Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Allied Health Guide: Speech Pathology

Resources collated to support Allied Health subjects, including Nutrition, Occupational therapy and Speech Pathology

Books on Speech Pathology

Developmental Phonological Disorders

This reader-friendly guide presents good news for parents & teachers of children with developmental phonological disorders, the group of language disorders that affect a child's ability to develop speech that is easily understood by the time they are four years old.

Spoken Language Difficulties

Intended as a practical approach to helping children who have spoken language difficulties because of general language delay or specific language impairment, this book contains ideas and activity sheets as well as structured guidance.

Language and Motor Speech Disorders in Adults

Provides an overview of the major neurogenically caused speech and language disorders in adults. The authors, with a combined 80 years of clinical expertise, incorporate case studies associated with each of the neurogenic communication disorders.

Motor Speech Disorders

With expanded and updated information including current techniques, approaches, and case studies, the 2nd edition of this bestselling book continues its reputation as a dependable and outstanding evidence-based source on acquired motor speech disorders in adults.

The Handbook of Clinical Linguistics

"The Handbook of Clinical Linguistics" brings together an international team of contributors to create an original, in-depth survey of the field for students and practitioners of speech-language pathology, linguistics, psychology, and education.

Confluence linguistics, L2 acquisition and speech pathology

That linguistics, L2 acquisition and speech pathology impinge on each other in areas of vital importance to each discipline seems to be almost undeniable.

Dictionary of Communication Disorders

This dictionary provides clear and concise explanations of terms used in the field of speech, therapy pathology and relevant terms in related fields including augmentative, alternative communication, hearing, linguistic, medicine, phonetics/phonology and psychology/psychiatry.

Speech-Language Pathology Assistants

Written specifically with speech-language pathology assistants (SLPAs) in mind, Speech-Language Pathology Assistants: A Resource Manual, is a practical, easy-to-use manual that can be used by both SLPAs and SLPAs educators. The text defines the roles of SLPAs and their supervisors - offering additional insight into the scope of practice of an SLPA.

Mosby's dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions has been acclaimed by students and educators for its clarity, comprehensiveness and currency. Now in its second edition, a thorough revision of this definitive reference for the ANZ region enhances the classic Mosby dictionary features and sees in its over 2000 pages.

The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders

A major new reference work with entries covering the entire field of communication and speech disorders. It offers almost 200 detailed entries, covering the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults, from basic science to clinical diagnosis.

Welcome to the Speech Pathology Subject Guide

This guide will help you:

  • Begin your research and find the best scholarly information sources in Speech Pathology
  • Identify and locate key books, journals and other resources relevant to Speech Pathology that are available via CDU Library
  • Access specialist databases to find relevant research
  • Link to useful Australian and international health websites and open access resources

Key Databases in Speech Pathology

Speech Pathology Journals

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649