Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Allied Health Guide: Nutrition & Dietetics

Resources collated to support Allied Health subjects, including Nutrition, Occupational therapy and Speech Pathology

Books on Nutrition & Dietetics

Krause's Food and the Nutrition Care Process

A trusted classic for over 50 years, Krause's Food and the Nutrition Care Process, 14th Edition presents the most cutting-edge and up-to-date dietetics content available in this ever-changing field. Nicknamed the "nutrition bible", students and practitioners alike turn to its current, comprehensive content, engaging pedagogy and design, and logical presentation of information.

Food and Nutrition Throughout Life

A comprehensive introduction to optimum nutrition across the lifespan and for specific populations including Indigenous groups, sports people and the disadvantaged.

Exercise Physiology: nutrition, energy and human performance

Setting the standard for more than 30 years, Exercise Physiology has helped more than 350,000 students build a solid foundation in the scientific principles underlying modern exercise physiology. This Eighth Edition is updated with the latest research in the field to give you easy-to-understand, up-to-date coverage of how nutrition, energy transfer, and exercise training affect human performance.

Understanding nutrition

A practical and engaging introduction to the core principles of nutrition. A thorough introductory guide, this text will equip students with the knowledge and skills required to optimise health and well-being. With its focus on Australasia, the text incorporates current nutrition recommendations and public health nutrition issues relevant to those studying and working in nutrition in this region of the world. The text begins with core nutrition topics, such as diet planning, macronutrients, vitamins and minerals, and follows with chapters on diet and health, fitness, life span nutrition and food safety.

Advanced Nutrition and Dietetics in Nutrition Support

Advanced Nutrition and Dietetics in Nutrition Support

Written in conjunction with the British Dietetic Association, this text provides a thorough and critical review of the fundamental and applied literature in nutrition support. Extensively evidence-based and internationally relevant, it discusses undernutrition, nutritional screening, assessment and interventions, as well as key clinical conditions likely to require nutrition support, and the approaches to managing this in each of these conditions

Dietetics for Nurses

Dietetics for Nurses

An open access book providing information to nurses in the study of dietetics, introducing some of the fundamental principles governing the health and well-being of a people, food and its relation to the body, aiming to raise the standard of health through knowledge of dietetics.

Sports Nutrition

Based on rigorous research, this readable work offers sound advice for all those concerned with the proper nourishment of the active body. Nutritionists, trainers, exercise physiologists, and athletes themselves will find much food for thought on nutrition science, as well as practical guidance in determining the ingredients required to maximize training.

Sports and Exercise Nutrition

Helps readers make the bridge between nutrition and exercise concepts and their practical applications. The book provides a strong foundation in the science of exercise nutrition and bioenergetics and offers valuable insights into how the principles work in the real world of physical activity and sports medicine. Case Studies and Personal Health and Exercise Nutrition activities engage readers in practical nutritional assessment problems.

Evolving Human Nutrition: Implications for Public Health

This book considers aspects of changing human nutrition from evolutionary and social perspectives. It considers what a 'natural' human diet might be, how it has been shaped across evolutionary time and how we have adapted to changing food availability. The transition from hunter-gatherer and the rise of agriculture through to the industrialisation and globalisation of diet are explored.

Dietetic and Nutrition: Case Studies

Dietetic and Nutrition : Case Studies

The ideal companion resource to 'Manual of Dietetic Practice', this book takes a problem-based learning approach to dietetics and nutrition with cases written and peer reviewed by registered dietitians, drawing on their own experiences and specialist knowledge.

Manual of dietetic practice

Manual of dietetic practice

The standard work for all those involved in the field of clinical nutrition and dietetics, to equip health care professionals with the essential foundations on which to build expertise and specialist skill, including multidisciplinary, patient-centred, evidence-based practice, adult nutrition, freelance dietetics, complementary and alternative therapies.

Nutrition in Public Health: Principles, Policies, and Practice

Focusing on the role of the federal government in determining nutrition policy and influencing practice, this book examines the application of nutritional policy to dietary guidance, health promotion, and the practice of public health nutrition.

Introduction to dietetic practice

Introduction to dietetic practice

Focuses on the core principles of dietetic practice and introduces readers to advancements and opportunities in the field. Provides an overview of the profession as it exists today, a summary of the history of dietetics in North America, a review of nutrition credential and educational pathways, career opportunities in the field, and future needs for credentialed nutrition and dietetics professionals.

Clinical pediatric dietetics

Clinical pediatric dietetics

A comprehensive guide to the nutritional management of a wide range of paediatric disorders, providing key information on how conditions may benefit from nutritional support or dietary intervention. Covering assessment, requirements and normal healthy eating as well as the dietetic management and nutrition support of inherited metabolic disorders and diseases of all major organ systems, it is an indispensable guide for all those involved in the nutritional treatment of children.

Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics

Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics

Providing accessible information about nutrition assessment, food labelling, functional foods and food supplements, non-nutrient components of food, drug-nutrient interactions and prescription of nutritional products, nutrition in systems-based diseases, nutrition in special groups, such as the very young and older people, and popular diets to dietitians, doctors, nurses, nutritionists and other healthcare professionals by providing a practical, easily accessible, concise and up to date evidence-based guide in a user-friendly portable handbook.

Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics

Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics

A must-have practical resource for dietitians, nutritionists and students working with both well settled but also recently migrated ethnic groups. Provides in-depth information to equip the reader in the provision of nutrition advice to minority groups. Spanning a broad range of cultural groups the book seeks to consider religious and cultural requirements in relation to traditional diets; research on migration studies and chronic disease states; and nutrition and dietetic treatment in relation to key chronic diseases.

Sports Nutrition

Sports Nutrition

Written and edited by the world's leading authorities on nutrition in sports, Sports Nutrition provides comprehensive coverage of nutrition for both individual and team sports, from the scientific underpinnings of nutritional science to the development of practical nutritional programs for athletes in a range of sports.

A conversation about healthy eating

A conversation about healthy eating

This book brings together all the relevant science about healthy eating in one place, discussing eating habits, metabolism and digestion, gut bacteria, hormones, neuroscience and the immune system. All of these concepts are explained in accessible terms to help you understand the roles they play in maintaining a healthy diet and lifestyle.

Welcome to the Nutrition & Dietetics Subject Guide

This guide will help you:

  • Research and study using scholarly information sources in nutrition & dietetics
  • Find and use key books, journals and other resources relevant to nutrition & dietetics that are available via CDU Library
  • Navigate to specialist databases to find relevant research
  • Locate to useful Australian and international health websites and open access resources 

Key Databases in Nutrition & Dietetics

Open Education Resource Books

Charles Darwin University acknowledges the traditional custodians across the lands on which we live and work, and we pay our respects to Elders both past and present.
CRICOS Provider No: 00300K (NT/VIC) 03286A (NSW) RTO Provider No: 0373 Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • ABN 54 093 513 649