Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environment Guide: Scholarly Resources

Resources for study and work in conservation, land management and environmental science.

eBooks

Browse eBook Central on the subject of Environmental Studies.

Choosing a search tool

Where to start? Even if you require scholarly material (articles and books) for your assignment, Google is a good place to start your research. Use it to get an overview of your topic and learn the relevant language.Then use that language to search using other tools. Each search tool is useful for different purposes.

  • Library Search searches across our collections: books, eBooks, and journal article databases
  • Google Scholar picks up additional information including scholarly literature that is not in our local collection but it excludes our books and eBooks
  • A--Z Databases allow you to target searches of all the journal articles available via the Library

  • Advanced Google or Google searches will include government sources relevant to your unit but you need to evaluate these sources to ensure they are credible
  • Subject Libguides provide links to particular databases and sources that have been evaluated by your Liaison Librarian as relevant to your topic of study.

What does 'scholarly' mean?

Different sources are useful for different purposes. Sources such as blogs and Wikipedia can give you background information and further links but may not be acceptable as a reference to support your assignment. The video below outlines what is meant by scholarly or peer reviewed. If you need to verify that a journal is peer reviewed you can use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.

Google Vs databases

How do I evaluate a source of information?

The CRAAP test can help you evaluate sources of information. CRAAP stands for:

Currency

Relevancy

Authoritative

Accuracy

Purpose

Watch the video below to learn more about using the CRAAP Test to evaluate sources of information.

Using Wikipedia

Wikipedia is a free online encyclopedia which often appears among the top results of any internet-based search. It can be a very useful tool to start your online research but your lecturers and teachers will not accept citations from Wikipedia in your assignments.

How to use Wikipedia

  • get an overview of your topic: use the information and links from a Wikipedia entry to expand your general knowledge and learn new terminology
  • expand your search terms: look at the bolded words, contents list and definitions to find synonyms and search terms for your library database research
  • find original sources: use the bibliography list at the end of an entry to find further resources or verifications you can cite.

Why shouldn't you cite Wikipedia?

  • reliabilty: Wikipedia's content is created by voluntary contributors with no formal review process, therefore there is no guarantee that the information is accurate.
  • authority: contributors are not required to provide credentials or other information demonstrating their expertise on a given subject area; this compromises the credibility of the entries.
  • bias: although Wikipedia works to maintain a neutral point of view, pages that have been recently edited or are controversial can be very biased.

Literature Review

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649