Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ANKAA Association of Northern, Kimberley and Arnhem Aboriginal Artists
(ANKAAA) is the peak advocacy and support agency for Aboriginal artists working individually and through 48 remote Art Centres spread across a vast area of approximately 1 million square kilometres.
Artlink is a quarterly themed magazine covering contemporary art and ideas from the Asia-Pacific. Our office is based in the Adelaide Central School of Art, Glenside Cultural and Health Precinct.
Arts yarn up magazine
the Australia Council for the Arts' Indigenous arts magazine.
P 709.94 ARTS
Australia Council for the Arts
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander arts are a rich contribution to the world’s culture, and to Australia’s diverse contemporary culture and national identity.
BlackWords is an initiative of AustLit: The Australian Literature Resource. In 2010 AustLit entered a partnership with the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) with a view to ensuring that BlackWords remains under the direction of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
Macquarie Pen Anthology of Australian Literature Project
The Macquarie PEN Anthology is a celebration of a rich, living literature. Some of the best, most significant writing produced in Australia over more than two centuries is gathered here in this landmark anthology. Detailed links to websites on aboriginal culture under weblinks.
Aboriginal Languages of Australia
This Virtual Library web catalogue has annotated links to 312 resources for 99 languages. About 44% of these resources are produced or published by Indigenous people.
Atlas of world's languages in danger
Offers additional information on the listed endangered languages
Australian Indigenous language database
The AUSTLANG system assembles information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages from various sources.
Ethnologue, languages of the world -
An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,909 known living languages.
Glossary of Linguistic Terms
This is a living glossary, and suggestions are welcome for additions or corrections.
Language Organisation Directory (FATSILC)
FATSILC has put together a list of the key organisations and community groups in Australia involved in the revitalisation and promotion of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Languages.
CALL Collecton - Batchelor
An archive of Australian First Nations language materials. The CALL Collection has some materials in an archive room, and others as digital copies only. From this website you can access the catalogue of the Collection, and see some digitised works.
Indigenous and Minority Placenames by
Publication Date: 2014
The book includes meticulous studies of placenames in central NSW and the Upper Hunter region; Gundungurra cave names; western Arnhem Land; Northern Cape York Peninsula and Mount Wheeler in Queensland; saltwater placenames around Mer in the Torres Strait; and the Kaurna in South Australia.
The Languages and Linguistics of Australia by
Publication Date: 2014-07-28
The Languages and Linguistics of Australia: A Comprehensive Guide is part of the multi-volume reference work on the languages and linguistics of the continents of the world. The volume provides a thorough overview of Australian languages, including their linguistic structures, their genetic relationships, and issues of language maintenance and revitalisation. Australian English, Aboriginal English and other contact varieties are also discussed.
Cart Strehlow's 1909 Comparative Heritage Dictionary by
Publication Date: 2018
Carl Strehlow’s comparative dictionary manuscript is a unique item of Australian cultural heritage; it is a large collection of circa 7,600 Aranda, 6,800 Loritja (Luritja) and 1,200 Dieri to German entries compiled at the beginning of the twentieth century at the Hermannsburg Mission in central Australia.
The Habitat of Australia's Aboriginal Languages by
Publication Date: 2007-01-17
The languages of Aboriginal Australians have attracted a considerable amount of interest among scholars from such diverse fields as linguistics, political studies, archaeology or social history. As a result, there is a large number of studies on a variety of issues to do with Aboriginal Australian languages and the social contexts in which they are used. There is, however, no integrative reader that is easily accessible to the non-specialist in any of the areas concerned. The collection edited by Leitner and Malcolm fills this gap. Looking at Aborigines and Torres Strait Islanders and their changing habitats from pre-colonial times to the present, the book covers languages from a structural and functional linguistic perspective, moves on to the issue of cultural maintenance and then turns to language policy, planning and the educational and legal dimensions. Among the many themes discussed are: the social and linguistic history of language contact after 1788 (including the Macassans); the demographic base of indigenous languages; traditional indigenous languages; results of language contact such as the modification of traditional languages and the rise of contact languages (pidgins, creoles, esp. Kriol, Torres Strait Creole, and Aboriginal English); the impact of the Aboriginal languages on mainstream Australian English; maintenance, shift, revival and documentation of indigenous and contact languages; language planning; language in education; language in the media; language in the law courts. The contributors are leading experts in their fields. The book can serve as a reader for university courses but also as a state-of-the-art work and resource for specialists like applied linguists or educational planners.
Living Archive of Aboriginal Languages (LAAL)
Living Archive of Aboriginal Languages
The Living Archive of Aboriginal Languages is a digital archive of endangered literature in Australian Indigenous languages from around the Northern Territory.
Selected Yolngu resources
Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.