Theses can be a valuable source of information, especially for topics where there are fewer published works available. The works cited in a thesis can also be useful to find further published sources on a topic.
If you are currently writing a thesis (Honours, Masters or PhD) you may want to:
Check if anyone has recently completed a PhD thesis in your area of research
Identify gaps in your area of research
Look at PhD theses from your faculty (or supervised by your supervisor) to get an idea of how to format your thesis
The CDU Theses Collection consists of scholarly works deemed to satisfy the award requirements of a CDU degree by research. The Library holds an electronic copy of:
To find particular CDU Theses, check Library Search by 'topic/subject area" and "Charles Darwin University" and thesis
For example, climate change "Charles Darwin University" thesis
Higher Degree by Research and Non-HDR theses are now available via the CDU Research Webportal.
To find Australian theses, enter your search term and click on search. Limit the search results by clicking on the 'Thesis' and 'Australia' facets under refine your results.
Lists research theses from Australian universities since 1990.
There are a number of databases and websites that allow you access to citations or full text of theses:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT)
This database is a comprehensive collection of international research postgraduate theses with full text from 1743. Check out the PQDT LibGuide for hints and tips on searching the database for particular theses.
Center for Research Libraries
This site allows you to search for 800,000 doctoral dissertations from universities outside of the United States and Canada.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
This portal allows access to open access research theses from 581 universities sourced from 29 European countries.
EThOS (Electronic Theses Online System)
This database lists 600,000+ records for theses from participating UK Higher Education Institutions.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
A digital library of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from selected universities.
OAIster
Includes more than 50 million records representing a wide variety of open access digital resources worldwide, including theses.
If you are unable to access a thesis you require through CDU or online, the Library may be able to borrow or purchase it from another institution.
Find more information on the requesting process here.
08 8946 7016
+61 4 8885 0811 (text only)
