This is the "Home" page of the "Welcome New Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Welcome New Students  

A brief CDU Library orientation for new students
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2012 URL: http://libguides.cdu.edu.au/studentwelcome Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Listen

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

External Students

If you live more than 80kms from the Library you are eligible for Distance Library Service. We can send books and other materials to you.

 

Reading lists

 Locate your reading list items on E-Reserve by lecturer or unitcode or search the CDU Catalogue to find your prescribed (set) texts.


Purchasing textbooks

As textbooks and required readings are in high demand and likely to be recalled to lend to other students the Library recommends you purchase your own copies.

Textbooks and required readings can be purchased from the CDU Bookshop. You can also check whether any of your texts are available second-hand through the CDU Bookshop's buy-back scheme. Your lecturer or information on Learnline can offer you further advice on this matter.

 

Printing

Printing is available at all campus libraries for a fee. See the Uniprint Express page for more information.

If you are connected to the CDU wireless network you can add Library printers to your personal laptop. Select the correct link below for instructions. Please note this service is not currently available to Macintosh laptops.

You must be a CDU Student with a student card to be able to print in the Library.

Ask at the service desk if you require assistance.

 

Library tutorials

Many of your Lecturers will organise a Library class with the Librarians, these are often based around an assignment such as an essay or report. Some of these classes will be held online using Blackboard Wimba Live Classroom for students who are studying externally.

The Library has also created a number of online Library tutorials to guide you. Many of the databases also have instruction sheets or video tutorials to assist you.

 

Referencing

How do I Reference properly?

Identify your School style. Different disciplines prefer different Referencing styles.
CDU Harvard and APA are two of the main styles 
Check your Unit Information or with your lecturer as to which style you should use.
CDU Library referencing guides


 

Liaison Librarian

The Liaison Librarians can help you           

  •  Formulate your search strategies for finding information
  • Search for information via CDU Catalogue and Summon
  • Search Online information resources and the Internet
  • With your referencing queries
 

CDU Library website

cdu library

There are three main components that make up a Library.

Resources
Services
People

You can find out how to access  them via the Library website

http://www.cdu.edu.au/library/

 

Student Card and Email Address

Student Card + email address

You will need your student card to borrow, print or photocopy.Reminder and overdue notices will be sent to your CDU email address.

Borrowing books from the Library

As a CDU student you are able to borrow books from the Library for free. However if you return books late you can be fined.

How to manage your borrowing.

Your CDU Library account

Please login with your CDU Library card barcode number e.g. Staff 012345, Student User ID s123456 Your password is the last 4 digits of your primary phone number.

Review your account
to view the items you have borrowed.

Renew your books online

 

Places to Study

Places to study

Library locations and hours

All libraries provide individual and group study areas.Computers are available for student use.

The Library is wireless enabled so you can bring your own laptop. Staff are available to provide assistance. You may need to book longer queries.

Seminar rooms can be booked for group study at the Service desk or ring 8946 7016.

 

Finding journal articles

Summon Beta  searches across a number of Library Databases (but not all) and the Library Catalogue. It is a good place to start looking for journal articles on your topic.Remember to brainstorm alternative words for the key concepts of your topic.

Your results list will be made up of records similar to this one

 

In Summon Beta you can restrict your results to scholarly publications , choose subject terms, or narrow the date range.

 Full text availability.

Summon searches across a number of different databases from different companies.Not all of them allow direct access to full text.Sometimes you will need to navigate your own way to the article. See this example linking to full text.
Occasionally the full text article will not be available. 

 

Getting assistance

You can always Ask Us for help in learning how to find resources for your assignments.

 

Orientation Competitions

CD-UCreate Competition

Feeling Creative and inspired about starting Uni or being back at Uni again?

Tell us "Why I need my Library" in verse, drawings, cartoons, animation or video and you could win some great prizes. Click on the CD-UCreate tab/text above to get details.

CDULibTrivia via Twitter

Love Trivia Questions?

Get on board the Library's Trivia competition via Twitter and win some great prizes. There will be one question Tweeted every day starting March 5 and one winner declared every day so you get instant rewards for participating! Click on the CDULibTrivia tab/text above to get details.


To be eligible for prizes you must be a CDU Enrolled student or staff member

 

Library announcements

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding

Contact us

Ask Us

We will respond as promptly as possible to all questions.

Telephone

The contact page lists the telephone numbers for campuses and services

 

Finding Subject Resources

Libguides identify the recommended sources such as key journals and databases for your area.They are
created by your Liaison Librarian to help you find what you need when you need it. Browse through the list to find the Libguide most suitable for your subject area.
 

CDU Library latest tweets

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip