Skip to main content

CDU Library Referencing Guide: AGLC

Find your referencing style and learn how to reference correctly

Australian Guide to Legal Citation

CDU law students are expected to purchase and use the Australian Guide to Legal Citation (AGLC) when preparing assignments and research papers.

Below there is access to the electronic version of the third edition of AGLC.

A sample referenced essay is available from the link below. It will assist your understanding of what your in-text citations and your bibliography should look like. Note that in the sample not all the footnotes are in the bibliography as they should be in your essay.

Not sure if you have plagiarised? Check your work with the Plagiarism Checklist: https://www.cdu.edu.au/sites/default/files/academic-integrity/docs/checklist-plagiarism-2017.pdf 

 

Excerpt from - In the matter of OG, A Lawyer [2007] VSC 520

A Victorian case from 2007 in which the Lawyer was struck off the Legal Practitioners roll for collusion and academic dishonesty whilst studying for his degree.

Judgment of Warren CJ, Nettle JA and Mandie J

“All things considered, we have concluded that we should revoke the order admitting OG to practice. As we have found, he deliberately or recklessly misrepresented to the Board of Examiners the circumstances in which he came to be awarded a zero grade or mark for his second assignment. His actions, therefore, were the antithesis of a ‘realization ... of his obligation of candour to the court in which he desire[s] to serve as an agent of justice’.[14] We say nothing of what has happened since, including his evidence in this court and his attempt to shift the entire blame onto GL by alleging that GL had copied by utilising his access to OG’s computer and also changed OG’s own assignment on that computer. It cannot be doubted that the Board of Examiners would not have granted OG a certificate if it had been aware of the misrepresentation. He should not be permitted to benefit from the fact that he managed to mislead them”.

“There will be orders accordingly that the order admitting OG to practise be revoked and that he be struck off the roll”

http://www.austlii.edu.au/cgi-bin/sinodisp/au/cases/vic/VSC/2007/520.html?stem=0&synonyms=0&query=^OG

Loading

Quick AGLC Examples

FORMAT: Case Name (Year) Volume Law Report Series Starting Page

Note: The case name is in italics, the year is in brackets. Not all cases will fit into this format, for example some unreported judgments. If your case doesn't fit see the AGLC Rule 2 for examples.

Tip 1: Sometimes a case has multiple citations, these are called parallel citations. This is because the case may be reported in different places. Where available use the authorised report series, see the Introduction to Case Law video for a demonstration of finding an authorised report. See page 52 (Rule 2.7) for an example of parallel citations.

Tip 2: If you use the case name in the text of your assignment then do not use the case name in the footnote, only the citation is needed. See page 46 (Rule 2.1.15) of the AGLC as an example.

Tip 3: Some cases with have square brackets and some may have round rackets surrounding the year e.g. [2003] or (2009). The square brackets are used when the year is needed to find the case. When you are referencing use the same brackets that are used in the case citation.

Tip 4: You cite case law in your footnote as you would in your bibliography. In your bibliography do not include any pinpoint references.

FORMAT: Title Year (Jurisdicion)

Note: The title of the legislation and the year are italics, The jurisdiction is abbreviated and in brackets. See page 65 of the AGLC for a list of abbreviated jurisdictions.

Tip 1: You cite legislation in your footnote as you would in your bibliography. In your bibliography do not include any pinpoint references.

Tip 2: See page 66 of the AGLC for more information on adding a pinpoint to your legislative material.

Tip 3: Bills can be cited in the same way as legislation except the tile and year should not be italicised.

FORMAT: Author(s) Book Title (Publisher Edition Year)

Note: The title of the book is in italics, the publication details are in brackets.

Tip 1: When you have more than three authors use can use "et al" in your footnotes and in your reference list.

Tip 2: In your footnotes when you are citing a book as it is the same as the preceding reference Ibid should be used. For example:

Tip 3: When you have a book that you have cited earlier in your essay and you want to cite it again, cite the last name of the author, above n (enter the number of the footnote that your book is in). For example:

Tip 4: In your bibliography you would cite you book as you would in your footnote. The only difference is that you would place the last name of the first author at the start of the reference. For example your bibliography entry would look like this: 

FORMAT: Autor(s) 'Title' (Year) Volume and Issue Journal Page

Note: The title is in single quotation marks, the year is in brackets and the journal is in italics.

Tip 1: With journals you can use ibid and above n if you repeat your journal citation. See the examples on Citing a Book.

Tip 2: If you have more than three authors on a journal article you can use et al after the first author both in the footnote and in the reference list. For example, Jordon Sampson et al.

Tip 3: If the journal is consecutively paginated the issues should not be included.

Tip 4: In your bibliography you would cite a journal as you would in your footnote. The only difference is would be that you would place the last name of the first author at the start of the reference. For example your bibliography entry would look like this for the example above:

Kelk, Norm , Sharon Medlow and Ian Hickie, ‘Distress and Depression among Australian Law Students: Incidence, Attitudes and the Role of Universities’ (2010) 31 Sydney Law Review 113

FORMAT: Author Title Full Date Website Name URL

Note: The title is in italics, the full date is in brackets, the URL is in triangle brackets.

Tip 1: Only cite your resource as internet material if there is no other rule within the AGLC that applies. For example, for online journals follow Rule 4.9, for online newspapers follow Rule 6.5.3 and for blogs follow Rule 6.15.7.

Tip 2: Only include information where it is included on the website, for example, some websites may not have an author (follow Rule 1.14), o a full date or a website name. See page 117 of the AGLC for examples on citation.

Loading

Try it yourself- cite a book

 

Click the buttons in the correct order, to create a footnote reference for:

 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AGLC and EndNote

EndNote can be used to assist with bibliographic information. Generally it is used at CDU in post-graduate courses and is free to download for CDU students.

EndNote will take time to learn. The Library runs EndNote classes throughout the year see the Workshops page for more details.

NOTE: EndNote does not come with AGLC style and will need to be installed separately, see the EndNote Guide below for more information. EndNote will also not format case law and legislation, these will need to be done manually.

ABN 54 093 513 649 • Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • CRICOS Provider No: 00300K • RTO Provider No: 0373