Skip to main content

Open Access Subject Guide: Open Access Resources

Directories and Collections

Australasian Open Access Strategy Group (AOASG)

Contains information about open access in Australia. Includes many resources and FAQ page.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals, thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.

OAK Law Project

A web-enabled database containing information about poublishing agreements and publishers' open access policies known as the OAKList. It is interoperable with the RoMEO/SHERPA database.

OpenDOAR

An authoritative worldwide directory of academic open access repositories

OATD: Open Access Theses and Dissertations

An index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations freely available online.

Knowledge Unlatched Pilot Collection

A collection of Open Access book titles.

SHERPA/RoMEO

A database of publishers' policies on copyright and self-archiving.

Developments in Open Access monograph publishing 

List by the Australian Open Access Strategy Group of developments in OA monograph publishing, e.g. publishers and sources

 

Paywall: The Business of Scholarship

Image result for paywall the movie

This film dives into the need for open access to research and science, questions the rationale behind the $25.2 billion a year that flows into for-profit academic publishers, examines the 35-40% profit margin associated with the top academic publisher Elsevier and looks at how that profit margin is often greater than some of the most profitable tech companies like Apple, Facebook and Google.

Staying true to the open access model, the film is free to stream and download, for private or public use, and maintains the most open CC BY 4.0 Creative Commons designation to ensure anyone regardless of their social, financial, or political background will have access.  

Predatory Publishers

The gold (author pays) open-access model has given rise to a great many new online publishers. Many of these publishers, known as predatory publishers, are corrupt and exist only to make money off the author processing charges that are billed to authors upon acceptance of their scientific manuscripts. Beall's List of Predatory Journals is no longer available. However, archived versions are accessible from here:

Beall's List of Predatory Journals and Publishers

Stop Predatory Journals

Readings

"Open access papers are 2-3 times more likely to be read than non-OA papers" - read more here:

Nature communications: citation analysis

"The more your paper is read, the more likely it is to be cited" - read more here:

SPARC Europe, "The Open Access citation advantage"

ABN 54 093 513 649 • Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • CRICOS Provider No: 00300K • RTO Provider No: 0373