Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Allied Health Guide: Occupational Therapy

Resources collated to support Allied Health subjects, including Nutrition, Occupational therapy and Speech Pathology

Books on Occupational Therapy

Occupational Therapy in Australia

A foundational textbook for occupational therapy undergraduates providing a guide to practice issues in the Australian context.

Clinical Reasoning in Occupational Therapy

Clinical Reasoning in Occupational Therapy is a key text for occupational therapy students and practitioners. Written by an internationally renowned group of clinicians, educators and academics and with a central case study running throughout, the book covers the theory and practice of Working and Thinking in Different Contexts; Teaching as Reasoning; Ethical Reasoning; Diversity in Reasoning; Working and Thinking within 'Evidence Frameworks'; Experience as a Framework; The Client.

Occupational Therapy Handbook

Written specifically for occupational therapy students, newly qualified occupational therapists and educators and is a useful reference guide for academic tutors. The Occupational Therapy Handbook reflects modern day occupational therapy practice and education.

Introduction to Occupational Therapy

A complete overview of the profession and the practice of occupational therapy, Introduction to Occupational Therapy, 4th Edition prepares you for the roles, responsibilities, and relationships of the OT practitioner. This edition incorporates the latest revisions of the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, which defines the OT process and areas of concern.

Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy

Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy has been a leading resource for more than 15 years and has provided occupational therapy professionals and students with pertinent information right at their fingertips. Now revised and updated into a Sixth Edition, this pocket-size resource includes the latest information in the field of occupational therapy.

Occupational Therapy Activities

At last, a book about the little pieces of occupation which make up life' s real situations and experiences and form a basis for therapy. Therapists, students and educators will find this easy to read text a useful tool in guiding clinical approaches to therapy and understanding principles of active occupation that guide practice and shed light on how these ideas can be applied to the education of therapists.

Occupational Therapy and Older People

This book locates older people as major clients of occupational therapy services. It provides a comprehensive resource for students and a basic working reference for clinicians. The book encompasses current theories, debates and challenges which occupational therapists need to engage in if they are to provide pro-active and promotional approaches to ageing.

Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction

The definitive work on occupational therapy for physical dysfunction returns in its Sixth Edition, with reputable co-editors and clinical, academic, and consumer contributors. This text provides a current and well-rounded view of the field- from theoretical rationale to evaluation, treatment, and follow-up.

Willard and Spackman's Occupational Therapy

Celebrating 100 years of the Occupational Therapy profession, this Centennial Edition of Willard & Spackman's Occupational Therapy continues to live up to its well-earned reputation as the foundational book that welcomes students into their newly chosen profession.

Occupational Therapy for People Experiencing Illness, Injury or Impairment

Formerly entitled Occupational Therapy and Physical Dysfunction this seminal textbook builds on the strengths of all previous editions and continues to explore the work of occupational therapists with people who are experiencing illness, injury or impairment. It links theory with day-to-day practice, stimulating reflection on the knowledge, expertise and attitudes that inform practice, and encouraging the development of occupation-focused practice.

Using Occupational Therapy Models in Practice

Provides a succinct and practical guide for students and practitioners applying occupational therapy models in the field. It presents an overview of the common models in practice and bridges the gap between theoretical texts on conceptual models and the immediate demands of practice. This book describes occupational therapists' use of models within the realities of practice in a variety of contexts, whilst demonstrating that practice models can be used as tools to guide clinical reasoning.

The Essential Guide for Newly Qualified Occupational Therapists

This guide for newly qualified occupational therapists provides an authoritative overview of what to expect in your role and work settings, and is full of practical guidance on how to make a good start to a successful practice.

Welcome to the Occupational Therapy Subject Guide

This guide will help you:

  • Commence research and find the best scholarly information sources in Occupational Therapy
  • Identify and locate key books, journals and other resources relevant to Occupational Therapy that are available via CDU Library
  • Access specialist health and medical databases to find relevant research
  • Link to useful Australian and international health websites and open access resources

"Occupational therapy is a client-centred health profession concerned with promoting health and well being through occupation. The primary goal of occupational therapy is to enable people to participate in the activities of everyday life. Occupational therapists achieve this outcome by working with people and communities to enhance their ability to engage in the occupations they want to, need to, or are expected to do, or by modifying the occupation or the environment to better support their occupational engagement" (World Federation of Occupational Therapists, 2012).

Key Databases in Occupational Therapy

Occupational Therapy RSS Feeds

Loading ...
Loading ...

Occupational Therapy Journals

Open Education Resource Books

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649