Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature Review Guide: Library Resources

Guide

Electronic Resources

You will likely start your search for relevant research and sources for your Literature using the online library databases. Some databases have special features that help to make this easier, and will prove extra useful in your preparation.

Library Search

Look for the Advanced Search feature, to allow you to separate search concepts on individual lines. Once you have run your search, use the facets on the left hand side to narrow by Resource Type, Publication Date, Subject, Journal Title and Language.

Google Scholar

Provides access to CDU subscribed Library resources when accessed via the CDU Library website as well as those available online. Click on the Google Scholar link under the Library Search box to access CDU links. Google Scholar displays the number of citations and related articles, and links to citing articles.

Web of Science

A collection of citation databases that displays connections between sources, including journal articles and conference papers, that cite each other. Can be searched by title, keyword, author or cited reference. Logging in allows users to save searches and create citation alerts, save and manage online references using EndNote.

Check out the Social Sciences Citation Index within Web Of Science - This unique index lets you sort results by the number of times an article or book has been cited. This helps you to identify articles that are the most influential in your topic area and links you to other, more recent papers that cite them.

Science Direct

Includes access to the Elsevier Freedom Collection (full text 1995 to present) and the Academic Press backset (full text 1993 - 1995). Articles from over 1800 subscribed journal titles may be viewed, table of contents for non subscribed titles can also be accessed. 

EBSCOHost databases

Collection of 32 databases with a sophisticated search interface that includes predictive text and assists with entering search terms and providing suggested synonyms and related concepts.

Ebooks

Books

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649