secret Australian Radar Countermeasures Unit during the Pacific War. PhD |
| Bender, Jack (2005). RAAF Station Darwin: A Strategic and Military Response in the Northwestern Area, 1837-1942. MA |
| Beresford-Maning, Wendy (2009). For the Love of God: A History of Some Missionaries of the Sacred Heart in the Top End of the Northern Territory. PhD |
| Browne, Lloyd (2016). “Then my memory will get justice”: The Finniss controversy revisited. PhD |
| Cramp, Norman (2021). The Social, Economic and Political Impact of the Great War on the Northern Territory. PhD |
| De La Rue, Colin (2007). For the Good of His Majesty’s Service: The Archaeology of Fort Dundas, 1824-1829. MA |
| De La Rue, Kathy (2014). Ruled by remote control: The Commonwealth's role in the history of Darwin, 1911-1978. PhD |
| Gibson, Eve (2004). Beyond the Boundary: A History of Land Use and Planning in Fannie Bay 1869-2000. PhD |
| Gordon, Christine (2004). The Catholic Church and the Status of Women: Port Keats, 1935-1958. PhD |
| Hillock, Ian (2005). Rethinking Colonial Endeavour in relation to Agricultural Settlement in the Northern Territory, 1863 to 1945. PhD |
| Jung, Silvano (2008). Australia’s Undersea Aerial Armada: The Aviation Archaeology of World War II Flying Boats Lying in Roebuck Bay, Broome, Western Australia. PhD |
| Ling, Ted (2009). Blame and Martyrs: The Commonwealth Government and the Northern Territory Pastoral Industry, 1911-1978. PhD |
| Mastin, Julie (2018). A man of many dreams: John George Knight, a life of fortune and misfortune in Victoria and the Northern Territory, 1851-1892. PhD |
| Phelts, Bev (2005). Water and the Economic Development of the Northern Territory 1824-2002. PhD |
| Smith, Robyn (2011). Arcadian populism: The Country Liberal Party and self-government in the Northern Territory. PhD |
| Stanton, Sue (2007). Coloureds and Catholics: A Colonial Subject’s Narrative of the Factors that Led to the Colonisation and Conversion of Coloureds at Garden Point Mission. PhD |
| Steinberg, David (2005). A ship for the taking: The wreck of the Brisbane as a case study in site salvage and material culture reuse. MA |
| Stephen, Matthew (2009), Contact Zone: Sport and Race in the Northern Territory, 1869-1953. PhD |
| Whitebeach, Terry (2006). Telling Someone Else’s Story: The Life History of Alexander Donald (Pwerle) Ross (1915-1999). PhD |
| Whitehead, Jan (2008). Settling Down: The Role of Housing in the Commonwealth’s Northern Territory. PhD |
The CDU Library homepage is your one stop shop for almost everything you need to succeed in your studies. Hosting Library Search, links to relevant databases, study guides, help and library services, as well as general information and frequently asked questions, this page is a must bookmark for your study needs.
A site containing a comprehensive range of study skills information to help you understand academic expectations and become a more confident student. Developing academic writing, critical thinking, and the ability to read and understand academic texts, is vital if you wish to succeed as a student and scholar.
The Language and Learning Services team is here to support your academic development at Charles Darwin University (CDU). A free and confidential service to help you build skills including understanding assignments and work standards; how to get the grades you want; and developing your academic writing abilities.
Need some information or help about your time at CDU? Check out the current student's homepage, which has heaps of info about access to student services, how to find support and the services available and how you can explore your community and get involved!
Reading Lists are a great way for your lecturers and unit coordinators to provide you with prescribed texts and recommended reading. Check out all of the Reading Lists you have access to here, and get a start on reading through your unit.
Distance Library Services are available to CDU students to help with accessing library services remotely. As a part of these services, you can request digitisation of chapters, or delivery of books to your home address. If you live near another university, reciprocal borrowing services are also available.
Have a look at some of these recorded workshops by the CDU Library's Language and Learning team. These workshops are not live but can be played, paused, and rewatched to help you learn some key skills at University. You can book to attend live workshops through the library website.
Using your CDU login, you can access past exam papers for your units to help prepare for upcoming exams. Exam papers can be searched for using the unit code. Not all lecturers choose to make exam papers available, please contact your lecturer if your exam papers are not listed.
