Skip to main content

Resources for Academics Guide: Finding Permalinks in Databases

This guide has been created to assist academics to access electronic material and add these links to Learnline units

What is a "permalink"?

A "permalink" is a stable, permanent (or persistent) link to an online journal article or subscription resource, that can be accessed from any computer at any time. Permalinks are also refererred to as PIDs.

It is often different to the URL that appears at the top of your browser - the link displayed there maybe session dependent, and will only work for a particular person in a particular time period.

To make sure the link you use will work for other people, you will need to locate the permanent link to the article. In some databases, the permanent link is easy to find. In others it's a bit harder. Instructions are provided on this page for some of the most commonly used databases. We encourage you to contact your liaison librarian if you need help using a different database.

A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is a unique alphanumeric string that is used to identify a certain source (typically journal articles). It is often found on the first page of an article and is another type of persistent link.

Example: doi:10.1080/14622200410001676305

Permalinks from Library Search

Records in Library Search have many 'Send to' options and you can also link to the fulltext content by clicking on the 'View it' link. Even though the link displayed shows as a permalink without the EZprozy address at the start students accessing these readings externally will not be taken to the actual article.

 

Articles from EBSCOhost databases

EBSCOhost databases include Academic Search Premier, Australia/NZ Reference Centre, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Education Research Complete, ERIC, MEDLINE, PsycARTICLES, SocINDEX, and many more.

To locate the "permalink" for a journal article in an EBSCOhost database, first find the article you wish to use and click on its title to view the detailed record. On the right hand side of the record, you will see a list of tools. Click on the Permalink option.

 

When you click on the Permalink option, a new box will appear at the top of the record containing the permanent link for your selected article.

 

This link already has http://ezproxy.cdu.edu.au/login?url= at the beginning of the URL, therefore it doesn't need to be run through the EZproxy link generator. Copy it directly into your Learnline unit.

Articles from Science Direct

  1. Under the article title, locate the URL link that looks similar to this link http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/S0016-3287(01)00031-3

  1. Right click on the URL and copy link
  2. Run the link through the CDU EZproxy generator.

e.g. the link will then look like this: http://ezproxy.cdu.edu.au/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.midw.2011.08.017

Articles from Gale Databases

Gale databases include Academic OneFile, Expanded Academic ASAP, General Business File ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, LegalTrac, and more.

To locate the "permalink" for a journal article in a GALE database, first find the article you wish to use and click on its title to view the detailed record. On the right hand side of the record, you will see a list of tools. Click on the Bookmark this Document option.

When you click on the Bookmark this Document option, a pop-up box will appear containing the permanent link for your selected article.

This link doesn't have http://ezproxy.cdu.edu.au/login?url= at the beginning of the URL, therefore it needs to be run through the EZproxy link generator. See the instructions here.

DOI

ABN 54 093 513 649 • Privacy StatementCopyright and DisclaimerLibrary Webmaster • CRICOS Provider No: 00300K • RTO Provider No: 0373